Ratings based on 1,052 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON, Canada

Beautiful old hotel in the heart of Midtown East

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: It's location and the room size. We really enjoyed the room and it was quite comfortable. The front door men were great.
Cons: Improve the friendliness of the front desk staff mainly. I just wished my checkout had been a little warmer!
Location: You can walk to Rockafeller Center or shopping on 5th Ave. It's a short subway ride to the Upper East or West sides to the museums and Central Park.
We loved this hotel! It is a beautiful old hotel right in Midtown East. It is very close to multiple subway stops so it was very convenient to travel. Our room was larger than expected (as New York can be known to have small rooms). It was about 350 sq. feet. When picking a hotel look at the square footage (anything under 250 sq feet will feel quite small--the average hotel room in the US is 350 sq feet). We had the King Deluxe room and it came with a kitchenette. We had a nice view of the street but be aware that you can see into the hotel across the way! Our bed and pillows were extremely comfortable (but the bed didn't come with a top sheet which I'm unsure if this is a new thing?). The National is the restaurant in the hotel. We didn't eat here but it can be quite pricey. There are 3 elevators (2 regular and 1 service). I noticed from previous reviews there were wait issues as one was out of service, but during our stay there was none. We didn't have to wait more than 1-2 minutes for an elevator. The front desk staff was overall pretty friendly but when we checked out the girl at the front was a little cold towards me when I mentioned I didn't have my bags with me yet and would need to store them (my boyfriend was bringing them down). It was weird. The front door men were great and very efficient when getting us a cab and helping with luggage. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Good hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Good hotel. Very well located. Lots of food around. Easy access to the metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom japan

Only elevator was too old.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: 窓からの眺望はほとんどなかったが比較的静かで、室内も清潔で、使わなかったがキチンもあった。
Cons: エレベーターの表示が壊れているのか、ボタンを押してもいつ来るのかわからない。
Location: 自由の女神、ヤンキースタジアム、メトロポリタンミュージアムなど、同じ地下鉄の通りなので、どこに行くにも便利。
地下鉄の駅やCafe、レストランに近く、便利だった。 少し狭い気がしたが実際はそうではなく、品と格式のあるホテルだった。一つだけエレベーターが故障していることだけが残念だった。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Good. The only issue is the elevator. Only one functions
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom d

So incredibly loud!!

Posted Apr 12, 2015
We were on the 17th floor and even that high up, the hotel was so incredibly loud we could not sleep. It has nothing to do with the location (we live in the neighborhood and were staying here while work was being done on our place), but the hotel windows must be so cheap that siren noise is impossible to block out. There's also a massive construction site next door that is very loud as well. Also, the elevators in the hotel are under construction so it takes forever to get anywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Convenient boutique hotel in great location

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The location, the valet parking, and the staff.
Cons: Room comfort. Fix the wallpaper and replace the bathtub.
Location: Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Museum of Modern Art, American Girl store, Dylan's Candy Bar, etc.
The room is fine (not great). We went to NYC during beginning Spring so there should be no need for air con or heat but the room was so hot that it needed air conditioning which was uncomfortably cold at night. There was a 6 inch long wall paper peeling off in the corner on top of a side of the wall. Also we were on the 7th floor and smelling food being cooked all day long! We expected to enter the room smelling clean linens but rather we were hit with the constant garlic cooking I guess from the restaurant downstairs. There must be some ventilation from the kitchen up towards the rooms. Now the positive side was that that most of the staff at the front desk were friendly and efficient with luggage handling, but not the man who brought us the pillows we requested was not. He argued what we ordered and seemed unexcited to have to deliver the pillows which we thought was the special feature of the hotel having all these pillow choices. The best staff was the doorman who is the valet person as well. He was so courteous and helpful. On our last day we had to take our car out of the garage by a certain time before we incur an additional day's charge, and he helped us avoid that cost so we can stay in NYC for a couple of more hours by taking our car out and parking it at a parking spot on the street. When we were finally finished with NYC and ready to leave town, we came back to the hotel and found our car exactly in front of the hotel as he said.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boyton Beach Florida

excellent location

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Need to get the evevator fixed
Very nice hotel but there was one elevator out of service so waiting for elevators was a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Nice hotel in a pretty good location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Overall my experience was good, but I choose this hotel because it's a VIP hotel for Expedia elite members, but I didn't felt VIP at all. I had no perks whatsoever, upgrades, they didn't even mentioned so you'll have no special benefits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom TS

Sehr gute Lage, leider Verschleiß sichtbar

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Ein sehr günstig gelegenes Hotel direkt an einer U-Bahn Station. Leider sind die Fotos des Hotels aus einer besseren Zeit. Ein Fahrstuhl ist permanent defekt, sodass bei 26 Stockwerken morgens signifikanter Stau entsteht. Personal ist gut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Overall good experience

Posted Apr 6, 2015
DO stay at this hotel for: location and convenience, overall good service/staff, overall value (for NYC), great restaurant. DO NOT stay at this hotel if: you need to use the sofa bed or roll-away - they were not comfortable at all, or if you get annoyed at barking dogs in the hotel lobby - I was reading the paper on Sunday morning and 2 dog owners had three barking dogs in the lobby for ten minutes. Very annoying.