Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pa from Glasgow

Near to Dunkeld

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Quiet location
Cons: Room slightly dated
Location: Dunkeld nearby ,walk along the river
Relaxing stay gorgeous location excellent food and facilties
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Great place for a wedding. Staff excellent. Restaurant food a bit disappointing bot overall stay was great. Beautiful setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Scott from Manchester

very comfortable

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: the staff, the location
Cons: wifi and mobile phone signal
Very comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff. Gorgeous location. Wifi provision is in adequate though and the mobile signal is poor too. Sometimes this is a positive boon, but when you need it for something, it can be frustrating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EM from edinburgh

weekend deal at Hilton Dunkeld

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: staff. location.
Cons: standard bedroom furnishings are very tired and need replaced
Location: walking locally, good music pub nearby .
without doubt the furnishings and fabric in the standard rooms were a little tired but the comfort and friendly staff and good food more than made up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Troon

A delightful weekend visit.

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Location, parking, welcome, room and food. Staff who appeared to enjoy their work.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi
Our basic room was better than many "superior" rooms at other hotels we have visited. It was warm, comfortable and spacious with a good seating area. All the staff we met were cheerful and friendly as well as efficient. The dinner menu was interesting and well presented. It was good to find both porridge and haggis on the breakfast buffet which was topped up frequently. The croissants tasted like good French ones. The entrance to the hotel estate was impressive and the riverside location is superb. There is ample parking which was not full even on the Saturday night when there was a large wedding. The wedding did not appear to have any effect on the normal running of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mumsie from florida

country retreat

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The reception staff and the housekeeping staff were wonderful. Dining room staff need more polish
Cons: A lick of paint especially on the way to the leisure centre
Location: Dunkeld is a pretty country town with an ancient Cathedral, a great art gallery, funky wee shops. Great walks along the river.
The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. The building could do with some loving care, but it was warm and comfortable if you closed your eyes to the peeling paint and scuffed doors. The fires were lit every day and were inviting. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Fife

Lovely riverside setting and woodland walks

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Location, comfortable room, good food.
Cons: Decor in the rooms, clarity on bar prices.
Location: Forest & riverside walks. A visit to The Hermitage is highly recommended
We had a most enjoyable stay and the facilities were good. Some parts of the hotel seem slightly run-down but that did not detract from our enjoyment. The food in the restaurant was very nice and the service was efficient. One word of warning though - if you ask for a large glass of wine at the bar afterwards, make sure you confirm the price before ordering - we were charged £11.10 for a glass of red wine, which is outrageous!! Needless to say, it was beer for the next round!! Leisure complex facilities were superb and our room was very clean and comfortable even if the decor was out of fashion.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend break

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Grounds were nice
Cons: Lounge area, menus and bar prices.
Location: Beautiful scenery/countryside but not a lot to do nearby, very limited. Did the quad bike trek which was great, would do this again
Weekend break with my partner. Room was ok, fair space, but decor a bit old fashioned. Beds were very uncomfy, both me and my partner tossed and turned both nights which was quite disappointing for a hotel of this standard. Breakfast was excellent, but food choices in the evening were very limited, same menu the 2 nights we were there, we found the food a bit too fancy, as a result on the sat evening we ate from the bar menu, which again was very limited, (although the burgers we had were lovely ). Service on the Saturday night in the restaurant was very disappointing too. Lounge area extremely poor, not enough seating. Bar prices SHOCKING! £13 for a rose wine and a pint! Pool and gym were lovely. Not enough to do for us, and too pricey, wouldn't return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meg from Aberdeen City

Tranquility personified, a little bit of heaven

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: I particularly liked the location down by the river. Great place for all ages. Best of all was the hard-working staff, nice mix of ages.
Cons: The front desk could do with a bit of smartening up, more like a hallway. Staff were very nice and helpful.
Location: Magical setting in the countryside one mile up a good driveway. The perfect place to recharge the batteries. The House of Bruar is a great day out.
We arrived to a warm welcome and a cosy fire in the lounge. First time anyone has held the door open and offered to help with the bags and I have stayed in quite a few smart hotels. The room overlooked the back car park and the woods - perfect for a good night's sleep. I expected to see a deer leap out! The hotel was pretty full and there were a number of children present but they were all beautifully behaved. I ventured into the large swimming pool with its lovely jacuzzi and steam room. The water was clean and fresh and the pool was very large for a hotel one. Lots of children in the jacuzzi for a while but well supervised and on their best behaviour. There are several lounge areas with comfortable chairs and free wifi in the public rooms. The dining room is big and bright with an old country feel about it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting. Excellent food

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Food was excellent.
Cons: Room widows had dampness as did the curtains. Pool in gym was freezing. The hotel was in need of some improvement in places.
Location: Walk along The Hermitage was pretty. Lovely setting. Lots of nice walks
The hotel grounds are very attractive however the rooms within the hotel were rather run down. Mould on windows and curtains. I have a Hilton membership and had booked the hotel for the weekend as a Christmas gift for my husband. The weekend rate was £175 per night. Friends decided to join us on the Friday night and only paid £99 for dinner bed and breakfast. Having phoned the Hilton I was informed that this rate was not through them. I have discovered that it is cheaper to book the Friday night at £99 for DB&B direct with the Hilton and then book Saturday as a separate booking. This seems to be cheaper than booking for the weekend. I did cancelled the original booking at £175 and booked through Expedia at £128 for bed and breakfast. Felt the overall weekend was marred by the cost issue.