Ratings based on 822 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Extra mile

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Lots of great little neighborhood restaurants over on 2nd and 1st avenues-- Grand central provides easy access
Excellent courteous staff -- had a parking ticket issue while loading in front of hotel -- hotel manager took care of it -- really went the extra mile. Per fect location, great bar and restaurant downstairs. Will continue to stay there on my trips to NY.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastically comfy bed!

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Bed, location, spacious room, in house restaurant and bar for when you are weary.
Cons: Not much.
Location: Walking distance to most things but I do like to walk. Close to Grand Central, Times Square, Central Park, Empire State, Bryant Park.
This hotel is ideally situated. Our one bed suite was spacious and comfortable. Great wifi ( at a cost). Small kitchenette was useful. It was really useful having the bar and restaurant downstairs too. I would book this hotel again just for the great bed 7 foot, and the awesome pillows. I slept like a log but maybe that was all the walking I did!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location smart hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Comfy clean rooms, amazing location close to everything and the subway, grand hotel, nice decor, all great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great Hotel close to the action

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: The rooms were a generous size and the concierge staff were excellent
Location: The Grand central markets are a few blocks away and provide a great array of fresh foods breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We spent 4 nights in the lower east side and then stayed 4 nights at The Benjamin. A great Hotel. We had a corner suite which was huge and well maintained. Everything is only a walk away or a short ( and cheap) taxi ride from here in Mid and Downtown. The bar downstairs, the National, was a great place to have a drink in the early evening and watch real New Yorkers going about their business. A short walk took us to Madison Ave and 5th Ave for the great shopping and then onto Central Park for a Bike ride. We would definitly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Great Location in Mid Town

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: This was our first trip to New York and the hotel location was great and close to everything that we wanted to see.
We had a problem with the first room we were assigned when we checked in but the Desk Manager on duty gave us a new room on a higher floor and several meal vouchers as a token of appreciation. We appreciated the prompt response to our concern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Room was old and average Condition for the price.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Quality of bed was dreadful, air conditioning was so loud it was as if there was truck in the room. Overall experience was awful and I won't recommend. People staying were very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from We live in Orlando

Weekend stay while in town for a wedding

Posted Oct 6, 2014
I liked everything about the hotel except they have two small elevators that service 20 some floors. The room was clean. Because of the wedding festivities we had to attend elsewhere, we did not visit the restaurants or bar. Charming place with a good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice & good area

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Its a nice hotel in a nice area, room is good size for new york, however lift is too small and slow. Our room was next to the renovated room so the paint smell was still quiet strong. The doorman is very helpful, & overall stay was good..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
It was a lovely hotel in a quiet area. The rooms were clean and the staff extremely helpful and courteous. We were in easy reach of all New York's attractions and booking Broadway tickets through the concierge was quick and efficient... We had a great time.