Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on Nob Hill - very spacious rooms

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: location, size of rooms and attentiveness of staff
Cons: bath rooms could be bigger
Location: Nob Hill - cable car to Embarcadero, walk to Union Square and SOMA
Very nice, boutique hotel on Nob Hill (across from Grace Cathedral); rooms are very spacious and staff is pleasant, low key (in a good way - not overbearing) and attentive. Also, attached to the Nob Hill Spa (full service spa and pool). If you are looking for a small, luxury hotel in the heart of San Francisco with rooms the size of a comfortable apartment - this is it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Distinctive and personal

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: It has a personal feel and is distinctive. Easy place to stay by yourself without being holed up in your room.
Cons: The décor of the new "Scarlett" is kitchy, boutique Chinese. The central check-in area does not work at all -- garish and cold.
The Scarlett Huntington has a touch of Old San Francisco ( gracious rooms and friendly bar and staff). The spa is lovely, although the exercise room is a bit small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posh, elegant

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: Attention to detail
Cons: No free wifi
I thoroughly enjoyed my second stay at the Scarlet Hunington. Super, steep walk up to California St. was worth it to spend time in this lovely setting. My very large room had a mixture of contemporary and vintage looking decor. Very comfortable. And it comes with it's own refrigerator! A visit to the spa makes it a perfect trip..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Larkspur, CA

A 15 Million $$$ Renovation, and NO Hi-Def TV?????

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Just about everything.
Cons: Get out of the Stone Age, and get HD TV in all your rooms!
Location: Nob Hill is just a superb place to hang out - Chinatown is one of our favorite walks in the morning - no beating a good bowl of noodle soup breakfast
The Huntington has always been a favorite for my wife & I, and we were really excited to see the changes. Everything is beautiful inside the rooms, and Thankfully they left the Big 4 Restaraunt & Bar as it was - Classic, Charming, and Magical :) The only GLARING Whiff, was the analog TV signal in the room - Really guys, it's almost 2015!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A mixed bag.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: the staff.
Cons: the new decor could be changed. see above.
The Huntington was my favorite hotel. The old world charm and comfort of the place made staying there a wonderful experience and a special treat. The staff were also my favorite. Warm and kind and nice. I had hoped the renovation would upgrade what needed upgrading and keep the old world charm intact. I returned there last week. Fortunately most of the staff were still there. But the decorating changes were awful. Rather than elegant and soothing they were harsh colors, jarring and garish. The bedroom was comfortable. The bathroom upgrades were fine. And though the upgrade to a large suite was very much appreciated the room decor was awful. In the elevator another guest who had stayed in the old Huntington asked me what I thought. We agreed the changes are tacky. I didn't realize I am a snob until now. I'm torn about returning. On the one hand the location is still great, as are the staff. On the other hand, the lovely atmosphere appears to be a thing of the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great & comfortable hotel.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Beautiful view of the Bay. In the heart of the city, so we were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go. Also on the trolley line. Very clean room & super comfortable bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Great place to stay, wonderful staff

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The room was beautiful.
Cons: The bar menu left much to be desired. After a long day of traveling, grilled cheese or a cheeseburger didn't cut it. We went to the Fairmont.
A beautiful boutique hotel on Nob Hill. We made reservations before the hotel finished their renovations. They did a great job preserving the history of the property. On arrival, we were told we were upgraded to a "small suite". It was huge and beautiful with terrific views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great Hotel well situated

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Cons: Larger Bathroom
Location: Trolley cars in front of hotel and 2 blocks down (Powell to Union Square)
Large room but relatively small bathroom Great views from room, across from park and Grace church. 5 minute walk to Union Square
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Neptune, NJ

A excellent boutique hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014
I stayed 2 nights at the end of my trip up the pacific coast highway. This was a excellent choice. The hotel has endless charm and style. The location of this hotel is great it's in the nob hill section of san francisco. I stayed in room 608 which faced down taylor with a city view. I opened all the windows and felt the breeze.Warm air during the day and cool at night. Everyone that worked at this hotel was about delivering great customer service. I would not only recommend this hotel to anyone that i know is traveling to San Fran but when i return i will be staying here again no doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

I/We have never stayed at a better hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: While we had a fantastic time, and treated like Royalty, I honestly believe there is always room for improvement,
Location: Location Perfect, Everything to do nearby.
The Scarlet Huntington San Francisco is such a wonderful place, my own family has never treated me better.