Ratings based on 743 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very pleased!

Posted May 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Resort property close to many attractions. Spanish villa style that is an amazing backdrop to a great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful weekend getaway. The only negative was that an abundance of children overtook the pool area and disrupted the quiet, spa-like ambiance. There were several weddings taking place on site which might have led to this. Otherwise it was near perfect
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Joseph from Los Angeles

Not for singles or couples looking to relax

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is unquestionably nice and the staff was friendly, which is what I expect when I pay a room rate of about $250 plus $22 resort fee per day plus $25 parking per day plus taxes. However, my fiance and I very much did not enjoy the fact that you simply could not spend time by the pool without approximately 30 children canon-balling into the pool and jacuzzi and screaming and shrieking. This is so despite the fact that the hotel placed a sign saying kids under 14 are not allowed in the jacuzzi. The staff did not enforce the rule so the kids had free reign. If you try to come later and avoid the kids, the pool area closes at 10 pm and you can't enjoy the jacuzzi and beautiful fireplace in peace and quiet without being kicked out by security. The hotel is several miles away from La Jolla village but the drive is very easy and without traffic. Overall, I would rate the hotel as only satisfactory given how many kids were there, only one pool and jacuzzi area (and therefore no separation at all from the kids), and the very mediocre restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 2, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind words about our overall service and product. However, we are very sorry about your experience at the pool. I have shared your feedback with the Operations Team and I know we are revisiting policies and procedures to better manage the pool experience on busy weekends. Thank you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by sorry no name from sorry no locatio

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Thought it was great. Our first room was next to a room where work was being done and very noisy. When Sean brought our luggage he immediately called the front desk for us and had them reassign us to a room that was very quiet. That was a great gesture on his part to go the extra mile for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by al from riverside, ca

Great escape

Posted May 24, 2014
It was nice but didn't like the valet or the 20 dollar fee that you have to pay. But other then that it was a nice hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2014
We had a warm, comfortable experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A beautiful place to relax!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Danielle Becker from Los Angeles, CA

Beautiful Property

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an amazing stay and the hotel is beautiful. The rooms are a bit small and our AC did not work and they could not seem to fix it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Brittany, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4-Star Review. We are very sorry about the A/C and have alerted our Engineering Team. They will certainly investigate the issue further. We are very happy to hear that despite the A/C not working you had an amazing stay. We hope to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Clinton from Arizona

good location, awesome hotel, horrible valet setup

Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Everything was excellent except like the other reviews staited, the noise from the floors above was a bit much but still doable, just weird that everything was so perfect but they forgot to insulate the ceilings... other than that everything was perfect except the valet, we were not aware that it was a valet only property and its a $25 a day fee for the service plus tips, from the minute we arrived it was horrible... totally unprofessional, demanding and confrontational for no reason except something they rambled off about fire code and how we werent aloud to hold our own keys even for a moment to walk in to check in, awful experience, their was one kid (sean) who was exceptional the other 4 or 5 we had threatened to ruin everyday, had a great time other than everytime we needed access to our car, when we checked out they would not let us use a cart out front to go to our room without a valet guy but said it would be at least a 20 minute wait to get somebody there although the carts were not being used just sitting there, so after multiple trips up and down stairs with ice chests and luggage and a full body sweaty workout right after the hottub... When you go on a getaway the last thing you want is confrontation or anxiety and especially grueling work. In their defense it was not the place just the kids out front. George @ the front desk was incredible and also a hotel mngr Aarron was exceptional and tried to compensate us to make everything right. Thanks Aarron