Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel en malas condiciones

Posted Apr 11, 2015
hotel con mal servicio, no tiene tv por cable, ni Wi-Fi, sin aire acondicionado, habitaciones sucias, alberca sin mantenimiento, pisos clausurados en fin muy mal hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Temecula

Nice view only

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Stayed there few yrs ago and it was great. This time hotel seems run down linens old, sink dirty, no cable. Left after first night payed for 2nights. Spoke to manager he was very receptive and apologetic hopefully they will improve.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

no estuvo tan bien

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: la vistA
Cons: todo
Location: solo la playa
no me gusto desde que llegamos para empezar no tenian nuestra habitacion y la que nos dieron no tenia ni focos ni aire acondionado y nos pusieron a nosotros a ponerlos
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Distrito Federal

Decepcionante

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Tiene una vista maravillosa, aunque alejado del centro, la vista desde las habitaciones es maravillosa, duermes arrullado por el sonido del mar
Cons: Lo ignoro
Location: Los paseos en lancha que salen en Playa de Boca, a unos 15 minutos en carro hay una playa excepcional
Las fotografías que presentan en el anuncio no son actuales, quizá fueron tomadas hace mas de 10 años, el hotel esta descuidado, en muchas áreas abandonado, la televisión es un aparato ya muy viejo y sin control remoto, no hay tv por cable, y la programación local es imposible de ver pues no hay recepción, solo se pueden oir algunos canales, en las habitaciones no hay señal de wi-fi, ni teléfono, en nuestra habitación no servía la estufa, todo se nota muy abandonado y cero mantenimiento, pedimos una cobija extra porque hacía frio y no tenían, las toallas viejas, percudidas y algunas hasta rotas, el personal con que cuenta el hotel, o por lo menos el que vimos eran sólo 4 personas, muy amables todos pero sin posibilidad de dar solución a nuestras solicitudes, el servicio de agua caliente también falla pues a veces se acaba el agua caliente. El área donde se encuentra la supuesta alberca conectada al mar esta abandonada y es imposible meterse ahí, es prácticamente un basurero, todo esta oxidado y podrido, los barandales de la supuesta alberca están podridos y a punto de caerse, es hasta peligroso y mucha basura. Hay vestigios de que ahí había una especie de bar y hasta baño pero actualmente todo esta destruido. Una de las personas que nos atendió nos comento que acababan de pintar el hotel, pero al parecer ese es el único mantenimiento que se le ha dado, por lo menos eso fue lo que pudimos apreciar.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, Oregon

It pains me to give this review.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: View is stunning.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Location is exceptional!!!!
Background: I have been going to Puerto Vallarta for over 30 years. I raised my children there during spring breaks with many girlfriends and their children. Several times we stayed at La Jolla Mismaloya, which is now Barcelo, there in Mismaloya. We would put our kids on the bus and go down to Boca de Tomatlan to have lunch and play on the beach. We would go by the Mar Serano and it would catch my eye. So this most recent trip I had gone by myself for a couple of nights, then I met up with my husband who was coming down later as flight crew. I wanted to stay as close to Boca de Tomatlan as I could, and Mar Serano caught my eye. I read all of the reviews, good and bad. I had decided those that were not glowing were from the perspective of overly critical customers, and I would have a much more accepting eye and experience, as I have stayed all over Mexico. For anyone who says the Mar Serano is a "Mexican" experience, in my opinion, is completely wrong and that comment is an insult to Mexican hoteliers. Mind you, some of the reviews were quite old, and at the time of their reviews, it may have been a more accurate statement. BUT, I can say at this moment, there is something very wrong with this hotel. It has gone derelict, no balcony dining, but rather, piles of abandoned furniture that has collected dirt. The vibe is just down right creepy. I saw no other guests. Really, I was creeped out. I am out of writing space, but I could go on and on.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by KLBfrom Tucson

do not go there!

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was terrible, nothing like the pictures. The rooms are shabby and there is no reception area, no wifi or phone reception in the room and they charged us for two nights even though we checked out after one. DO NOT STAY THERE!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Alejandro Garcia

Pesimo servicio..!!!!

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
No habia tv, nunca me llevaron toallas, no hocieron el servicio de cuarto, nunca hubo agua caliente, ofrecen wi fi el cual nunca sirvio en la habitacion...deja mucho q desear...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Abrahamfrom Zapopan

hotel algo lejos de vallarta

Posted Oct 15, 2013
Pros: la vista y la parte donde entra agua del mar
Cons: renovar las instalaciones ...de todo el hotel
Es un hotel chico ya algo viejo, para el precio esta bien, no esperes un gran hotel a ese precio.
3 out of 5
by Carlosfrom Guadalajara Mexico

hotel regular

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: la vista al mar cristalino
Cons: nos robaron
Location: a 20 minutos de Vallarta, lo cual con el transcurso de los días encontramos que si fue tedioso
Es mas bien "villas" mas que hotel porque no tienen servicio de restaurante. La verdad aún así nos la pasamos bien porque tiene una vista increíble al océano y un a buena alberca, pero desafortunadamente todo indica que la camarera del hotel se robó el anillo de compromiso de mi esposa y eso echó a perder nuestras vacaciones
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet place to stay

Posted Feb 10, 2013
good rate, quiet hotel not alot of guests. easy to find and friendly staff. endless pool needed more water, no coffee maker in the rooms. could use a thorough clean in the rooms. a bit musty and mildewy wouldn't recommend it for anyone with asthma. great view. if you're an independent traveller that doesn't need the amenities of a hotel and spend most of your time adventuring this hotel is for you. on the highway between Puerto Vallarta and Manzanillo so a great spot to start from if you're exploring the southern Jalisco coast. I would stay again.