Ratings based on 1,652 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Bay Area

Friendly staff, beautiful boutique hotel.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Unique boutique feel, cleanliness, friendly staff, gorgeous staircase, proximity to many activities, no hassle parking.
Cons: We should have stayed longer. :-)
Location: Union Square shopping, ice skating, Biscuits and Blues, The View at the Marriott was amazing, quick taxi ride to Beach Blanket Babylon and other shows
Pulled up out front to friendly valet, with a much appreciated promise to take special care of the car. :-) Check in staff made sure to ask if we had any special needs and were very accomodating for 2 queen beds request. Room was beautiful with the extra bed in a separate area...almost a room to itself. Beds were comfortable, and very clean. Jonathan was especially helpful on check in, showing all the amenities provided in the room, including luxurious leopard print robes for lounging. How fun! So appreciated that the cost of parking was until 3:00, so on check out day we could do some shopping and wandering around nearby Union Square before leaving the city. Great proximity to Biscuits and Blues around the corner. I hear we missed a wine tasting in the evening due to our other plans...Will have to stay again to check that out! What a wonderful time. Enjoyed lounging with complimentary iced tea or lemonade while we waited for the valet to bring the car. Definitely would stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Fantastic staff, amazing location

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: The friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff, the beds, the club level facilities, the location.
Location: Union square is about 2 mins away, cable car stop, Chinatown, 5 mins or so to Market St, Belden Pl about 10 mins away.
We were in San Fran for a 5 day break following a conference in another city. We had found and booked the Prescott through Expedia. The location of this hotel is amazing, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We upgraded to a suite on the Club Level for our final 2 nights which allowed us access to the club level cocktail reception and continental breakfast. The suite itself was beautiful, spacious and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Overall, this hotel is great value for money for central San Fran, We love this hotel and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very sweet hotel with lovely staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Everything was wonderful. Bed was squeeky but all was clean and staff very friendly...they even checked us is early.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Manassas VA

Not your standard kimpton

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful
Cons: Hotel isn't up to Kimpton standards needs renovation
The hotel staff was fabulous, but the hotel lacked the standards I'm use to seeing at Kimpton facilities. We booked king ended up with queen because of room shortages.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Definitely not a 4 Star Hotel

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly,helpful, professional and know their information.
Cons: Please see notes around the overall experience.
Location: Great location with a walk to lots of restaurants and shops.
Overall the experience was disappointing. I stayed at the Francis Drake around the corner just twelve months ago and the Prescoot is so far behind in standards its hard to understand why they both share a 4 Star Rating. The Prescott is by no means a 4 Star Hotel. The hotel is old and run down, scuffed walls, dirty looking carpet in the room. It is in need of a major make over. Our room was very small, the bathroom is ridiculously small. The room was not cleaned properly, bathroom floor was not mopped or carpet vacumed properly, beds not made well. There are no facilties for In Room Dining. Water pressure in the shower was initially totally inadequate so we asked to have it looked at and it was fixed promptly. Toiletries do not include a shower cap. We also had to ask for the toiletries to be replenished once we used them. There is no Hotel Directory. We were charged $1 for a local call where most hotels do not charge for local cals.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice hotel location but service to be improved

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff not particular friendly and helpful
Okay - in general. Breakfast was disappointing. Not enough staff to operate
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel. Perfect location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
great Hotel. was provided a bike and fulfilled a bucket list experience by biking over the Golden Gate Bridge. Thanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
We are so happy to help celebrate a life changing experience with you! Anything else on your bucket list??? Call us ahead and let us make the next adventure that much more exciting for you! We hope to hear from you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Nice boutique hotel great for Dreamforce

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff and the convenient location close to Union Square and the Dreamforce conference locations.
Location: It's two blocks from Saks Fifth Avenue and a short walk from the Powell BART train station. It's easy to get to the Moscone convention center, too.
This was my first time attending the Dreamforce conference and was hoping to select a nice hotel that is a comfortable walking distance from Moscone and the Dreamforce conference hotels. While it is a 15 minute walk from Moscone, it was still conveniently located in my opinion. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful and they upgraded my room at no charge upon my arrival.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We really do have the best staff and I am glad you got an upgrade. Thanks again and I hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis, TN

This is not as nice as other Kimpton Hotels

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The workout room was good with a small, but diverse selection. More than 2 people could not comfortably workout in it though.
Cons: The whole place needs new carpet and modernizing. No coffee pot in the room. No HBO.
Location: Close to Union Square so location is good for this place.
Booked this during Fleet Week and Salesforce convention so my own mistake. Hotel is located in a good spot, but not worth $500 per night. The floors creak, the furnishings are dated as well as the hotel itself. The staff was great and I would probably stay here again if it cost less per night. No view at all. I looked at a brick wall from both our windows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
I am so sorry it seems you didn't have the amazing experience that so many of our guests have come to expect from us. Next time you are in town please ask for a room with a view. We have some that are pretty amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of SF! Easy walks/rides to sights.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Location was better than expected. Walked to Powell St trolley and up the hills we went and then down to Fisherman's Wharf!
Cons: More free beer! Just kidding.
Location: See above
I booked a double bed. Upon entering the room it was a single bed. No problem! The desk called us and stated that the staff would move our bags to a room with two beds. As we left the hotel for an appointment, the front desk staff had the keys for the new room ready. Keys exchanged and all was smooth! Thanks Prescott by Kimpton!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2014 by Garret, Hotel Management
It looks like the Front Desk team turned this situation around for you and that makes me really happy! Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to fill out this review!