Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 27, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jodi Kindle from Hoffman Estates, IL

Very beautiful comfortable welcoming home.

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Perfect location for anyone visiting the Franciscan University /Pittsburgh area. Beautifully maintained and decorated home. Very comfy bed with fireplace. The only improvement I would suggest is food - standard continental breakfast vs special made/served breakfasts we've experienced at most B&Bs. However, Living room and TV room very comfortable with fireplace and dvd player. Great place for relaxing with glass of wine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2013
Pros: Extremely clean,welcoming and is in immaculate condition. The wonderful variety and quality of breakfast items is sure to please everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Pittsburgh, PA

A gem in Steubenville

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: (see above)
Location: Just down the road from Franciscan University of Steubenville
Steubenville is a hardscrabble place, about the last place one would expect to find a great B&B. And yet here it is, on "historic North Fourth Street" which is lined with picturesque Victorian houses in various stages of restoration. The B&B itself consists of two houses, and I stayed in the "Garrett" (circa 1870), beautifully restored with a wrap-around porch, first floor full of antiques, cozy rooms and an immaculate bathroom. And extremely quiet. I know that "restored Victorian" is a bit of a meme when it comes to B&Bs, but this was exceptional even in that context. Not only that, but it's extremely handy to Rt. 22 and the Ohio River bridge over to West Virginia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Clean, peaceful, well-decorated

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was in town on business and a budget, and Bayberry House was perfect for my needs. As other reviewers have noted, Hotels.com does not indicate that check-in time is only between 4pm and 6pm, which would be helpful for most travelers to know. In my situation, I called the number listed on Hotels.com and reached Scott, the owner, directly. When I said I would arrive outside the 4-6 window, he left the key in the mailbox. My room was small, but it was also the cheapest, which was what I needed. It had a shared bathroom, but there was nobody else there so it was not a problem. Breakfast went until 10:00 am and Scott came by to set it all out early. By the time I got down there, around 9:30, he was gone and it was self-serve, probably because I was the only guest there, but there were plenty of good options (cereal, waffles, doughnuts, turnovers, bagels, greek yogurt, etc.) The whole establishment was very clean, very well-decorated with some great antiques. I agree that it felt more luxurious than any other chain hotel I've ever stayed in. Very personal. The residential neighborhood is a mix of old beautiful houses, some needing a little TLC and others beautifully restored, like the Bayberry House. It was peaceful all night quiet all night and seemed safe. You can hear the crickets. So much nicer than staying at a chain hotel near the freeway and you're contributing to the local economy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barbara

Convenient, quiet

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Decor
Cons: A/c controls
Location: University
Very pleasant Good coffee Plan to visit again Nice decor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

tasteful and charming

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
well restored and maintained innkeeper very attentive and knowledgeable re: town, area, region
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from Lima, Ohio

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent place to stay. Extemely clean bed and breakfast with beautiful decor. Quiet neighborhood. Very good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Little B&B

Posted Oct 31, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Bayberry House is a nice little B&B it reminded me of some of the places I have stayed in London, UK. The main difference would be the surrounding area. In London there are lots of cool little places to walk to and hang out. I did not really look for these on my stay but nothing popped out at me either. If you are looking for a quaint little place in that area I do not think you could ind much better.