Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
by Joe from Florida
Nice hotel, but rude desk clerk ruined my opinion.Posted Oct 5, 2013
Spent two days at the hotel prior to a tour. Nice hotel and nice location. But when I checked out, I was verbally advised of my additional bar purchases which I payed for by credit card. When I was handed the printed statement, I noted that there was a 18,50 Euro charge for a 'Figobar'. When told it was the room mini fridge, I told the clerk I did not know the room even had a mini fridge, let alone use anything from. The clerk then glared at me and said I had already agreed to the charges. I responded that I misunderstood his verbal characterizations of the bar charges, but I was in a hurry to catch a train and let the charge stand. I resent be taken advantage of as a 'dumb' tourist and did not have the time to rectify the situation/charge. Needless to say, I would not recommend this hotel.
Recommendedby A verified traveler from Delray Beach, Florida
Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
No problems with our stay at the Cicerone Hotel, Rome, Italy. It is in an ideal location with many optional bus services directly across the street from the hotel. It is in a lively part of Rome and not overly crowded by large tourist groups. There are many independent shops, restaurants, cafes within easily walking distance. O.K with me as it was our third stay at the hotel.
Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
for Personal Eventby JB from New Zeland
HolidayPosted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was comfortable, and it was a great location. Breakfast was good however eggs were often cold so although usually me choice I avoided.
for Everyoneby dOREY from PALM BEACH GARDENS, FLORIDA,USA
REALLY REALLY PLEASEDPosted Aug 24, 2013
Pros: THE BREAKFAST, STAFF, LOCATION
Cons: MAYBE A SHOWER CURTAIR INSTEAD OF THAT GLASS WOBBLY THING THAT LETS THE FLOOR GET ALL WET <3
Location: EVERYTHING IS IN WALKING DISTANCE... SERIOUSLY GREAT LOCATION.
GREAT BREAKFAST BUFFET. REALLY FRIENDLY HELPFUL STALL. BEAUTIFUL BAR AREA ( I DONT DRINK THOUGH) TREES COMING IN FROM FLOOR GOING THROUGH ROOF. REALLY PKRETTY. DID I MENTION THE BREAKFAST:) 4TH FLOOR 2 HOT TUBS VIEW OF ACROPOLIS, 5TH FLOOR ROOF TOP RESTURANT. ROOM TRIES TO BE MODEREN:) GOOD HOT WATER. AIRS GOOD. ASK FOR 2 KEYS THOUGH BC U HAVE TO PLUG THE KEY IN THE WALL FOR THE LIGHTS AND AIR AS SOON AS U TAKE IT OUT THE ELECTRIC SHUTS OFF... SO WE LEFT ONE KEY PLUGGED IN ALL THE TIME. DONT FORGET YOUR PLUG CONVERTER IF U ARE FROM US EXT. REALLY IT'S A GREAT HOTEL I'M VERY PLEASED( IM HARD TO PLEASE;)
by Allen from Philadelphia, PA
Clearly not worthy of a four star ratingPosted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: The neighborhood.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Good location for Vatican, Trastevere, Piazza Espagna and other sites which were in walking distance. There was also a good shopping street.
The hotel struggled with routine issues such as air conditioning not working and wireless not working. We had two rooms. In one the AC worked fine and did not work in the other. The hotel's response was to claim it was working fine. The wireless was out for most if our stay and we paid extra so it was included in the room price. This was "a Swisscom problem" and not their's. even when it was finally fixed 2/3 into our stay it was not working more than it was. The hotel took no responsibility. Finally they recommended a Vatican tour for 61 Euro per person with no lines. However, we were picked up from the hotel at 1:30, were driven all over Rome and didn't start the tour until 4:00. We could have easily walked to the Vatican, waited in a very short line paid 16 Euro per person plus a few Euro to rent a portable speaker to do a self guided tour and would have had a much better experience versus our your guide who was difficult to understand even before the batteries in my receiver went out (they had no replacements available mid tour). I have been to the Vatican several times before and wanted the tour for my son and his friend. Needless to say they did not have a good experience. I heartily recommend you stay elsewhere in Rome!!
for Everyoneby charli from brisbane, Australia
Nice hotel, superb positionPosted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: The location and staff.
Cons: Refurbish hotel and bring it up to date!
Location: Excellent location. Close to everythingwithin walking distance of main sights and attractions.
I would stay here again. The hotel is a bit dated but has everything you need, spacious room with own bathroom. Staff were super friendly and make you feel right at home! The location is quite central (within 15 minutes walk of the Vatican City and bus tours). For what you pay it is excellent value!
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
Pleasant and clean hotel.Posted Jul 18, 2013
Hotel is in a very good neighbourhood, close to Vatican and I would say walking distance to other attractions. Nothing too fancy about the hotel but clean and pleasant rooms, helpful staff. We stayed twice in different times and if we go back to Rome again, we would prefer to stay there than some unknown location.
for Everyoneby A verified traveler
CiceronePosted Jul 8, 2013
Overall, pleased. GREAT LOCATION...10mins from Vatican, 5mins from shops, 5mins from metro station
for Everyoneby Elizabeth from Australia
RomePosted Jul 7, 2013
Location: Very quiet but central
Hotel badly needs refurbishing. Old carpets and rooms need updating