Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A palace indeed!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Do not listen to the negative reviews. The Riu Palace Punta Cana is an amazing hotel. If you tip the maid and wait staff a few dollars a day they will go above and beyond for you. One night in the buffet they had all you can eat lobster tails! We are at the fusion restaurant one night but decided the buffet was so good we ate the rest of our meals there. It's in a beautiful building so it doest feel like a typical buffet. Plus the Waite staff will bring you bar drinks if you ask. The pool bar is a blast. Make sure you don't miss the days when they put drinks in real pineapples and coconuts. We were in a corner suite and it was amazing. Our friends had the mini suite and it was also very nice. Both rooms were spotless. Get a room with a view of fountains or pool if you get Miini suit. Ask for ocean/pool view if you get suite. This is the nicest of all the riu's. It was much nicer then the Bravada which they claim is the top resort. The Brava was too plain for our liking. We were invited there for a special promotion dinner. Go with the Riu palace Punta Cana all the way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Its a great pkace. Spanish colonial looking. Only peeve we had was they still use keys for hotel rooms and safe. Nowadays we use key cards and ekectronic combo locks for safe. Had great time otherwise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price. Don't stay here.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
For the price of this hotel we expected more. During the course of our trip to the Dominican we stayed at 3 different hotels including this one, two of which were all inclusives. This was by far the lesser of the three. I am glad we didn't stay here the whole time or it could have really ruined our vacation! The beach was nice but compared to other Dominican beaches it was over crowded. The rooms were dirty. The shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in ages! For over $250 a night I expect a clean room!! Also, the resort is so big that you feel far from the beach although it supposedly "beachfront". Also, and this is an important one, the food was TERRIBLE. The other all inclusive we stayed at in Puerto Plata (which we paid half the price for) the food was really good. We looked forward to eating!! This was NOT the case here. Punta Cana itself is more pricey than other places in the Dominican. My recommendation would be to go to Puerto Plata or El Limon, Punta Cana is way too touristy and pricey. There is also not much around except for resorts. But if you want to stay in Punta Cana, choose a nice hotel that is not all inclusive. You will enjoy your stay much more that way. We ate out several times even though we already paid for all inclusive bc we hated the food. It comes out cheaper in the long run to not do all inclusive. Unless you find one with good food. Moral of the story, don't stay here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Rude Front Desk Personnel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, the food is very good. Wireless internet in the room.
Cons: The front desk personnel lacks commom sense and courtesy. They need to learn how to treat the customers, and to make people feel welcomed.
The hotel is huge and beautiful. The lobby decor is beautiful and the facilities are excellent. The green areas around the hotel are well kept. The hotel provides nice accomodations. The room's size is very good and the housekeeping staff are very friendly. The restaurants are very good with a variety of food to choose from. The beach is beautiful, and the pool has a good size. We will not return to this hotel because of the Front Desk Staff that treated us unfairly. We booked and paid this trip with expedia a month prior the travel date, and when we got there the front desk personnel told us that they were "full, over sold", no room available for us. They blamed on Expedia, saying that it was their fault. They told us that they were going to send us to another hotel Riu Macao. We refused to accept that showing them the confirmation paper, proving that we were suppost to get a room at Riu Palace Punta Cana. It said on our confirmation paper that Expedia confirmed our reservation with the property. The front desk personnel were laughing at us, saying that they had nothing to do with this situation....After minutes of unecessary stress, without any choice, we accepted spending a night at Riu Macao with the promise to go back to Riu Punta Cana the next day. After a day and a half of stress we went back to Riu Palace. Getting a hotel that you booked and paid a month in advance and finding out they are oversold is very frustating and unfair.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Horror vacation

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The hotel Riu Punta Cana Palace was over booked, I waited in line at the check- in desk for three hours surrounded by angry guest complaining of dirty rooms and lack of rooms. Later I found out there was no room for my wife and I. After another hour we were sent to Riu Palace Macao which was beautiful, friendly staff, clean property. During my stay I met dozens of patrons from Riu Palace Punta Cana that hated that hotel. You would think for my inconvenience, I would have been up graded or compensated. But no not even an apology. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my enemies. It's not worth the headache. If your not traveling with children go to Macao, but be aware this is a laid back environment for mature vacationers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami, fla.

Arrived at hotel, the air condition was broken!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The beach, however all the hotels have a beach!!!
Cons: The rooms, liquor, food, casino ( if you can call it a casino), and bars.
Location: Had to take a taxi to the hard rock hotel in order to go to a decent casino and drink good liquor!!
Air condition not working was finally move to another room the next day, was asked to come back at 100p had to leave the beach to go take care of this issue. Had to move all my belongings, from one room to another. The quality of food was fair, the hotel is old and needs to be remodeled. The entertainment was average, the liquor was terrible, the bar staff needs to be retrained, they don't know how to fix drinks, the casino has a total of 10 slots, no tables, etc, the only bar that was open 24 hrs, which they call a sports bar was old and depressing!!!!!i would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy I go almost every year to punta Cana, and there are much better hotels. This was my first time staying at this hotel and the last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Built nicely having swimming pool close to beach. The entertainment activities were excellent.
Cons: Although gratuities are included almost everyone expect tip for better service. Vegetarians do not have better options. Some rooms are smelly.
Over all we enjoyed our stay at Riu Palace Punta Cana. All hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Beach is kept clean by the staff. We had no issues finding chairs on the beach for all 3 days of our stay. Pool activities and beach activities are enjoyable. Nightly entertainment is also fun. Some tipping is expected to get better service. Some rooms have strong smell which front desk helped us moved to different wing and we were happy. The location of the resort is very good in the middle of other resorts and about 30 minutes from airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

First time in Punta Cana

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly service, beautiful beach.
Cons: There was a lack of variety of food in the buffet.
This was our first time in Punta Cana and we were traveling as a family of four. We are very pleased with our stay at Riu Palace Punta Cana. We have been to different Riu hotels before in Cancun. The beach and the sand were great, and there were a lot of palm trees on the shore that created shade. The staff was very friendly and willing to help. We celebrated our younger daughter's birthday and it turned out amazing. We told the staff a day before that we would like a cake for her birthday, but we ended up getting so much more. The table was set beautifully with red candles, rose petals,flowers, and balloons. The entire staff came out singing "happy birthday" when they brought in the cake. The entire trip was a great experience. The only negative thing was that there was a lack of variety of food in the buffet, we often ate the same foods everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, Ky

Perfect honeymoon

Posted Aug 3, 2014
My husband and I totally enjoyed our stay at RIU Palace Punta Cana for our honeymoon. We felt like royalty our whole trip as the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We will be back as soon as possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from Texas

Excellent place.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Great place for every family. Service and attention to detail are great. Every one is nice and have great attitude. Buffet is delicious and huge selection every day. My teen son had the best time, Met lots of young people and spend the time trying all the great activities the hotel offers inclusive. Music after dinner and the shows were amazing and fun.