Ratings based on 781 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg

Posted Jun 1, 2015
We chose to stay here because it's cheap and we planned to be outside most of the time. Just basic. Waikiki beach is some 20 minutes walk away. NO wi-fi in rooms, no free coffee or anything. Will hold your luggage after you have checked out for free.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Hotel by the canal

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: The views of the Ala Wai canal,watching the locals outrigger canoe training, and we could see soccer and baseball, the hotel pool also was a highlight
Cons: The hotel rooms could be updated
Location: It's about a 10 minute walk to the closest beach, 7/11, food pantry, ABC store and many restaurants close by
The hotel looks like it would have been great 20 years ago, it's very outdated
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

態度の悪いホテルスタッフ

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: まったく無し
チェックイン時(午後4時)ホテルフロントに誰も居ないという事から私のステイは始まりました。 何度か声をかけた所でようやく出てきた女性スタッフの一言はWHAT!でした。 いきなりの態度に驚いて言葉も出ませんでした。 通された部屋はお世辞にも綺麗とは言えない、とにかく古いふるい部屋でした。 wifiも使用できず(いまどき!)ホテルの地下には品の悪いバーがあり、『部屋で喫煙するな!』と散々言われましたが部屋にはタバコの匂いがしっかり染み付いていました。 この日、他に用事があり寝るだけなので・・・ということで このホテルを選択しましたが今後ハワイに行く事があっても 二度とこのホテルに宿泊する事は有りません。(断言) 寝るだけにしても料金を払った事に後悔すら覚える宿泊となりました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nuneaton

Great place

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Less noisy ac units in rooms
Location: Near to beech and bars
This hotel was in a great location just minutes to the beech, I found all hotel facilities to be ok and the staff were very helpful, all in all made for a great holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Worksop

A little dated but perfectly acceptable

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful front desk staff always willing to give information and assistance
Cons: larger flat screen tvs in rooms, possibly new carpets and bedroom furniture in the rooms would make it look fresher and more modern too
Location: Located within 200 yards of a Tony Romas and a small micro brewery attached to a "Cheeseburger" franchise. Basement pub with power hour 5-6 drinks $1
The hotel is one of the more affordable options by the looks of it in a resort that seems to rapidly be moving towards a desire to be 4 and 5 stars only high end chains like the Hilton, Sheraton and Hyatt. Although the place is in need of a bit of modernisation, the helpful front desk staff more than made up for any shortcomings in my opinion. The place is part hotel and part residential condominiums.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View, Clean Room, Inexpensive

Posted May 18, 2015
Great view, clean room, excellent hotel employee, Clifford...the room provided all that we needed, not fancy...straight out of the 80's, but no problem for us...the price was right. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom melbourne

Great views and good hospitality

Posted May 15, 2015
Good price great people will stay there again Close to facilities and room cleaned well each day. Enjoyed my stay at the Monarch hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expectations Surpassed

Posted May 12, 2015
I stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks. My stay was pleasant. I booked the hotel based on price, and considering it has over 20 floors, the possibility of a room with a view. I was not expecting luxury. I was expecting an older hotel with the basics: clean room with more than likely outdated furnishings, plentiful and consistent hot water, and a comfortable bed. I never heard any noise from the other rooms, and being located on the 18th floor, I got my view, which was incredible (the Ala Wai canal and the mountains to the east). Clifford, at the front desk, was wonderful....helpful, considerate, respectful, knowledgeable of the area, always friendly...I have never encountered a finer hotel employee, or for that matter, a finer person. All my expectations were met, and in some respects, surpassed.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Location is great but hotel needs major upgrades.

Posted May 11, 2015
I probably would not be staying here again. Hotel is super old and outdated. Carpet needs to be changed. Bathroom toilet was literally crooked. Furniture was super old. Location was prime in the Waikiki area. Pool was ok. This is also a residential condo to a few weirdos who hang out in the front. The front desk stay, although very friendly, we're not very professional at all. A little too "aloha"!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hotel parking, $25 a day for close parking

Posted May 10, 2015
Only Cera in elevators can get to certain floors and the parking was non avaible. Paint was peeling from doors.