Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Disappointing stay

Posted Jul 20, 2014
One of the elevators was out of order for our entire 6 day stay. On day 4 the one remaining elevator also broke down leaving the service elevator as the only one functioning for the whole hotel. At one stage there was a queue out the front door of guests waiting to get up to their rooms. This elevator problem seems to be an ongoing issue. The air conditioner is noisy enough that it wakes you during the night every time it kicks in. The staff are pleasant and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Nice hotel but early checkin @$129

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The suite was very roomy.
Cons: Customer service - if there was no room upgrade available - should have offered another amenity - as simple as free wifi - or a gift
The hotel suite was very nice but when I enquired about my room before arriving, even though it was ready, they wanted to charge me $129 although I was not coming in until about 1pm. I paid extra to stay here because my daughter stayed here and was very happy about it and wanted to try this instead of Kimberly right next door who had no problem with an early check in at 7am previously. One of the elevators was not working so we had to wait for elevators for 10 to 15 min every time we needed to go in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location, quiet, safe, excellent staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, comfort, restaurant, bar, in-room amenities
Cons: A/C in elevators and hallways
Location: Midtown East centrally located; Close to Rock Ctr, 5th Ave shopping, Bloomingdales, Central Park
Room was just the right size for two people in Manhattan (King Studio); kitchen is awesome to have; great places close by to get a few snacks to keep on hand (Duane Reade Pharmacy; Parisian Bakery; Starbucks galore!); staff were very attentive and helpful; Management looked after us well when we had an issue. Restaurant is excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Awesome Second Visit

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Loved the location so much I came back a second time. Had VIP Access, so upgraded to larger room on 21st floor. Roomy, spacious, comfortable, well-kept, with convenient kitchenette. Easy access to subway and busses. Steps away from many eating places and cafes. I'd come back here a third time if the opportunity arose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ.

A Gem In Midtown!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Obviously, location is a huge reason to like this hotel. But, more importantly, it is the friendly and helpful staff that defines The Benjamin.
Cons: Our suite could have used a small table to eat at, but for us that was more an observation than a genuine concern or complaint.
Location: Located at 50th and Lexington, The Benjamin provides unparalleled easy access to all your travel/sightseeing needs. Subway station one block away.
My wife and I stayed at The Benjamin from June 30th to July 7th during our summer vacation. And boy are we glad we did. We travel quite regularly and can be somewhat discriminating when it comes to accomodations and customer service. Well, let me tell you. You need not worry about either at The Benjamin. Our king suite was immense by Manhattan standards. Our room was equipped with a regular size refrigerator, microwave, small sink, silverware, glassware, plates and bowls! What more could you need? A Food Emporium(reasonable prices) is located two blocks away on 2nd Ave. so you can stock up on groceries. A great way to save money. There is also a Duane Reade Pharmacy(basically a Walgreens) a block away on 51st. The bathroom was well appointed and spacious. Towels were of good quality and the comfy robes were a nice bonus. Room also came with iron, ironing board, hair dryer and safe. Fortunately, the quality of the staff met and exceeded the quality of the rooms. If you are a first time visitor to New York and maybe a little intimidated by it's reputation this is the place for you. My wife had never been before and had some of the same worries. Let me just say the staff will immediately ease your mind. Here, you will get no disinterested or snooty attitude. EVERY staff member we interacted with from the front desk to housekeeping was amazing. Their genuine desire to help made us feel welcome and immeasurably enhanced our entire vacation. We even referred to it as home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

The Benjamin

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This hotel has been wonderful. They are super accommodating. They gave us the room we asked for with absolutely no hassle and bent over backwards to help. I particularly want to thank the managers Merrill Perrier and David (I don't know his last name) lovely hotel great rooms and first class service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Nice hotel, right in the heart of the city!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
This hotel was a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Employees were friendly and helpful for the most part. Doors were a little thin and we were awaken in the early morning by knocks on our neighbors' door from room service, but street noise was never heard from our room. Also, be sure when booking show tickets through their concierge that you clarify the price. We paid double for an off broadway show because we were never told that the price we were quoted was per ticket, not for the two we requested. Didn't find out until we checked our bank account a few days later. Had we been told, we definitely would have booked elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Good workout facilities, steam sauna was a nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Best hotel in manhattan

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I want to live at the hotel it is so great Clean, quiet and a superior location in Manhattan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Princeton NJ

Comfortable stay in Midtown

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Location: Walked to local cafe's, the cable car to Roosevelt Island, and Theater district. Close to subway for excursions that are further away.
Nicely appointed, comfortable hotel in Midtown Manhattan. Very friendly, knowledgeable, and professional staff. Hotel and rooms very clean and well designed. Would love to stay here again.