Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from Minnesota, USA

Nice hotel in a nice location!

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Everything.
First, I thought all of hotels in Colonia were a little pricey. This one was average. It was also clean and the staff was very friendly, some Spanish is helpful (if you're unwilling to learn stay some where else). The room was very comfortable. I was a little nervous because the first night there was loud music down the street but by bedtime it was quiet. The breakfast was very good, you have to love dulce de leche! The location was fantastic for exploring the historical part of town, very convenient to come back for a bathroom. :-) Long story short, our three day weekend in Colonia was 'todo tranquilo y contento' I would, and have, recommended this hotel to my close friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elena from London

Very nice hotel in a typical south american house

Posted Dec 12, 2013
The hotel is very nice, just a few minutes walk from the historical center and from the bus station. From the port is around 10/15 minutes walk. As it is located in a traditional South American house, all the rooms are around the yard/garden overlooking the swimming pool and the garden. The room was very clean, confortable and romantic with the traditional linen and furniture. The only thing I didn't like was the strange smell at the reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meryl from Windsor, England

Exceeded expectations!

Posted Oct 29, 2013
Pros: Location. Staff. Ambience. Everything.
Cons: Ramps for rolling luggage.
Location: Within a few seconds of the Main Street so ideal for restaurants, bars and shopping. Walking distance from port and bus station too.
Fabulous. Great location in old Colonia. Full of charm. Excellent staff, sorted out taxi rates to Montevideo and didn't get annoyed when we changed our minds a few times about buses or taxis. Then Booked the bus for us too. Nothing too much for them. Rooms around a central courtyard but be aware this is up a minimum of one flight of wooden stairs and no lifts (not easy with lots of large, heavy cases). Our standard room was plenty big enough with a large,comfortable double bed. It wasn't noisy as we had been led to believe from other reviews. Choice of fan, window or air con to cool down. Bathroom had a huge shower with quaint Portuguese style tiling. Everything you could need for our one night stay. The small pool and lazing area looked inviting too but we were too busy to try it out. Wifi good in all parts of the hotel. A good selection of breads, pastries, cakes, cereals, cheese, hams, jams, fruit etc for breakfast and efficient tidying up so there was always somewhere clean to sit. I would definitely recommend this as the place to stay if you want to get away from impersonal, box like hotel rooms. I cannot praise Posada Don Antonio enough as we loved our brief stay. Would love to stay again, and wouldn't consider anywhere else - you could even walk there in about 10 minutes (slowly) if you came by boat or bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from State College PA

Delightful Inn in historic old-town Colonia

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: The location, the staff, the cleanliness.
Cons: It is a picturesque old building, and does not have some of the modern conveniences in the room. Fast WiFi connection is available in public areas,
Location: It is within walking distance of the historic area, restaurants, souvenirs and shopping
Don Antonio is a pleasant inn one street away from the actual historic district. It is actually an ideal location because you have all the ambiance of the old town without the noise of tourists and pedestrian traffic. The staff was very helpful and there was always someone on the desk always spoke excellent English. I would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NOmtnClowns from New Orleans & Colorado

Very nice hotel stay

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: Its lovely courtyard and its great, quiet location.
Cons: Slight mold on shower ceiling due to previous guests not using the ventilation. Our inability to communicate completely due to our lack of Spanish.
Location: Terrific location, near everything.
Our experience at the Don Antonio was very positive. Our room was clean and light filled. The carpets did NOT have any odor, as stated in an earlier review. The bed was very comfortable, sheets immaculately clean and white. The bathroom was large and clean. The courtyard just outside every door is beautiful and added a nice, serene ambiance to the hotel. We sat outside several times to check emails, have a glass of wine, just unwind from the day. The breakfast each morning was OK (not extensive, but just fine). The coffee was strong and good! The location of the hotel was wonderful....close to everything AND quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Steve from ouston, Texas

Well-located

Posted Apr 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, friendly staff who speak English, good location near the old city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jim from maryland

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Walking distance close to all the day and nite action. Very lovely hotel in a historic building nicely modernized.excellent breakfast included. Very charming town. Worth the stop over from Buenos Aires.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Doug from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel but...!

Posted Mar 19, 2013
Pros: Great location, breakfast
Cons: Smelly carpet, poor sound proofing.
Location: Excellent
Nice hotel in the old town, comfortable rooms, helpful staff, great breakfast but carpet in the room smells and they know it. The doors to rooms are left open prior to occupancy to air out the rooms. Noisy from street noise and from adjoining rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good for a family

Posted Feb 24, 2013
The hotel is fine for a short stay. It is very well placed. It is a 'Posada', do not expect the same comforts or facilities as in a hotel but overall it is reasonable. Probably good for a family, good breakfast, pool and garden.