Ratings based on 796 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location, great suites, excellent restaurant

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The Benjamin is a class act, across the street from the Waldorf it has a boutique feeling and great facilities and staff. They always accommodate to your needs, worth every penny.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Convenient location. Very pleasant.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Very nice. Room is spacious for NYC standard. Good for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Cons: Had to wait a long time for lifts.
The Benjamin is a hotel located right in the city of NYC. It's near the subway which makes it easy to get around and walking distance from Time Square. Several cafes and supermarkets downstairs made it convenient. The doorman were friendly and lobby was cosy with high arm chairs. The rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable bed. It made it feel like home. Decent views from rooms at higher floors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

Not what we expected

Posted Aug 5, 2014
I am really not sure how the hotel had such a high rating. The staff is not very friendly and the hotel has not AC in the elevators or hallways. Rooms are very small and the mattress was an old spring mattress. I would not recommends this hotel even if it was a great deal!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location. Upper East side Manhattan.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: location
Clean comfortable. Staff very accommodating. stayed on 16th floor. Good views of the City. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: they could lower the price
good...very accommodating. they included Wi-Fi for no additional cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location and amenities
Cons: Make sure customers get their wake up call. Could have been a disaster if we didn't wake up on our own at 5:00am because we never got our wake-up call
Location: Close to shopping, restaraunts and most mid-town Manhattan sights.
We had a nice stay at the Benjamin - room was spacious and very clean. Hotel is close to all of the midtown Manhattan attractions. Staff was very courteous and accommodating; however, we never got our wake up call on the date of departure and our car was not ready for us in the morning as promised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Disappointing stay

Posted Jul 20, 2014
One of the elevators was out of order for our entire 6 day stay. On day 4 the one remaining elevator also broke down leaving the service elevator as the only one functioning for the whole hotel. At one stage there was a queue out the front door of guests waiting to get up to their rooms. This elevator problem seems to be an ongoing issue. The air conditioner is noisy enough that it wakes you during the night every time it kicks in. The staff are pleasant and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Nice hotel but early checkin @$129

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The suite was very roomy.
Cons: Customer service - if there was no room upgrade available - should have offered another amenity - as simple as free wifi - or a gift
The hotel suite was very nice but when I enquired about my room before arriving, even though it was ready, they wanted to charge me $129 although I was not coming in until about 1pm. I paid extra to stay here because my daughter stayed here and was very happy about it and wanted to try this instead of Kimberly right next door who had no problem with an early check in at 7am previously. One of the elevators was not working so we had to wait for elevators for 10 to 15 min every time we needed to go in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Great location, quiet, safe, excellent staff

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Staff, comfort, restaurant, bar, in-room amenities
Cons: A/C in elevators and hallways
Location: Midtown East centrally located; Close to Rock Ctr, 5th Ave shopping, Bloomingdales, Central Park
Room was just the right size for two people in Manhattan (King Studio); kitchen is awesome to have; great places close by to get a few snacks to keep on hand (Duane Reade Pharmacy; Parisian Bakery; Starbucks galore!); staff were very attentive and helpful; Management looked after us well when we had an issue. Restaurant is excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel.