Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Gorgeous setting, amazing staff.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Absolutely incredible. We couldn't praise the staff of this wonderful hotel highly enough. They treated us like gold and were so sweet to our little boy. Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed, if a little too warm. The tub/shower was tricky to get into and the room service we had wasn't very tasty for the price, but these are very small complaints for a very, very enjoyable stay. And the views and grounds are to die for. Thank you for an unforgettable time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as expected

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Used this hotel as at a wedding there. Shower control broke on first use, reported it, although I was told someone would see to it, nothing was done. I left my toothbrush and toothpaste at home...no toothpaste in hotel. Thick dust behind desk in room, spent a lot of time sneezing. Uncomfortably hot in room, even though no heating on, had to open window which gave an icy breeze. Was also kept awake for most of the night with, what sounded like a water tank refilling, and a dripping. Overall, not a plesant stay in a hotel I expexted a lot from
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Canada

Heavenly oasis near Gatwick

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The common areas were spacious and furnished with comfortable furniture that invited quiet contemplation.
Cons: A map of local walking trails perhaps.
Location: The town of Red Hill has shops, markets, department stores and market stalls. Parking is a challenge because of ongoing roadworks though.
Superb comfort in a rural setting near Gatwick, this magnificent converted priory boasts panoramic views of rolling hills in a truly spacious and serene setting. The staff care about their guests, the rooms are lofty and bright and the Cloisters Restaurant serves delicious fare. The spa facilities are in a separate building and there are acres in which to walk and unwind after a trans-Atlantic flight. The environment is safe, birds and other wildlife are near and the feeling is one of having stepped back in time. It was truly a restful place, which is not easy to find these days.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great setting & fantastic property - Poor Service

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The property is great & the suite was very nice. The service from the food & beverage staff is extremely poor (barging past you at the bar and generally rude). I attended a function and was advised by a 'jumped up' bar tender that function guests could not use the main bar (even though I was staying at the hotel!). The breakfast was served in a side function room rather than the main restaurant and this was a (rather cold) buffet rather than the 'cooked to order table service' detailed on the hotels website. This is a real shame and imply shows a lack of good management. If you are looking for a great property and don't mind appalling service then this will be great for you.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Sussex

Not of a Class you would expect

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The evening meal/quality of food was of a very high standard which is why the chef has been awarded AA 2 Rosette
Cons: the level of service by staff
My assumption was that the Nutfield Priory Hotel would be special Hotel, as we were attending a wedding at the hotel that same day the residents bar offered a very small service area and when we were waiting to be served we were barged past by staff member wanting to get to the bar area ahead of us. Having stayed at some of the finest hotels, all Ii can say is, I was totally disappointed. the wedding food was of a very good standard; however the wedding bar was ill equipped and was unable to serve cocktails, so we were told if we wanted cocktails we would need to go to the residents bar. This was not overly a problem and we made our way down to the residents bar. We were greeted by one of the barmen who told us he could not serve us as all wedding guest had to be served in the wedding venue area. I have never been turned away from a bar before, and what was more insulting was that i was paying for this service, as I was also a guest at the hotel and had paid for a suite for that night. We asked the food and beverages manager if we could speak to the hotel manager where some of the other guest observed that he just rolled his eyes. The hotel manager did apologise and as a gesture of goodwill arranged for a complimentary round of drinks. The hotel bedroom was of a standard i would expect for the price i paid, the residents bar was uninviting not just by some of the staff members but in the decor itself (very bland) , however the young barman who tended to us after the other sta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely retreat for our wedding night!

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We turned up late after our wedding reception and received a lovely warm welcome, the room was beautiful and very comfortable. It was a lovely way to relax after the wedding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Great romantic getaway

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: beautiful building - inside and out, very romantic dinner in the restaurant, lovely garden (weather permitting).
I took my girlfriend there as a surprise to propose to her. It couldn't have turned out better. The staff (Steve and Lisa in particular) were extremely helpful in planning the weekend, and were also very discreet about finalising arrangements while we were there. They had arranged a picnic for us, but since it was raining, they set it up in a banquet room with some nice flowers which was amazing (and about the best you can do in England!). We will definitely be back for another weekend retreat at some point in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tony & Suefrom Redhill

Really nice staff.

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time, the staff were very friendly. We had to go out to have an evening meal, this was because we didn't book the restaurant. If you want to eat dinner there book your meal with your booking. If not go out the hotel, turn left, and down the hill is a carvery, a meal for 2 will cost less then a quarter of the hotel meal. We wasn't to happy about being woken up at 5am by the fire alarm! And then we had to wait until the fire service had given the OK before we could go back to bed. Best to safe then sorry I suppose. Very good apart from that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Meals & bar overpriced and not quite upto scratch!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Harlow

Nice old hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The turn down service and putting the drinks by the bedside, the views.
Cons: To show you to the room, scrambled egg was just about warm and not very nice. Tell you where you can get breakfast the next morning.
Location: We didn't do much as we was there for a party nearby.
It was a nice room not as big as I had expected and the bathroom quite small with heated towel rail, Our room was a bit musky but as we only there for the night we didn't say anything. It could be that it's old, the air con a bit loud and didn't think for the money it was worth it. The Spa is in a different building.