Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, one caveat

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Everything about the stay was pretty incredible. The hotel and beach are gorgeous, the food is good (for an all inclusive). The staff was great, except for the fact that we had several items removed from our room, including our passports, without our knowledge. After angrily speaking with management we were lectured that we should have been putting our things in the safe, and we were finally informed that they were in possession of the items and gave them back in an envelope. truly great experience that was close to ruined by a very unapologetic management.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable vacation

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Pool area and professionalism of staff.
Just spent 5 days at the Riu Palace Punta Cana. The staff was excellent and service great. Rooms were only average and no view. Pool area was well laid out and restaurants comfortable, but food was only average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, ny

I love it

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Front desk
Location: Swimming with dolphins near by
Everything is great : food , service, beach , entertainment
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Food was very basic, deep/over fried. The breakfast, lunch, and dinner menu was repeated everyday for all 5 days we were there. There were flies all over the resort. In the rooms, at the restaurant, near the pool, literally everywhere. Terrible experience. We considered RIU because of the ratings however, it turned out to be horrible. Wouldn't suggest it to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2015
The weather was great! We enjoyed the pool, the ocean, and the drinks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

AMAZING HOTEL

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Hands down, THE BEST MOST FRIENDLY STAFF!!!! I can say the not even one person I could complain about. They were ALL VERY FUN and PROFESSIONAL!
Cons: WiFi was pain to connect to, and expired every 2 hours. In order to save on cell bill, and talk to my son via FaceTime while my parents watched him.
Location: I would NOT leave the resort UNLESS it's with an organized "excursion" via hotel recommended (which I did and it was a very boat trip - Saona Island).
If I were to go back to Punta Cana, I would FOR SURE stay at RIU Palace Punta Cana. GREAT TIP: I didn't know until later after meeting a guy there (who'd been there 4 times at different RIU hotels) told me. RIU has a "group" of hotels all on the same "land" neighboring each other along the same stretch of beach. So what RIU allows you to do is stay at any one of their hotels (you get a wrist-band for YOUR hotel), but you can go to and use all of the OTHER hotels facilities, pools, food, etc too. You just have to sleep and stay in your same room at the hotel you "signed up for". So what this means is, you can spend the day at a different hotel each day if you want. The RIU PALACE PUNTA CANA has the the BEST pool for sure. So, if you find a cheaper room at one of the sister hotels, you can just sleep there and spend your time at this one. Also, I've been told that this hotel is one of the ONLY hotels that will bring you drinks while laying out on their beach, even the other RIU sister hotels do not (but talk about it coming to others). This hotel also has several FANCY NICE restaurants (FOR FREE) separate from the regular buffet food. The catch is you MUST make a reservation early in the morning between 7-11 inside the Italian Restaurant (for all the restaurant reservations). These book up fast, so do this all when you first arrive for the whole time you're there. They have a steak place, Japanese, Italian, and a few others. Bottom line, you will NOT be disappointed!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel, food for all tastes, staff wonderful.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The staff was awesome, the food great. Did not care too much for Japanese, rodizio, or steakhouse. Better choices in main dining area.
Cons: The mattresses and pillows.
Location: Mainly stated in hotel. Most activities require a bus ride or cab.
Never stayed at all inclusive before. Pleasantly surprised by the hotel and entire staff. Everyone friendly and willing to accommodate all our needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio TX

The hotel was by the beach and it was clean.

Posted Jun 11, 2015
The hotel staff was great! The room was clean and the beach was clean as well. The hotel is large and very well kept. It has 24hrs room service and the pool bar is awesome!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stay at Rui palace

Posted Jun 8, 2015
This was our second time here there were some challenges this year. The staff did not have our room ready and seemed to not understand English asking for a wake up call was a waste of time they never called. Beds and pillows were hard and no blankets. My husband is very warm natured and I am cold . Staff for entertainment and buffet were excelant. Do not eat at special dinners. This food is the worst. But if you go at 630 setting you can always go to buffet after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great beach

Posted Jun 5, 2015
The whole Riu family of hotels are wonderful. Beautiful Caribbean, beach, waiter coming around the beach with water constantly, server coming around with fresh fruit in the afternoon. Wonderful experience