Ratings based on 1,377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sisters getaway

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: location was great
Cons: bathroom was on the small side
Location: great restaurants and shopping
Had a wonderful stay at hotel. The shuttle to the Mall of America was easy and convenient. The room was clean and comfortable, however the bathroom area was somewhat small. The breakfast was excellent. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom South Dakota

Rooms need help

Posted Nov 10, 2014
The lobby of this hotel is nice and so is the pool area. The free cookies at check-in were a nice touch and the free breakfast is fantastic. But once you go up to the rooms it all changes. The hallways were filthy and smelled bad. The rooms need updating badly. You can tell they tried a little - maybe threw on a new coat of paint but that's all. The description of the location makes it sound like it's closer to Mall of America than it is. If the actual rooms were nicer I'd consider staying there again, but it's a little pricey for smelly halls and old rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Northville, New York

Centrally located.

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: It's location
Cons: the sound proofing between rooms
Location: The Mall of America is 10 minutes away
within 10 to 15 minutes of the airport and the Mall of America. Very nice location. The only complaint is you need to be extremely quiet even on Friday and Saturday nights. Got a phone call for being to loud when just visiting amongst ourselves at 10:00 pm...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not all amenities were available.....

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Bedding and Breakfast
Cons: Upkeep of the pool area
Location: Isolated. Not a lot of reasonable food choices nearby if their restaurant is closed.
There was a wedding and the kitchen and bar was closed. These amenities were a large portion of why we were staying there. Also, the pool area was unkempt and there were dirty towels all over, but no clean towels to use. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Call before to make sure there won't be a wedding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eagle Grove, IA

Great hotel.

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Nice hotel with friendly staff. Not far from Mall Of America. Would visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom loo

Disappointed

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Really shows signs of wear and tear. Need an a phrase to its appearance?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We currently are working on putting together a major renovation project that we hope to begin sometime next year. The project will include a re-design of some of the smaller bathrooms, new carpet in the rooms, new furniture, new beds, pretty much everything will be getting a new make-over. A project of this magnitude will take time to execute but we are all excited for the changes. Hopefully this will address the issues that you mentioned. Heather Klug Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: was very nice.
Cons: Housekeeping could improve.
Location: Close to Mall of America
Very nice Hotel, Staff was very pleasant. However the housekeeping dept. was awful, didn't make the bed,didn't empty the trash, took the dirty towels and didn't leave clean ones.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Hotel left something to be desired

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: It had a hot continental breakfast.
Cons: Fixtures in rooms including window coverings and couches need to be updated.
Location: Mall of America and Twin Cities Premium Outlet Mall
When we arrived at the hotel we requested to see if we could upgrade to a suite because we had an infant with us and wanted a separate area where she could sleep and would not be disturbed. The hotel did not have any 2 room suites available, but said they could put us in an efficiency suite with a king size bed and pull out couch and a small area that we could put a playpen that was kinda separate. It actually was the hallway to the bathroom under where the clothes are hung up. The pull out couch had a mattress that was so thin and wore out it was like sleeping right on the metal. One of the curtains that was to keep the light out at night had come unhooked from the track and could not be closed and so we had light shining in all night. There was no blanket for the pull out couch and the one they brought up from the front desk was pretty well worn. I would not stay at this hotel again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Hi Mel, We appreciate the feedback so that it can help us make improvements for our guests. We apologize if the suite did not meet your needs. In regards to the curtains we unfortunately were not aware of the situation but it will be addressed immediately. I will also make sure that housekeeping goes through all the extra blankets to make sure they are in excellent condition. I’ll also let upper management know about the mattress so that they can keep that in mind when ordering new items for our upcoming renovations. Again we thank you for your feedback and hope that you have a great rest of the day! Heather Assistant General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Canada

Don't get carried away by pictures

Posted Oct 15, 2014
I stayed here for 3 nights with my daughters and nephew. This is the worst hotel we have seen. They have a cheap country theme with green doors that makes it feel like a prison cell. I have never seen an hotel where the bathrroom sink is just right by the room entrance . The bathroom cannot fit in 2 people at a time so even my kids had to go in one at a time. Not enough room for two people to stand at the sane time. The bathroom door was a little shaky like it could fall off the next minute. We had been assigned rooms before we got in and we had a lovely view of the hotels enormous furnace. One would think they would know to give us a better view especially with children. Asked for a room change and was told to come back at 3pm. Got back and was told no more rooms. Breakfast was a little dodgy. It's not a buffet like other restaurants. You have to go in some tiny spot to get anything hot by the chef. So technically you get the chef's portion. The layout was funny, and there was no staff on ground for direction . You just have to wander round for a bit and if you dont get lost, you find the chef. If you like contemporary or modern decor stay away from this hotel. Also didn't like the sheets at all. The looked rumpled like someone just got off the bed and they straightened it out . Even on the first night sheets didnt look crisp and fresh. The room also had an odour. I usually dont write reviews but i thought i wont let this slip by. I saved about 100bucks and got this cr**
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Heather, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write into TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay with us here at the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, West Bloomington MN. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations. Our goal is to make our property the hotel of choice for our guests while away from home. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. I am very sorry that the bathroom set up did not work very well with you and your family. We take immense pride in offering clean accommodations in a warm and friendly atmosphere, as all of the positive reviews on this site and others attest to. We go to great lengths to make our guest’s stay enjoyable. We changed our breakfast to a made to order breakfast so that the food stays hotter and we can do more options like: French toast, omelets, made to order eggs. Our guests are welcome to go up to the chef as many times as they like as well. We also work hard at providing a delicious breakfast, and have received nothing but accolades regarding the breakfast since we started doing it this way. Heather Klug Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom d va

It is ok, but AC is noisy,.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Nothing is very good. Facilities are so so and services are normal.