Ratings based on 1,853 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLO , CA

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Love the location , easy to find .
Cons: More coffee in the rooms and flavored creamers .
Location: The camp on Bristol is fun
Easy to get to , helpful staff . They got me in my room early and I was able to enjoy the pool . Easy parking .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach

Still has Charm, but miss the "Old Ayres"

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Cons: Staff Friendliness
Location: Located close to JW airport and 405/55 Freeways
Although this is still a very nice hotel, it has lost it's familiar charm for which it has been known for many years. I was disappointed to find that a "Junior Suite" is now merely a room with two queen beds and a hallway microwave. Breakfast and happy hour are no longer included with the room charge. At least the parking is still free. Staff was unfriendly and not very helpful. The phenomenal gift shop is sadly gone. Family atmosphere has disappeared, but the place is clean and still has residual charm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Great hotel very pleased I would definitely recommend this hotel to all. clean nice and cosy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great hotel close to SNA!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Huge rooms and boutique charm
Cons: Update the Jacuzzi tub dials...very tacky to see another hotel's name listed there along with the brass style is super outdated
Location: Walk to Starbucks, McDonalds and a few other restaurants. Beach is within 15 min drive.
Enjoyed this hotel and loved the amenities. Large hotel with the charm of a boutique so it was great place to relax! There is one pool in the main hotel and one in the suite hotel with the suite pool having nicer lounge chairs but fewer places to relax. It appears the hotel is a converted Country Inn and Suites (the knob for the Jacuzzi tub still had the logo on it) but enjoyed our stay none the less. With our Expedia booking we were upgraded to the executive suite which rocked and was super spacious, we would definitely stay again if we are back in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Nice hotel...a little older.... but charming

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the rustic nature of the hotel. The staff were highly attentive, courteous and congenial.
Cons: Some of the common area sofa's were starting to look a little too old. Room drapes and some furniture are do for a trip to the spa.
Location: Not much near by but served my meetings and needs well enough. Should you feel the urge to shop, I'd highly recommend the South Coast Plaza. WOW !
The hotel was in close proximity to my meeting so that worked very well. The daily buffet in the morning was very good. The staff were delightful, very attentive and engaged well with Customers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Very nice. Comfortable beds. Liked that there was a fridge in the room. Loved our view of the courtyard. Will definitely stay here again if we need to stay in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

DISAPPOINTED

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: not much I WASTED $450. FOR THIS PLACE. NEVER AGAIN
Location: TERRIBLE NOTHING
STAFF NOT VERY FRIENDLY OR VERY HELP FULL. EXTRA CHARGE FOR BREAKFAST , ARE YOU SERIOUS.BAD DECESION ON THE PART OF AYRES HOTELS. NO DISCLOSURE ABOUT PLANES FLYING OVER THE HOTEL AND THAT WE WERE RIGHT IN THE FLIGHT ZONE. NO BREAKFAST NO RESERVATION
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear BRIAN, Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback concerning your recent stay with us. Providing exceptional customer is our top priority and, unfortunately, we fell short of that commitment during your stay. We want to apologize on behalf of our entire team for the unfortunate experience and the inconvenience our breakfast charge may have caused you. Thank you again for your vital feedback and we hope you find comfort, satisfaction and tranquility in all of your future travels. Sincerely, Susan O'Brien-Moore General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Clean and everything you may need.
Cons: Bring the 2 buildings together.
Location: Nothing nearby, pretty much need to take a cab everywhere or drive because the shuttle only will travel 3miles max.
Great staff! Alittle aways from Newport but overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield,ca

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Great experience .Staff was very courteous .Room was very spacious.Love the pool and cabanas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were immaculate.
Location: Great location.
Good. The room was over the entry way with lots of highway traffic. However, the room was clean and it was in general quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Ayres Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear L. K., Thank you for sharing a great review about our hotel and your most recent stay! We are pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your time in reviewing your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again very soon! Sincerely, Susan O'Brien-Moore General Manager