Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel but meh breakfast.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Great location and lovely rooms. Very quiet. Really enjoyed the fireplace and room and the pool area. Very charming. However, the breakfast was very disappointing and I expected better for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne Beatts from West Hollywood

Cozy old-fashioned cottage hideaway

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were cozy and happy in our cottage with our fireplace, fridge, and comfy beds. The best rooms are at the front and are the only ones with ocean views, we know to ask for that next time. The breakfast was fine and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. On the down side the carpeting could use an upgrade and we prefer real fires to electric ones. But definitely a perfect and reasonably-priced spot for a stop between SF and LA with the ocean on your doorstep. We drove North a few miles to see elephant seals on beach -- amazing! Also recommend stopping for lunch or snacks at Sebastian's grocery just off Highway one opposite Hearst Castle -- wine-tasting too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel-Great Location

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Location, comfortable room
Cons: For what we paid I expected a better TV. They still have old CRT screens at this place. Also when the heater came on, it came on with a loud bang.
Older place but well maintained and very clean. As are all the hotels on Moonstone, it's just across the street from the ocean. The provided breakfast consists of a good selection of local pastries, various cereals, coffee, tea, and juice. If you're looking for an omelet for breakfast, this isn't the place. We did not use the pool or other amenities.
3 out of 5
by Marsha from Nipomo

Posted Dec 13, 2013
The location by the ocean is beautiful. We took advantage of the boardwalk across the street which is great for walking & there are steps leading down to the water. Some truck noise at night from Highway 1. Each room has a little private garden off the back which was very sweet. Bed mattress was definitely older & pillows ok. Each bedroom is heated only by a gas fireplace which is quite lovely & effective but the fan that comes on & off all night was too noisy, so not an issue if the weather is warm. Breakfast was simple but a nice assortment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 13, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay

Posted Dec 8, 2013
Pros: Location was excellent. The room was very clean and well kept.
Location: Very Good Walking Trails. Close to town. Area is very beautiful.
Our room was very clean and of nice size. The fireplace was enjoyable. The morning breakfast was also good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 3, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Comfortable and good breakfast. Across the road from the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Waterfront, cozy hotel with fireplace

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: Rooms, breakfast, fireplace, close to restaurants and ocean
Location: Seal Elephant Cove and Hearst Castle
We loved this clean, comfortable, and with beautiful views of the ocean hotel. We stayed only one night, but wished we could have extended our stay. I will definitively stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelley from Cincinnati

Very nice hotel, close to Moonstone Beach

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: very close to beach
Location: beach
Enjoyed this place very much. Simple hotel, but very close to the beach, and very clean. Price was great, too.