Ratings based on 1,625 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice boutique hotel great for Dreamforce

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the convenient location close to Union Square and the Dreamforce conference locations.
Location: It's two blocks from Saks Fifth Avenue and a short walk from the Powell BART train station. It's easy to get to the Moscone convention center, too.
This was my first time attending the Dreamforce conference and was hoping to select a nice hotel that is a comfortable walking distance from Moscone and the Dreamforce conference hotels. While it is a 15 minute walk from Moscone, it was still conveniently located in my opinion. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and they upgraded my room at no charge upon my arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We really do have the best staff and I am glad you got an upgrade. Thanks again and I hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis, TN

This is not as nice as other Kimpton Hotels

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The workout room was good with a small, but diverse selection. More than 2 people could not comfortably workout in it though.
Cons: The whole place needs new carpet and modernizing. No coffee pot in the room. No HBO.
Location: Close to Union Square so location is good for this place.
Booked this during Fleet Week and Salesforce convention so my own mistake. Hotel is located in a good spot, but not worth $500 per night. The floors creak, the furnishings are dated as well as the hotel itself. The staff was great and I would probably stay here again if it cost less per night. No view at all. I looked at a brick wall from both our windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
I am so sorry it seems you didn't have the amazing experience that so many of our guests have come to expect from us. Next time you are in town please ask for a room with a view. We have some that are pretty amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of SF! Easy walks/rides to sights.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location was better than expected. Walked to Powell St trolley and up the hills we went and then down to Fisherman's Wharf!
Cons: More free beer! Just kidding.
Location: See above
I booked a double bed. Upon entering the room it was a single bed. No problem! The desk called us and stated that the staff would move our bags to a room with two beds. As we left the hotel for an appointment, the front desk staff had the keys for the new room ready. Keys exchanged and all was smooth! Thanks Prescott by Kimpton!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
It looks like the Front Desk team turned this situation around for you and that makes me really happy! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to fill out this review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Clean but outdated

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Clean but needs updating. Pictures online are not a true representation of hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Lovely hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: No
Location: Shopping, restaurants
Prestigous hotel with a great location for shopping. Pricey if you are not going to spend much time in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are so very lucky to work in such a great location. We sometimes have valuable coupons at our concierge desk to give out as well so next time stop on by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chech in and bell box person

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Check in - room given was 1 queen, booked 2 queens for 3 people, people at desk eventually comprehended 2 beds were needed and an upgrade to a king and pull out bed was given. Mike, the bell person gave awesome advise and maximized our stay, great job to him.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will make sure Mike knows that a guest has commended him for another job well done! Hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Confusing when checked in about credit cards expedia and didn't tell us about the restsurant downstairs that served breakfast. I felt bad for the people working at the restaurant. They had no customers because people are unaware there is one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Your comments really help us so thank you. I have just now reached out to Expedia to ask them to update our information accordingly. I also will make sure that the front desk mentions this to all the guests that check in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Ireland

Close to downtown but tired and overpriced

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Location, free WiFi.
Cons: Décor, beds, breakfast area, price.
Location: Great location in downtown San Francisco. Close to cable car and BART station, bus stops, Union Square, shopping and restaurants.
Stayed 4 nights in a club level room, first trip to SF as tourists, enjoyed the great location close to union square and free wifi. Reception staff very welcoming and continental breakfast was okay, although seating for breakfast was a bit uncomfortable and inadequate for the number of guests. The room décor was a little tired, but the room/bathroom was very clean. One of the major issues we had was the level of noise from the bed. The hotel appears to have replaced the mattresses on the divan beds with slightly larger and heavier ones than the frame can cope with. This meant the bed creaked loudly when putting any weight on it or with any sort of movement. We raised the issue with reception staff and they moved us to a new room. The problem persisted with the bed here, but the change in rooms was an improvement as the layout was much better (our first room was small and the wardrobe door hit the entry door) There was a free wine tasting each evening - we never went, it may be of interest/value to some other visitors.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are now in the process of changing out all of the beds in our hotel. We hope you come back to us again soon and see the improvements. Thanks again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs an update.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The staff are incredible
Cons: The hotel needs an update, a renovation.
Location: Great location, close to great restaurants, shopping, art galleries and tourist stops.
I have stayed at this hotel and other Kimptons over the years. I am a Kimpton member. The staff at the Prescott are incredible..the hotel needs an update. It is tired. I most recently referred friends to stay at the Prescott and they declined due to the reviews and I understand now what people are referring to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know how great our employees are. I couldn't have had a better staff of people working alongside me. Thank you for your review!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

City centre San Francisco

Posted Sep 15, 2014
A nice hotel close to union square. I have stayed at the sister hotel "The Palomar"previously and preferred the Palomar. The Prescott is showing its age but is still clean and at the right price is a reasonable hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. What is so cool about Kimptons is that whatever your taste may be... We have a hotel that fits you! The Prescott is Classic, Charming and cozy where as the Palomar is very modern. You should try another property and see how cool yet different it can be.