Ratings based on 1,426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farnham Surrey

The Perfect Location for the Perfect Trip.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The Hotel is close to most of the major sites with the Vatican also walk able if you fancy a stroll.( Just take a bottle of water with you!) The staff were very friendly and helpful and if you have the chance, visit the Circus restaurant on the 5th Floor. The location, view and food was an unexpected but welcome treat. It was also my birthday and whilst it was not announced it must have been noted at check in time as I found some cake and a note of best wishes when I returned to my room. I could not fault the whole trip and would recommend Rome and Hotel 47 to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Extremely pleasant stay

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Very nice hotel close to coliseum and forum that had all the amenities of a large hotel in a boutique feel. Staff went out of their way to be helpful and were accommodating with any request. Rooftop restaurant had outstanding menu with excellent service. Room service menu also excellent which was important as there were few eateries nearby. The front desk was able to order a cab which arrived within minutes to take us to the Vatican. we easily walked to Trevi Fountain with map assistance within 25 minutes. We were given a room with a balcony with a beautiful view. The room was very clean with firm mattress and quality sheets. All in all an excellent 2 night stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nienhagen

Stylisches Hotel nahe Travestere!

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Sehr zentral gelegenes Hotel nahe Colosseum und Circus Massimo. Alle Sehenswürdigkeiten sind gut zu Fuß zu bewältigen. Insbesondere der Stadtteil Travestere, hier gibt es viele Bars und gute Essgelegenheiten, ist in greifbarer Nähe. Die Hopp on Hopp Tour mit dem Bus ist nicht zu empfehlen, wenn ja, reicht auf jeden Fall ein Tag um alles zu sehen. Vom Hotel aus lässt das aber auch zu Fuß erkunden, es sieht auf dem Stadtplan weiter aus als es ist, selbst den Vatikan kann man bequem in 35 - 40 Minuten erreichen. Das Hotel ist sehr zu empfehlen, Frühstückbuffet sehr gut, man kann auch im schönen Innenhof frühstücken, Zimmer sehr sauber, Personal spricht auch Englisch und war sehr hilfsbereit und freundlich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitby Ontario, Canada

History on the doorstep

Posted Jun 17, 2015
This boutique hotel has been on my list of places to try. I have seen many thrilled guests complement the hotel for location, staff helpfulness and honest special care shown . Recommending sights to see and mapping directions to take to best save time and see the amazing city. I had finally booked to visit it and was excited to enjoy a wonderful stay. After a cruise and stay in Sorrento and all the beautiful places we travelled to , I was really looking forward to celebrating my birthday at the Forty- Seven and since years of reviewing it made me confident that it would be the best place to do so with confidence in it being special. Upon our arrival, and help in with our luggage ( which was needed due to front stairs), we found the reception staff were wonderful, but our room was a disappointment due to it's 2 nd fl location , with no view at all. A modern large functional room but housekeeping had missed some rather needed cleaning in the washroom which I decided to clean myself and not complain. I asked for a higher up room with a possible view but was told that due to booking through Expedia classic room this was what we paid for. It was the most expensive room in our travels and disappointing. I had prebooked dinner reservations to guarantee a nice special birthday meal with a rooftop view of the ancient temples across from the hotel. It was spectacular for the view , wonderful food and most expensive meal we had in Italy . A happy birthday wish would have been nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United States

Great hotel next to main sights

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Proximity to sights Breakfast Staff Room size
Location: Colloseum, Roman Forum, etc.
This hotel was lovely. We had a large room which also had a large bathroom. Breakfast was good and staff was friendly. Only complaint was that the shower was clogged up. Airport shuttle was on time and this is wonderful location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Top hotel in a location to match

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Everything. Staff, building, amenities, location - ticked every box. We'll go back to Rome again & won't hesitate to stay here again.
Cons: We've stayed in plenty and really wouldn't wish them to change anything here - for us it was just perfect.
Location: See above. Only needed 4 wheels to get to the Vatican otherwise you can walk to all the sights, shops & restaurants you could wish to view.
Spotted great reviews about Hotel 47 and picked it because of its location. Lovely welcoming & helpful staff, without exception! Nothing too much trouble, fab restaurant on the top floor to watch the sunset after a long day of sightseeing. Vast bedroom with great en-suite, excellent buffet breakfast to start the day.5 mins walk from the Coliseum/Palatine Hill/Roman Forum. 10mins walk to the main shopping street. Over the bridge opposite the hotel to the Trastevere Area for bars, restaraunts etc. 20 mins walk to Campo de Fiori for really fun al fresco dining with a bustling market & more (better priced) boutique shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Great location, nice staff, good rooms and would recommend to everyone, especially those who plan trip to Rome for tourist purposes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Grove, UT previously of Southern Italy

Beautiful hotel with a convenient location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Cons: Mention to all guests that tours of the city start at 7:30 AM and ask if they are interested.
I choose this hotel largely on the location since it is centralized between many of the major sight seeing venues in Rome. I was pleasantly surprised on the quality of the hotel and rooms. This was our last stop on our 18 day jaunt around Northern Europe and Italy, and it was by far the nicest and most comfortable hotel on our trip. The hotel was in fact perfectly situated near the Colosseum, Forum, Key Hole, and other sites. It was within 45 minutes walking distance of the Vatican. The only thing you will want to do when you arrive is ask about the available tours. Many start early in the morning and we missed them since the receptionist didn't bring them to our attention. Most of the tours will pick you up, but not bring you back, so prepare to call a taxi or walk back to the hotel. Other than these two items our stay was near perfect. The breakfast was amazingly good, not the largest selection of those that were offered at previously visited hotels, but by far the highest quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haiger

5 Tage Rom

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Wir waren 5 Tage da und würden dieses Hotel immer wieder buchen. Der Service war hervorragend. Frühstück im schönen Innenhof und hervoragendes Zimmer. Klimaanlage lief am Tag so das es abends kühl war, super. Das Restaurant in der Dachterasse ist hervorragend mit Bar. Wir haben uns einen Abend gegönnt und ein wunderbares Essen bekommen. Abends kann man sich ein Getränk mit in den Innenhof holen. Lage ist super, Abends über die Strasse und Brücke und schon ist man mitten zwischen Pizzerias und Nachleben. Zum Colloseum, Forum Maximum einmal um die Ecke ( 20min). wir konnten nach dem Auschecken die Koffer imHotel lassen und sogar vor dm Flug noch duschen und Kaffee trinken. Das war wirklich super toll. Fitnessraum ist auch top! nachts hört man die Strasse wie ein Rauschen, aber Ohropax gehört für uns auf jeder Reise eh dazu. Alles zusammen, wir können es nur empfehlen
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Hidden Gem Steps Away from the Colosseum

Posted Jun 8, 2015
We only stayed at the 47 for one night but it was a pleasant stay. The hotel was extremely helpful in giving us tips on things to do and where to buy tickets. The hotel is walking distance to the Colosseum and they even helped us arrange our transfers to and from the hotel! We had a great stay!