Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and cozy...

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Locale and atomosphere
Loved every minute of the stay. Staff was very friendly. Locale was great with shops and restaurants intermixed...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: I liked the location
Cons: Maybe hot food at breakfast
Location: Beach, Hotel Del Coronado, bars, shops and restaurants.
Perfect location. Right across front he Del Coronado and as close as you can get to the beach. Just a short walk. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: charm and location
Cons: windows need to close. ALL THREE of mine were unable to close
This hotel has a lot of charm. It is close to everything and you can self park if you want. None of the windows in my room actually closed tight, but I felt safe. The staff, particularly at breakfast, was so friendly and accomidating, that I would definitely reccomend this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Santa Monica

Beach Adjacent Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location to bus station and beach, friendly staff, access to free parking. Room size.
Cons: Solve flooring issues for 2nd floor rooms. Figure out how to cool both rooms.
Location: We were there for Comic Con, Took free ferry to other side, restaurants close at 9:50. Great proximity to Beach.
Interesting hotel, it's across the street from the Hotel Del, the staff is nice, and they ask you to park in the residential areas which is FREE, yes FREE, that is a huge savings. The rooms are what you expect for a beach area boutique they are as clean as the can be. We were on the second floor (no elevator) and they are steep steps with low railing. And the carpet was not great. But being by the beach carpet is going to be not great. The Bottom floor has wood, but understandable since you can't wood on top so it won't be so loud for downstairs. They have a litte continental breakfast set-up which is fine. The location is great the people are nice. And I think all the reviews will say the same the problem is if you are expecting a 4 star squeeky clean place it's not that. Would we stay again, probably. The rooms are huge and they have a separate living room which is huge. And they have a full stocked kitchen stove, sink and dishes. In our room there was only a wall AC unit in the living room so the bedroom had no ac and was pretty hot. Overal for Coronado pretty happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Quaint hotel near the beach.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Quaint and authentic decor. Rooms were large. Liked having a kitchen for keeping snacks and drinks.
Cons: Expected noise in an older hotel;
Location: Beach very close and accessible. Restaurants nearby were great and a large variety. The retail store nearby not really kid friendly.
Parking in the neighborhoods was okay, not too far away. Beach close, easy walk. Nice to have breakfast at the hotel, esp. with kids ... Continental with good choices, great service and very nice patio made for enjoyable mornings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Not a cookie cutter hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2015
This is a great little place. It's quirky,not every hotel is wrapped around a Mexican food restaurant. You feel like you are in a small village. The rooms are quaint and each is different. The staff is great. Location to beach and shops is perfect. I chose a deluxe room with no kitchenette,it would be nice to have a mini fridge for water or other drinks. Also, no glasses only paper cups for coffee which do not keep water cold. Not a big deal but would have been more ideal. BIG drawback to Coronado in general is parking. I'm from Texas and am not used to having a hotel with no parking. It took me over an hour to find a space. Once I found one it stayed be cause you can walk everywhere. The overall experience was great, will go back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tubac

Great location but too noisy

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The room was mediocre . Beds are terribly uncomfortable . Very noisy . Miguel's restaurant is excellent to eat at however as a hotel guest it's so noisy. Can't sleep until restaurant closes. Staff was great. Continental breakfast was nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Good location but other than that, it is not worth

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The location is good.
Location: Centrally located so easy to walk to restaurants near by.
Thankfully the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has no parking so they tell you to park at a meter. The next day we came out to our car that was parked in front of the hotel and there was a "car will be towed" sign. We ended up parking three blocks away from the hotel which was very inconvenient. Hotel is surrounded by a Mexican restaurant which is very loud. We listened to kids yelling, people talking, and dishes banging until very late in the night. The room is located directly over the air vent to the restaurant and the bedroom vibrated and was loud all night (Room #85) and started back up the next morning at 4:00 a.m. We got no sleep. The next day the staff moved us to another room which was not as loud but we could still hear our neighbors and people at the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

The El Cordova Hotel is charming

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Just about everything...
Cons: Hard to say...if anything, the continental breakfast could be more imaginative.
Location: Everything! Del & beach across the street. 904 Bus is free to/from the ferry. Tons of restaurants...try STAKE down the street for Happy Hour.
In fact, we have decided to make it our 'go to' place when in the San Diego area. Staff are very responsive and caring. They want you to have a memorable visit and go out of their way to make it so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, TN

Our Honeymoon

Posted Jun 7, 2015
We found the stay at the El Cordova to be more rewarding than we hoped for. Great area, close to cute shops, good food, the Beach and the Harbor full of boats for an excellent price. We will cherish this festive and joyful place in our newly married life as a special place, and look forward to returning.