Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Great location, service and staff.
Cons: lower price on parking would be great.
Close to Little Italy and easy to get around. Great restaurant and the view from the top floor is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would recommend it

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The room was very affordable and very clean. It was a great value and only one mile away from Gaslamp if you're looking to stay after a night out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from burlington, ontario Canada

Three day stay

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Cons: New air/C.Also on the website it said there was a fitness center,one of the reasons we booked when we got there they said it was closed for the summer
Location: Walkable to many places
Close to many things to see, excellent location. Air conditioner goes on and off. An old window box type. Nice look out patio on the top,floor where we stayed. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown, PA

This hotel has some beautiful views.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel was the perfect size.Not too large, not too small to not have the amenities you want.Without asking our room was upgraded to a 2 room suite.
Cons: The housekeeping staff was overburdened.They could have used more help in that. And they did not have extra luggage racks upon request.Also slow wifi.
Location: The Bay is only 4 blocks away. Beautiful views from this hotel. One block down is India Street- awesome restaurants. And Nelson Photo for camera help.
We had a 10 day stay in San Diego with 9 nights spent at the Porto Vista Hotel. Overall, it was a decent choice for a hotel. We went into this vacation with extremely high hopes. Our problem was that we had to book 7 months out to take the vacation. For everyone who reads this review please take into account that we went to San Diego for Comic Con 2014. That should tell you right off the bat that things in San Diego were not normal for at least part of our stay. For anyone who does not know, this is the largest pop culture convention in the US. Thousands upon thousands of people crowd into this beautiful city for a 4 day stretch of time. The city has no choice but to push through the onslaught, and live to talk about it. The Porto Vista is approximately 1 mile from the Gaslamp/ Convention Center area. It is just a touch too far to walk for most people and the shuttle was filled quite often due to the guests headed to the Con. The Hotel is located only 1 block up from many wonderful restaurants along India Street. Take advantage of this. The food at the Glass Door was decent. I would not rave over it, but it was close at hand. And stay away from their coffee- Trust me! They had a coin laundry room which I used. Very helpful. The roof top deck was also very nice. You'll want to check that out. They also have an ATM machine with a cheaper service charge than many of the bank machines you'll find. The hotel was clean and they were very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from SD

Nice but low water pressure

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: spacious room!
Cons: water pressure
Location: every saturday morning there is a farmer's market.
clean, friendly, and spacious. the shower water pressure extremely low.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Problems

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Floors in both rooms soaked from leaky air conditioner. Light fixture above bathroom sink hanging off wall. Hotel staff made every effort to fix situation but had to move 3 times. Key cards also not working. Basic room was bad. Upgrade necessary for a decent room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

An OK hotel with few funny aspects of it.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The washroom was pretty nice
Cons: decoration in the interior, it is pretty poor and simple
Location: The location is good, close to everything
The hotel was nice and clean, although I found later that you can get much better places for the same money or less. The room that I got had a huge poster of four girls trying to be sexy.. I would have chosen to have a huge picture of 4 guys instead. I was wondering if they gave me that room based on the fact that I am a guy or if randomly they have just weird posters of girls in bikini on the walls. The place is comfortable, well located and clean. The person who received me at the garage entrance told me that I could park outside of the hotel for free and he showed me the spot, I did not see any parking sign and I assumed he knew the rules. I had to pay a 60 dollar ticket because he gave me wrong information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice bay location and Little Italy shopping

Posted Aug 5, 2014
This hotel is the nicest hotel with exterior doors I have ever stayed in. The only access to rooms was through the front lobby so it felt safe. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is garage parking but with an over sized vehicle I had to park on the street which would have dropped it a star but the friendly valets did help me park. The bar is very nice but no pool kept it from getting 5 stars.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, small rooms.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
With two adults and a child a small room is the last thing you want. No room to operate. Everything else was to be expected from a run of the mill hotel. Ok shower, somewhat comfortable bed. Staff was super friendly though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures nicer than room and property.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Views
Cons: Better quality towels, pictures that actually depict the room and property, get rid of the musty odor in the room.
Location: Little Italy
I had to make last minute hotel reservations and decided to take a chance with Porto Vista Hotel. The location of the hotel is great because it is in the heart of Little Italy. The views from the restaurant and roof are amazing. The room and bathroom was a disappointment. There was a musty odor and the towels were thin. Parking is $22.00/day. I paid for parking the first night, but found street parking the rest of my stay. The one elevator is extremely slow.