Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great surprise

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Four of us (two adults, two kids, ages 10 & 12) spent a night at GA en route out of town from a ski trip to Park City. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It is more traditional than modern, which is not usually our style, but we loved the place. The upkeep is impeccable and the spa and pool, and amenities generally were fantastic. We also loved the fact that our room - an executive suite - had the two queen beds separated from the sitting area, where one could read, check email, etc., without disturbing those sleeping in the adjacent area. We will definitely return on vacation and if I am in town for work, I will definitely stay at the GA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely spacious and elegant

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Very beautiful decorations and hotel in general with some nice restaurants and bars and shops on the bottom floor. Nice views of the city of your room is on a higher floor. Also nice central location easy to hop on the free train and get around or walking is not too far either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Exceptional guest service by each staff member we encountered. The hotel is spectacular. Looking forward to our next stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, MB, Canada

Wow. Deluxe hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 27, 2015
This feels like a proper luxury high-end hotel but the price is quite reasonable. It is a bit of a walk to downtown (15-20 minutes) and a bit of a walk to 900 S if you want some third-wave coffee. But the wonderful stay actually makes the walk worthwhile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City

Lovely Stay-Cation for our Anniversary

Posted Mar 23, 2015
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend spent at the Grand America. We booked a room for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary, and all staff and facilities were excellent. I'm a local, so I've had already visited the hotel for conferences/dining several times, so it was really nice to spend a night there as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston TX

Best hotel in downtown Salt Lake City

Posted Mar 17, 2015
The experience is very consistent year to year. They just don't build hotels like this anymore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Long Weekend Ski Trip

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Staff, Decor, Room Size and Cleanliness
Cons: Better restaurant options
Location: Ski resorts, good downtown restaurants
This hotel is wonderful, everything is top notch and the staff couldn't be friendlier. The location was also great with easy access to Park City and Little Cottonwood Canyon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
A divine place to escape to. Grand in every way. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom utah

Convenient location

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Location is perfect to visit downtown Salt Lake City. Transportation and parking very convenient. Spa inside hotel is wonderful.
Cons: Complete inspection of rooms before checking in new guests.
Location: Train is right in front of hotel with free fare to downtown where shopping, sports activities, restaurants are located.
Overall this hotel is great. I booked two rooms for one night. One room had not been vacuumed to my expectations. Snacks from previous guest had been left on the carpet. Appeared to be a cheese snack and also popcorn kernels under the television cabinet. For the price paid to reserve the hotel room, I was disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City, Michigan

Loved it

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Took the light rail in from the airport right to the hotel. Doormen, concierge, professional and helpful staff. A five star is about the details. Keys, not cards. Afternoon tea with a harpist. Fantastic room service. Great breakfast in the Garden Cafe. I ran into Sylvia McNair as I was about to head back to the airport. She and her mini-entourage had just checked out. The King's Singers were guests while I was there, as well. If it's good enough for them... I loved my spacious king room with classic furnishings and a view of the mountains. I'd go back in a heartbeat.