Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Heavenly oasis near Gatwick

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: The common areas were spacious and furnished with comfortable furniture that invited quiet contemplation.
Cons: A map of local walking trails perhaps.
Location: The town of Red Hill has shops, markets, department stores and market stalls. Parking is a challenge because of ongoing roadworks though.
Superb comfort in a rural setting near Gatwick, this magnificent converted priory boasts panoramic views of rolling hills in a truly spacious and serene setting. The staff care about their guests, the rooms are lofty and bright and the Cloisters Restaurant serves delicious fare. The spa facilities are in a separate building and there are acres in which to walk and unwind after a trans-Atlantic flight. The environment is safe, birds and other wildlife are near and the feeling is one of having stepped back in time. It was truly a restful place, which is not easy to find these days.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Not of a Class you would expect

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The evening meal/quality of food was of a very high standard which is why the chef has been awarded AA 2 Rosette
Cons: the level of service by staff
My assumption was that the Nutfield Priory Hotel would be special Hotel, as we were attending a wedding at the hotel that same day the residents bar offered a very small service area and when we were waiting to be served we were barged past by staff member wanting to get to the bar area ahead of us. Having stayed at some of the finest hotels, all Ii can say is, I was totally disappointed. the wedding food was of a very good standard; however the wedding bar was ill equipped and was unable to serve cocktails, so we were told if we wanted cocktails we would need to go to the residents bar. This was not overly a problem and we made our way down to the residents bar. We were greeted by one of the barmen who told us he could not serve us as all wedding guest had to be served in the wedding venue area. I have never been turned away from a bar before, and what was more insulting was that i was paying for this service, as I was also a guest at the hotel and had paid for a suite for that night. We asked the food and beverages manager if we could speak to the hotel manager where some of the other guest observed that he just rolled his eyes. The hotel manager did apologise and as a gesture of goodwill arranged for a complimentary round of drinks. The hotel bedroom was of a standard i would expect for the price i paid, the residents bar was uninviting not just by some of the staff members but in the decor itself (very bland) , however the young barman who tended to us after the other sta
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London, England

Great romantic getaway

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: beautiful building - inside and out, very romantic dinner in the restaurant, lovely garden (weather permitting).
I took my girlfriend there as a surprise to propose to her. It couldn't have turned out better. The staff (Steve and Lisa in particular) were extremely helpful in planning the weekend, and were also very discreet about finalising arrangements while we were there. They had arranged a picnic for us, but since it was raining, they set it up in a banquet room with some nice flowers which was amazing (and about the best you can do in England!). We will definitely be back for another weekend retreat at some point in the near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harlow

Nice old hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The turn down service and putting the drinks by the bedside, the views.
Cons: To show you to the room, scrambled egg was just about warm and not very nice. Tell you where you can get breakfast the next morning.
Location: We didn't do much as we was there for a party nearby.
It was a nice room not as big as I had expected and the bathroom quite small with heated towel rail, Our room was a bit musky but as we only there for the night we didn't say anything. It could be that it's old, the air con a bit loud and didn't think for the money it was worth it. The Spa is in a different building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adam from London

Wonderful hotel, not so great a spa

Posted Jul 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful, if, at times, a little slow - we waited about 30 minutes for afternoon tea, but aside from that the service was very good. The food was delicious, there was a fantastic wine selection and a great breakfast, but the prices are a little steep. It is an ideal venue for weddings and corporate events with plenty of function rooms which do not interfere with your stay as a regular guest - there were a few during our stay which we only discovered by accident, otherwise we would never know they were there. However, the spa was not so satisfying. The facilities were good, but if you book and specifically request a firm pressure massage, you don't expect to have a weak masseuse gently stroke you for an hour - quite frustrating. There is a good, quiet pool, sauna, steam room and gym, but if you book treatments be specific about what you want!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tommo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by New Bride from London

Wedding Night Luxury

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stunning - everything was superb - our only complaint was that we only booked the one night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by KandJfromDallas from Dallas

very nice stay

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room had a king size bed, 2 night stands, two side chairs, a desk with chair, and a good sized closet. The room had adequate space for two weeks worth of traveling items. The bathroom had a shower/tub combo, and an adequate amount of space for toiletries. The room was clean, well maintained, updated, and the bed, pillows, and linens were super comfortable. The included breakfast was good and offered a variety of cooked items and continental breakfast items. Every staff member was extremely cordial and helpful. The hotel is in a nice wooded location, with nice gardens, just a very short drive outside of Redhill. Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very very nice place to enjoy nature and relax!

Posted May 20, 2014
We were early on the day of check in, but the very nice lady at reception let us check in anyway, and we couldn't thank her enough, everything was great, the room, the hotel, and the restaurant. Waiter BOBO was absolutely fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wedding Weekend

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and fantastic staff. Stayed in a standard double with my best man the night before my wedding and a suite on my wedding night. Both rooms were very good. Best thing about the hotel was the staff!