Ratings based on 1,629 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Disappointing

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Room was clean.
Cons: Do not advertise that this is kid friendly.
Location: Lots of restaurants nearby (walking distance). Quaint little town with lots of character.
This hotel is advertised as "kid friendly" but I didn't see anything on the premises that made it kid friendly. For example, the large picture frames in the rooms were of women in bikinis; you can smell cigarette smoke all throughout the open hallways; and there was no place for a kid to hang out or play. Second, they only have valet parking at the hotel for $22 per night which you would be forced to do since parking on the streets is really challenging. Third, they charged my credit card in error (over $100 worth). I'm not sure if they would have even caught their error had I not brought it to their attention. If you have kids, this is not the hotel for you. If you're single and you smoke, then this will work for you. Just make sure you review your credit card charges carefully.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Regina, SK

Great Location

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: They should lighten the colours
Location: India street - food.
The Porto Vista hotel is more like a Motel. The bed was comfortable, and the room was small - but the location was great. The staff was pleasant, but the room had no VISTA or view - unless you cocked your head out to see the entry to the area of rooms - which is in a 'kind of' alcove over a parking lot. Like I keep saying - the location is fantastic if you like to walk to great food on India street - two blocks away from the trolley and a pleasant walk (if you like to walk) to Balboa Park and downtown. We even walked to the Gaslamp area. Would I stay again? Probably, if I stayed in this area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NorCal

keep expectations in line

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: better linens, bath and bed. Improve room cleanliness.
Location: Good restaurants in walking distance.
Minimal Motel with an Hotel facade. Rooms spartan, zero amenities. Nice helpful staff. nice location in Little Italy. I guess you get what you pay for, but barely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, B.C.

Friendly hotel in a good location with shuttle.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Location was great. Most staff were very friendly. The reception/lobby was pretty, as was the restaurant. It had a new tv and was clean.
Cons: We had a couple of small things wrong with the room i.e. dripping tap and noise sometimes from toilet. Balcony had no furniture.
Location: Many great restaurants nearby. Little Italy was pretty. On Sat. there was a great market for several blocks. Also a lovely art gallery.
My friends and I enjoyed our experience. The Glass Door had great breakfasts and we returned there for late night drinks. One night we had dinner there. Closing time of the bar seemed to depend on how busy they were. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was great to have the shuttle to and from the airport. They often gave us directions and called cabs for us when needed. It was so close to India St., where there were a lot of nice restaurants, also some nice shops on Fir St. We walked to Seaport Village and to different buses/trolleys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, decor and staff.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness and comfort of the room. They also have a nice bar with an awesome view.
Cons: I wish it had a pool but that's what the beach is for!
Location: Shopping, dining, art galleries and great views of the ocean.
I've stayed at this hotel 3 times and enjoyed it each time. The location is great. The Little Italy area is very cute and has a great centralized location. The front desk staff was exceptional and our room was clean, comfortable and boasts a lovely contemporary decor. I look forward to staying here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't be fooled - this place is a low-budget hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The shuttle driver was friendly and helpful.
Cons: Tons of sound dampening is needed, ask the staff not to yell to each other in the morning, get quiter roller carts for your laundry
Location: Close to restaurants
From the description I was expecting something nice, and a bit swanky perhaps. Instead the room came with only 1 hanger to hang up my clothes. The room was very loud and I could hear everything happening around. The staff were loud in the morning as they started their cleaning nearby. The toilet was hard to flush and often didn't flush all the way. Overall, I was pretty disappointed and won't be staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The staff are very friendly, helpful. I always recommend this hotel to friends and family ..
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

By FAR the Worst Hotel I stayed in!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
By far the WORST hotel I stayed in, customer service was horrible, the place is very run down and dated. Pay the extra money and stay somewhere else!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel in der Nähe von Downtown

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Nettes Hotel in Little Italy (Nähe Downtown), Trolley und Bus sind von dort aus gut erreichbar, das Personal war sehr nett, das Zimmer war recht sauber, einziges Manko: Flughafen in der Nähe (mit Ohropax ging´s) ;) )
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel in der Nähe von Downtown

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Zentrale Lage, Freundlichkeit des Personals
Vom Hotel aus ist Downtown zu Fuß erreichbar, die Trolley ist auch gleich in der Nähe, das Personal ist sehr nett, einziges Manko: Hotel ist in der Nähe vom Flughafen (mit Ohropax ging´s aber ;) )