Ratings based on 652 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central, walking distance to shopping

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Great staff always friendly. Housekeeping sometimes takes awhile to accommodate your requests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sydney

remarkable location

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Staff at the Westin were so friendly and went out of their way to assist.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Doesn't live up to expectations

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: Nothing much
Cons: Phone system is confusing; GPO restaurants just a tad above fast food outlets; rooms just adequate
For an hotel with such a reputation the Westin Sydney fails to meet expectation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel in Sydney - great location.

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Location and room sizes
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Harbour with all its activities.
Wonderful the location, the friendly staff - the size of the rooms and the amazing green leaf soap.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Evansville, IN

Nice hotel but room descriptions can fool you

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Bathroom, Friendly Staff, location close to shopping
Cons: Better disclosure on room description and view. Give more drawer storage.
Location: Shopping, shopping, shopping!
The room description (Executive Superior), makes it hard to know what level of room you are getting. I thought this would be a great room but was disappointed. ( I and spoiled and always stay in suites) My room had a floor to ceiling window that looked right into the next door buildings office space. I was so close that I could see what was on their computer screen so the curtain in my room stayed closed my entire stay. The room had no drawer storage to speak of so we had to continue to live out of our suitcases. The drawers that were there were full of mini bar accessories. On the bright side, the bathroom is really nice and the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted Nov 3, 2014
The Hotel is in a great central position and within walking distance of Circular Quay and the main shopping area. Our room was spacious and had a good aspect from the big windows. The main reason I am not giving the hotel 5 stars is that they do not include Wifi and this is an expensive hotel. I found it insulting to be charged NZD25 for 24 hour wifi. My other minor complaint would be that the lighting in general was poor and there was no small night light in the bathroom area. Overall it was a good hotel in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort and Ambience

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Ambience and room size
Cons: Nothing
WE had a conference at another CBD hotel but the overall ambience, comfort and feel of the Westin is far superior to the conference venue so we elected to stay at the Westin. Each day we had a 5 minute walk to the conference centre and that we enjoyable also,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not order room service food ever.

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: its excellent location.
Cons: see my experience above.
i have being staying at this hotel for over 10 years hoping during this time that they may improve the standard of the room service food. my most recent experience involved receiving 2 pizzas ordered from the room service and both were not cooked properly and could have been a health risk if consumed. this hotel should consider either outside caterers or close their room service food altogether.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Copenhagen

Mind the extras

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: Family room was comfortable and fairly spacious.
Cons: Dining options. Free wifi. Room service pricing.
Location: We liked the location of Meriton (Liverpool Street) so much better as the area around Westin was generally dead after 6pm with limited dining options.
We stayed in a family room and moved here after staying in Meriton World Tower serviced apartment. Westin was definitely a lower rated experience. I always fail to understand how 4 and 5 star hotels can charge extra for internet (in this case AUD 20 per night for each 3 gadgets, hence 2 x AUD 20 is required for a normal family of 4), a service that is free and any standard coffee shop, bar and even in communal areas. Fortunately it is not very common these days. Together with what seemed like excessive pricing for a standard breakfast (bread basket, some fruits, juice and coffee) charged at AUD 40 if delivered to the room, it just goes a long way to show that Westin just goes that extra mile to "extract value" from their customers without actually delivering that value. We had a bit of problems checking in since my wife arrived early and wanted to check in. The reception staff would only allow this after some arguing since the booking was made in my name although the room was charged to my wife’s credit card. The room was quite spacious though and beds were comfy although the interior design is starting to look a bit dated and carpets in the hallways looked somewhat stained although the cleaniness hotel and rooms in general otherwise was absolutely fine as you would expect. The area around Westin is generally dead by 6 pm (at least on weekends) and we struggled to find suitable dining options for kids. There was a noisy youth party in the basement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney, Australia

Beautiful hotel but beware if driving!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
I had never been to the hotel before and drove my car there, and it was extremely difficult to find in the beginning! Google Maps address takes you around in circles - we had to call the hotel and they gave a different address to access the entrance. But once we were checked in and settled, it was a an absolutely beautiful place to stay. Lovely staff and very comfortable room despite not having a great view out the window.