Ratings based on 1,580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

1st Class

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Cons: ZERO
The services, location and staff were all OUTSTANDING!!! Spacious rooms, close to airport and other support locations, was like I had never left HOME!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Nice hotel in Costa Mesa

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I was picked up prombtly by the hotel shuttle from the airport. The shuttle also took back to the airport on checkout day at 12on. Reception staff was welcoming. There was cold drinking water in the lobby upon arrival after 3 pm. Room was good size with a kingbed which was very comfortable. Housekeeping staff was friendly. There were a large flat screen LG TV, full length mirror and a leather loveseat. There were shampoo, conditioner and soap in the washroom. Towels looked new and clean. Breakfast was adequate with scrambled eggs, bacon or ham, potato, and fruits. Staff in the breakfast room was constantly cleaning and replenishing food. The restaurant has extensive menu for lunch and dinner. The courtyard was beautiful and colorful flowers and cute statues. The complementary wifi worked well. We were able to find a parking spot each time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Great Hotel overall. Great location. Breakfast exceeded our expectations. We stayed for only a night. My biggest disappointment was the really bad smell of our room. Our room was the last one by the pool area. It smelled really moldy and musky. Just this really unpleasant smell. The smell got stronger when we turned on the AC. The whole room felt really humid inside even with the AC on, just really bad airflow. I didn't want to go through the trouble of changing a room because we arrived late at night and were supposed to check out the next day. The location of the hotel was great. If you need something to do in the evening and don't want to drive far, visit The Camp or The Lab just a few miles away. Great restaurants, bars, coffee shops, bakeries and shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel for a short stay

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The breakfast, room size
Cons: More updates to the room
Location: Ok location, short drive to the beach.
The hotel was in a decent location for a stop along the way from LA to San Diego. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast included was pretty good for continental! Overall it was a good hotel for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Erica, Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate the candid feedback you provided and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our full hot American breakfast. Thank you again for your review and we would love to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Susan O'Brien-Moore General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Beautiful hotel-bad check-in

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The room, the bar and Kimberly at the front desk.
Cons: Customer service at the front desk.
Location: Went to a concert at the OC Fairgrounds. Caught a shuttle from the hotel. Had to get a taxi back because the shuttles don't operate after 10 or 11 PM
The hotel junior suite was very comfortable and clean. The bar was way cool if you like wood and varnish. The food at the bar was not pleasing. Had salads. Bland. Bad experience checking in due to room not ready when they said it would be. Had to wait for 45 minutes until finally someone who cared about customers helped us out. Her name was Kimberly. The rest of the staff at the desk that day were brusque and not helpful. Must have been shift change...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Great Hotel. Offered breakfast buffet. Room nice and clean and very friendly staff. Close to beach and other fun activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Overall very relaxing.
Location: I like the location despite being very near the airport. This is mainly because it serves my purpose.
Good staff and shuttle service which took care of the main reason I was there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Very nice hotel with large rooms and lovely decor

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Early check-in allowed
The location is very convenient in Orange County, easy to find. Hotel decor is very pleasing and rooms are nicely decorated with lots of space. It is a little expensive but well worth it for comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Well positioned hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The fascinating old black & white photographs lining the hotel corridors about the local area and the Ayres family connection with it.
Cons: The breakfasts, included in the room rate, weren't quite up to the standard of the lunch and dinner food. One morning they ran out of bacon!
Location: The Ayres is not far from Newport Beach and has good road connections to many surrounding areas, particularly two huge shopping malls and the airport.
This hotel is very close to John Wayne Orange County Airport, about a five minute drive. The aircraft take off almost over the top of it but the noise can't be heard at all inside the buildings and didn't disturb us much outside either, even in the hotel's outside dining courtyard. There are no night flights from John Wayne. The food for lunch and dinner is to a very high standard, very inventive and beautifully presented. The portions aren't enormous either, so no doggy bags needed! Each of the dining courtyard tables had a potted strawberry plant on it, a very nice touch. Pleasant reception staff plus a pool and hot tub though we didn't use these. There is plenty of parking around the hotel buildings. If you want to eat out without driving, there are a few restaurants either across the road or next to the hotel. There's also a 7-Eleven. Immediately next to the hotel is a petrol station and facilities like a dry cleaners are close by. The hotel has a wide range of customers, from families to business people, via tourists like us and, while we were there, several very well-behaved baseball teams. Our room, 184 in the swas slightly below ground level and gloomy. We needed all the lights on during the day and it was still too dark. Getting rid of the heavy window drapes would help. We'd definitely stay here again if we were in the area, though in a different room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis MO

convenient location (close to South Coast Plaza)

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: free parking, wifi, breakfasts, location to South Coast Plaza, proximity to my parent's house beaches
Cons: Cannot exit hotel parking lot Northbound on Bristol (must go South towards I-55 South)... inconvenient if we wanted to go to shops in SC Plaza.
Location: Beaches, Balboa/Balboa Island, Shopping, Maggiano's restaurant, Vons grocery store, Crate & Barrel
OK check-in (clerk asked me to wait for 1 hour for my room, when email said it would be ready 2 hours earlier... cleared up by mgr). Pleasant classical music in lobby. Refreshing water dispenser in lobby. Plenty of parking (small spaces - may get door dings). Comfortable, functional room... 2 Queen beds were comfy, small fridge in room was great, TV/Cable was great, bath/shower functioned perfectly, airplane noise was muted in room (SNA takeoffs starting around 7am). Pool was OK (a little small, but refreshing), Jacuzzi OK (very warm/hot, but no bubbles), breakfast was great (IMHO - scrambled eggs, good quality bacon, potatoes, toast, coffee, fruit, yogurt, orange/apple/cranberry juices, milk, cereal, etc). Courtyard outside of restaurant was very quaint - nicely layed out. 2 PCs w/printers to print boarding passes. Wi-Fi worked well. Great bargain because of free parking, breakfast, wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Alessandra, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel! In regards to your recent stay, we apologize for any inconveniences you experienced upon check, however we are glad we were able to resolve the issue. It is pleasing to hear that your overall experience at our hotel was positive and that you were able to enjoy our many complimentary amenities.Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, Susan O'Brien-Moore General Manager