Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Scott from Salt Lake City, USA

Pretty disappointing

Posted May 15, 2012
Pros: It is in Tuscany
Cons: Noisy (from nearby road), rock hard beds, 'Motel 6 feel'
Location: Lovely Tuscany, but Castel San Gimignano is nothing special
I frankly expected much, much more of this hotel than it delivered. The location is on a busy street with tons of motorcycles driving by at high speed at night, the pool is cold and only OK, the rooms very ordinary, and the beds rock-hard. Not worth going out of your way (and this place really IS out of the way) for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK, nothing to brag or complain about

Posted Jul 13, 2011 on Hotels.com
Felt like we entered a dormitory. Boring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Sweden

Hotel Volpaie, Castel San Gimignano

Posted Oct 8, 2010 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, fantastic breakfast buffet, very friendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Gerrards Cross, UK

Lovely hotel in Tuscan countryside

Posted Sep 30, 2010
We picked this hotel as it was much better value than those in the centre of San Gim and had a pool too,which we wouldn't have got for this rate in a city centre. You need a hire car though, it's about 10km of windy road to San Gim but in glorious countryside which suited us as we were on a hiking holiday. The hotel is very well maintained, breakfast is superb, there is a small restaurant offering for lunch and dinner but a very good restaurant about 5 minutes' walk away. The service was excellent and the owners were very happy to let us drink our own wine or theirs - a very mature attitude for a hotel - but just made us buy more of theirs as it was so reasonably priced. Would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from chelmsford england

Most memorable breakfast ever

Posted Sep 30, 2010
We chose the Hotel for a one night stay in the location wanted and could not have found better. We would certainly stay again if in the area even if just for the wonderful breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Tampa FL

Very Impressed

Posted Sep 16, 2009
This was a perfect for us; a couple on a driving tour around parts of Tuscany. The owners were friendly and were alsways around to give advice etc if needed. The included breakfast was the best we had during our stays throughout Italy and the information back on suggested places of 'where to go' was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Gwynedd

A lovely place to stay.

Posted Aug 3, 2009
This is a small family run hotel in a small village location. We (two couples) stayed only one night as we travelled from Pisa to Siena. Whilst we stayed at three other hotels (with higher star ratings) the Volpaie was the undoubted favourite by the end of our holiday. All the facilities are as described. The rooms are unpretentious, in excellent decorative order and spotlessly clean. The pool was very welcome in the hot weather. The public areas were comfortable with tasteful decor. So what's special? The breakfast was truly excellent by any standard. More importantly the owners (and staff's) unobtrusive, but genuine concern for your comfort and enjoyment makes the Volpaie a gem of a hotel well worth including in your itinerary. Small, comfortable and a bit special!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Woking

Ideal location

Posted Aug 28, 2008
Great base for exploring Pisa, Florence, Sienna and of course San Gimignano. Very hospitable, and great views at fantastic breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Queretaro , Mexico 76230

Great place to be in the Toscana

Posted Jul 30, 2008
Fantastic location in the center of the Toscana Senense, in the Chianti region, beautiful olive trees and vineyards just outside. Very friendly people, very clean and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fareham

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR THE BREAKFAST ALONE!

Posted May 27, 2008 on Hotels.com
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, covneniently located in the heart of beautiful Tuscany - between San Gimignano and Volterra. The staff were charming and friendly and more than accommodating when we had to make a very early start. The room was very clean and spacious. The nearby road can be a little noisy but we did not find it too bothersome. The breakfast was splendid - right down to the freshly cooked boiled egg - even on our early start day. The pool - although we did not use it - looked inviting and the grounds were generally attractive - plenty of parking. My one gripe was the bed - it truly was like sleeping on a park bench, it was so firm. I like a firm bed but it does need SOME give! But I guess it's all down to personal preference and may vary from room to room