Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

OK business hotel for those on a budget

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: A couple of staff that were pretty good. Concierge guy had a good attitude although he didn't speak much English. Business center guys were a plus.
Cons: Read above.
Location: Close to the duty free zone Waigaochao. Nothing much nearby except for some local restaurants. Thank goodness for the Family mart convenience store.
I selected this hotel based on the Best Western hotel I've stayed at in Italy. Similar no frills type of hotel, but it was close to our Shanghai office so I thought I'd give it a shot. Got a suite with breakfast included, but most of the time at least half of the buffet dishes were empty as no one was consciously watching the buffet. Also, I would recommend having breakfast before 9:00am as after that, the staff doesn't even refill the food. The dinner buffet was a little better, but the few nights I ate at the restaurant, there weren't many people so it really wasn't challenging to keep the dishes full of food. About the food............marginally edible in my opinion. The room was okay, except for the bed. It felt like I was sleeping on a piece of wood with a sheet over it, so if sleep is important to you, I would opt for a higher standard hotel chain. The gym looked decent in the photos, but it is small and obviously dated........with Chinese made gym equipment that resembled premium equipment used in higher standard hotels. Struggled with a 20 minute workout and gave up after that. In summary, this hotel is permanently off my list of Shanghai hotels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Far from airport!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
The hotel was very far from the airport. We reserved a room with 2 beds and ended up in a suite with a king bed. There were 5 of us. We made it work but I would never stay here again. The carpets were really stained and gross. The rest of the room was clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dobvie from NZ

Stopover for a night

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Good hotel. Close proximity to airport. We had executive suite was very comfortable although we requested non smoking room and it smelled like smoke . Really lovely porter. A number of staff speak a little English.
2 out of 5
by Christ from Los Angeles

Horrible hotel to downtown area

Posted Jun 14, 2014
The hotel is not Best Western.The hotel staff can't speak any English, and their service is really bad with negative attitude to their customers.
2 out of 5
by Rob from Portland, OR

Old, outdated and dirty hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2014
My review on the staff is from an English speaking persons experience. They may be perfectly great for the Chinese speaking travelers. Like many hotels in China the AC controls in the room don't work for energy saving reasons. The old and crusty bath tub is also the shower and did not drain. It didn't look like it had ever been scrubbed. Completely gross. The bed was hard as a rock and the carpets are very stained and discolored. I would not reccommend this hotel for the price since you could stay at a motel168 for much less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gerald from Missooula MT USA

A Long way from the Airport

Posted May 22, 2014
This hotel was listed as being near the Phdong International Airport. It seemed like a long way away. It was a $30 cab ride in a country where cab fare is inexpensive. It took almost an hour. Perhaps there are no hotels near the airport. The hotel itself was acceptable. Service was good and many of the staff spoke passable English; at least enough to function. The room was fairly clean and comfortable. Internet service in most Chinese hotels is awful and this was no exception. I don't think it is the hotel's fault; I know the Chinese government restricts internet access in many ways and I'm sure some of the burden of the policy falls on the hotels. Next time I fly into Pudong, I'll probably look for a different hotel; one that is closer. This final note is about Expedia rather than the hotel. When one makes a hotel reservation in a foreign country, Expedia should provide the address in the language of that country to cab drivers know where they are going. This is a general problem in China since the cab drivers have little or no English. The real adventure is always communicating to the cab driver where the hotel is. Each time they end up calling the hotel for the address.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels
Overall speaking, this hotel is good and we got very good rate when we booked the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Unknown from PA

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: convenient location
Cons: Wifi
The room is at executive floor (26th), but very small. The bathroom is very tight and inconvenient; closet is located in an odd place (next to windows). WiFi is awfully slow, and requires to re-connect frequently. Room service and housekeeping are excellent.
2 out of 5
by hiro

古臭く、田舎くさいホテル

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: 職場から近い
Cons: 鍵の作動、暖房、朝食
非接触キーが作動しにくい。一回は交換してもらわねばならなかった。 暖房の効きが極めて悪いうえ、手元で調節してもそのとおり作動しない。 防音が悪い。 朝食がまずい。朝食会場が寒い。 取り柄は日本食レストランがあるくらい。
4 out of 5
by Jennifer from Hong Kong

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Not busy
Cons: The waiters cannot understand basic english and kept giving us insuffient cutleries and did not give us the right thing we asked for
Facilities: Everyday, Unpretentious; Value: Reasonable; Service: Basic; Cleanliness: Pleasant;