Ratings based on 1,086 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Worcester, MA

Comfortable hotel in nice neighborhood

Posted May 22, 2015
We were in the city for just one night but we found The Benjamin to have a comfortable elegance that makes us intend to go back again and stay longer. The staff were friendly and professional. The neighborhood is a big plus. Lots of restaurants close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Western Australia

Extended stay for solo traveller

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: Location location, close to everything but not in the toursity times square, perfect
Cons: Getting the second third elevator finished.
Location: Everything midtown is walking distance, metros located on 51st and 53 rd get you everywhere you need to go, grocery and pharamcy all within 2 blocks.
Fantastic location and staff, great little kitchenette made breakfast simple and cheap, loved it here 😊
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Posted May 6, 2015
The hotel is quite charming and I loved the boutique feel of it. Hotel staf was very nice. The disappointment I had was-- checking in , one of us arrived at 4 pm and room wasn't ready, then I arrived at 6 pm still not ready. They said they had another room available at that moment -- liower number--- big mistake!! We had reservations, so we had to take room to change. The room was low that at 12:30 we were awaken by garbage trunks and the noise was bad-- and for 20 minutes we had to listen to the beeping and banging. Awful night of sleep and then be be weeping next to gym-- we could hear the next morning the weights being dropped. I really liked the hotel but was disappointed that being a gold member of Expedia n-- we had to pay parking, which I thought was a perk ( and the car was driven to another location and you couldn't take your car out and bring back unless charged twice) perk???? $55 a night.......no other gold perks given. I picked this location thinking for price the parking was high but it was the perk-
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Très bon séjour

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: L'écoute et la réactivité du personnel.
Cons: L'isolation des fenêtres (anti-bruit)
Location: Quartier idéal sur Manhattan pour découvrir les sites les plus visités. Station de métro aux pieds de l'hôtel donnant facilement accès à tout.
Nous sommes allés en famille séjourner à l'hôtel Benjamin (1 couple et 2 enfants 16ans - 10ans). Nous avons choisi une chambre avec coin cuisine et salon. C'est parfait pour 4. Première nuit, notre chambre ne nous a pas convenu. Pas assez haute 4ème (odeur de cuisine) et vue cour (bruit des climatiseurs amplifié) ; Pas de bruit de rue, en revanche, des claquements de portes incessants dans le couloir la nuit. L'hôtel nous a changé de chambre : 15ème étage - vue rue : chambre très agréable, bruit du trafic, parfait pour tout le reste. Hôtel très bien situé, personnel à l'écoute. Excellent séjour en Big Apple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

warm welcome and quickly accommodated

Posted May 1, 2015
Fernando registered me fast and hooked it up with VIP status by providing a better than expected view and room. The staff was very friendly and outgoing but respected my privacy. It was a perfect last minute get away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel, location and service.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: I liked the fact that the hotel had a 'boutique' feel to it, it was not too big and stuffy. if we go back I would definitely book this hotel again.
We were on a family holiday and stayed for 5 nights at the hotel. The Benjamin offered everything we were looking for, excellent location, a very comfortable suite including a small very well equipped kitchen. We ate in the restaurant one evening, the food was delicious and the service faultless. The restaurant is in the top 50 restaurants in NYC. Fairly reasonably priced too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ecuador

Nice hotel close to central station

Posted Apr 27, 2015
The best part of the hotel is that the room has a kitchenette so you can save some money eating there. The room was nice and comfortable. It was a bit noisy but they have a special sound machine you can ask for. The elevators were small and both ended up on maintenance at the same time. A very crowded restaurant "the national" is located downstairs so it is full of life when it is open. Customer service the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON, Canada

Beautiful old hotel in the heart of Midtown East

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: It's location and the room size. We really enjoyed the room and it was quite comfortable. The front door men were great.
Cons: Improve the friendliness of the front desk staff mainly. I just wished my checkout had been a little warmer!
Location: You can walk to Rockafeller Center or shopping on 5th Ave. It's a short subway ride to the Upper East or West sides to the museums and Central Park.
We loved this hotel! It is a beautiful old hotel right in Midtown East. It is very close to multiple subway stops so it was very convenient to travel. Our room was larger than expected (as New York can be known to have small rooms). It was about 350 sq. feet. When picking a hotel look at the square footage (anything under 250 sq feet will feel quite small--the average hotel room in the US is 350 sq feet). We had the King Deluxe room and it came with a kitchenette. We had a nice view of the street but be aware that you can see into the hotel across the way! Our bed and pillows were extremely comfortable (but the bed didn't come with a top sheet which I'm unsure if this is a new thing?). The National is the restaurant in the hotel. We didn't eat here but it can be quite pricey. There are 3 elevators (2 regular and 1 service). I noticed from previous reviews there were wait issues as one was out of service, but during our stay there was none. We didn't have to wait more than 1-2 minutes for an elevator. The front desk staff was overall pretty friendly but when we checked out the girl at the front was a little cold towards me when I mentioned I didn't have my bags with me yet and would need to store them (my boyfriend was bringing them down). It was weird. The front door men were great and very efficient when getting us a cab and helping with luggage. Overall we loved our stay and would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Good hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Good hotel. Very well located. Lots of food around. Easy access to the metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom japan

Only elevator was too old.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: 窓からの眺望はほとんどなかったが比較的静かで、室内も清潔で、使わなかったがキチンもあった。
Cons: エレベーターの表示が壊れているのか、ボタンを押してもいつ来るのかわからない。
Location: 自由の女神、ヤンキースタジアム、メトロポリタンミュージアムなど、同じ地下鉄の通りなので、どこに行くにも便利。
地下鉄の駅やCafe、レストランに近く、便利だった。 少し狭い気がしたが実際はそうではなく、品と格式のあるホテルだった。一つだけエレベーターが故障していることだけが残念だった。