Ratings based on 1,014 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwood, MA

Welcoming Mid-town Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The friendly helpful staff.
Cons: One elevator was being refurbished so that service was slow. They did allow guests to use the service elevator to try and alleviate the wait time.
Location: The National restaurant in the hotel was convenient, lovely and the food and prices were good. Close to 5th Avenue shopping.
We made our reservation at the Benjamin primarily because of it's location which was close to our daughter's apartment. I provided my e-mail address and a day or so before our arrival they e-mailed us a quick form about our preferences in room location, amenities, check in time, etc. A return e-mail indicated that they had received my form and that our room would be ready by 3 p.m. We arrived in NYC around noon and decided to go to the hotel and see if we could leave our luggage and check in later. Our room was ready, fulfilled our requests and they seemed genuinely welcoming even though we were three hours early
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, New York

Weekend away

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The hotel was very nice quick check in and check out. Hotel staff nice and polite. Only con was that the lady in the front desk did not know that it was a VIP access hotel, which means I didn't get any real perks of being a silver plus Expedia member. I had to show her on the app and then she finally gave me a breakfast voucher. They should know what type of hotel they are working at.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond

Wonderful staff and great restaurant for family br

Posted Feb 28, 2015
We had our daughter, son-in-law and 16 month granddaughter. We got the one bedroom king suite for them and a king studio on same floor. Accommodations gave them space and allowed for baby to sleep and play in her own area. Large rooms with refrig in both rooms especially good for granddaughter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2015
We have stayed at The Benjamin many times and have always had a wonderful time and experience. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. I can't wait to return again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Love this hotel!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I stayed at The Benjamin over the weekend--my third stay here in the past year. Each time I love it--so comfortable, friendly staff, great restaurant, it's my favorite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Although we only stayed 1 night for a quick stopover, it was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Overland park, KS

Nice upscale hotel close to everything

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Great and comfortable! Helpful staff with getting a cab and luggage storage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

2nd stay in 2 months- Many improvements

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Staff at Front Desk, Location , Value
Cons: Elevator still in repair, PM doorman very inattentive-
Location: Everything, Its NYC!
My original review depicted the pros of this lovely hotel- and some cons-In my observation the cons were well addressed. My room was very clean free of carpet and blanket stains. Omar at the front desk was delightful in assisting me with anything I needed. I am happy to re review and say that this is a very nice hotel with lovely staff in the greatest city in the world- terrific Mid town location is a definite pro! Keeping this review real I must note that the evening doorman was very inattentive to us and several other guests were overheard commenting that he was always hanging around watching us struggle with the heavy front door. The Morning Doorman was perfect and on point. Perhaps some further training is needed for the PM doorman.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fla

Disappointing

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Disappointed and not worth the cost. Staff was rushed and somewhat rude - only two elevators and wait time was extensive - most of the time took the service elevator. None of my requests for beds, etc., were able to be granted to me. The waiter (s) in the restaurant were extremely slow and rude. I was very surprised at the poor service and condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greenville,SC

Long weekend in NYC

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Everything about this hotel was great. The staff was wonderful, room sizes were great for NYC, location was great, bathroom was huge and the water pressure was good too! This hotel paid attention to detail. When our flight was cancelled the hotel extended our stay and honored the Expedia rate. I would stay there again for sure. The only problem was the fact that they had only one working guest elevator so that was sometimes an issue but they offered the service elevator so that helped a little. We took the stairs some. All in all it was great.