Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect for an overnight stopover

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Cons: No vouchers for Denny's. Provide breakfast instead
While the hotel was very nice, the breakfast accomodations were not. Instead of providing a full continental breakfast (which we paid for) we got vouchers for the nearby Denny's. That was a big fiasco as all of our party got very ill from the food at Denny's. If they add in food services to this hotel, it will be dramatically improved.
3 out of 5
by Linn from Southern California

close to the beach, but closer to freeway

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: the bed
Cons: not much, it's just an older building
Location: great beach just a couple blocks away
Took a room here because other nicer hotels in the area were booked up. We were only there for 1 night for a wedding in town. The room was clean and the bed was surprisingly very comfortable. Location not so great because it is SO close to the freeway. The property is small and old, but it served our purpose for the 1 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cathy from Ontario, Ca

Comfort during a difficult time

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
My family went to Ventura to say goodbye to a lifelong friend after her passing. It was a difficult time for me but this hotel offered refuge from the sadness surrounding my visit. My family and I were able to check in early after the funeral. The Hotel is vintage but well maintained and clean. The customer service was professional and very good. I did my routine bed check and the room past the bedbug inspection. The room did not feel creepy or smell bad. The carpet was not scary or crunchy. The location is awesome near the beach, Main Street and In-and -out Burger. The Hotel did not have the carb loaded breakfast that many hotels have but gave each of my Family members a voucher for Dennys. We werent sure what to expect from Dennys but curiosity made us go. For the voucher we were allowed a variety of choices for breakfast, not all carbs! next time to Ventura we will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We are sincerely sorry for your loss. We are happy the city of Ventura had so much to offer you during your time of need and also that our staff was able to alleviate some of the discomfort. Our local beach and downtown area offers so many fun activities for families and we are glad you enjoyed it. Please visit us in the near future for another memorable stay! Thank you for your patronage Kenya J. Front Desk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rufus from San Diego

Decent value priced hotel - Parquette approved

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Right next door to an In N Out.
Location: Beach is about a 1/2 mile walk through a pleasant neighborhood
Staff was nice, room was clean and fresh. Served it's purpose as a place to rest but not spend too much time in. On the downside, the fans were a bit on the noisy side, and the pillows were hard and thick, which I didn't like so much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2014 by Serenity, Hotel Management
Dear Rufus, Thank you for acknowledging our staff along with the cleanliness of our rooms. This is much appreciated as we strive for guest satisfaction every day. We apologize for falling short of your expectations with regards to our pillows. We offer a variety of pillow comforts to accommodate each guests' need. We hope that you stay with us again in the future! Thank you, Kenya J. Front Desk Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Visitor from Ventura

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for several nights. The location is convenient. Voucher is given for a Denny's breakfast next door. Nice choice. We were initially booked at the Best Western in town but found out it was a motel with doors opening to the parking lot. The Comfort Inn for the same price is a superior hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Staff, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for acknowledging our location and it's convenience. It is truly gratifying to receive such generous feedback. Our partnership with the local Denny's allows us to provide a superior breakfast to every patron every morning. Were glad this too was to your enjoyment. We look forward to your return visit. Thank you, Kenya J. Front Desk Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Family Rd Trip from Bellingham. WA

Easy access to Hwy 1

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were on a Hwy 1 road trip. When we got to Venture we were tired of driving so stopped here. It's clean and well kept. The rooms are comfortable. The manager who was on duty both at check in and check out is awesome! He is personable and very helpful. This was a great stay. The breakfast included is actually at Denny's, so you get a real breakfast. That was a nice bonus over a muffin/bagel continental breakfast. Thanks for the great nights sleep!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2014 by Staff, Hotel Management
Dear family road trip, Thank you for staying with us during your California adventure. We are happy to hear that your stay was seamless, and that our staff was successful in making a genuinely personable connection. Thank you for noting the finer points & amenities that our hotel has to offer, such as our carefully appointed guest rooms, the quality of our cleanliness, and our breakfast! Thank you, Kenya J. Front Desk Agent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful. The hotel is close to the beach and downtown Ventura. The breakfast vouchers for a close by restaurant were great. We will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2014 by Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your splendid review and recommendation. As notated our newly renovated rooms are both clean and very comfortable; we are located a short walking distance from the beach and a short drive from Ventura’s local restaurant and shops. Our front desk staff is knowledgeable and available to help our guests with anything they may need during their stay. The complimentary breakfast we provide at our neighboring Denny’s gives our patrons the opportunity to have a convenient hot breakfast before starting their day. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gay Varga from Glendale

Convenient location

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was only for one night, but I had the best sleep on a wonderfully comfortable mattress. I came home and bought a similar mattress for myself. The hotel was in a very convenient location, the staff very friendly, the room very clean and reasonably priced. I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2014 by Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving us such a delightful review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our Serta pillow top mattresses so much that you went and bought one for yourself! Our newly renovated rooms and location directly off the 101 freeway allow us to provide a comfortable and convenient place for our patrons to stay and our friendly staff provides our guests with a seamless experience from check-in till check-out. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Tarzana, CA

The Best Surprise

Posted Dec 29, 2013
My wife and I saw the Comfort Inn's No. 1 Ventura rating on TripAdvisor and decided to take a chance on a one night stay at a hotel with less than a four star rating. We were greeted at the front desk at around 8:00 pm by the first of three different front desk personnel all of whom were pleasant and extremely helpful. We took the elevator to our room, finding our best surprise. Everything was more than we had hoped to find. The room was clean and fresh. The beds were very comfortable with firm and soft pillows as well as wonderful down comforters. We left the following morning feeling refreshed after a free breakfast that was included in the very reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by Serenity, Hotel Management
Dear Larry thank you for leaving such a fantastic review. It is so nice to hear that a chance stop on the road turned into such an enjoyable stay. All of our rooms have been recently renovated and come equipped with Serta pillow top mattress, soft and firm pillow options, double panned windows for noise reduction and a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast we provide at our neighboring Denny’s is complimentary for all of our guests, allowing them to get a warm breakfast before heading back on the road. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2014
Dear Larry thank you for leaving such a fantastic review. It is so nice to hear that a chance stop on the road turned into such an enjoyable stay. All of our rooms have been recently renovated and come equipped with Serta pillow top mattress, soft and firm pillow options, double panned windows for noise reduction and a microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast we provide at our neighboring Denny’s is complimentary for all of our guests, allowing them to get a warm breakfast before heading back on the road. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jim from Santa Maria

Very clean and comfortable

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: Very nice had micro and refigr.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Mc Donalds, In and Out Burger, Freeway and the beach.
arrived late parking was a slight issue shared with In and Out Burger parking lot. Room was very clean and bed were very nice. Check out was a breeze.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 21, 2014 by Serenity, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. We have recently renovated all of our rooms and equipped them with Serta pillow top mattresses to provide for clean and comfortable accommodations. We know it is important for many of our guests to be back on the road as soon as possible and are glad that you found our express check out a breeze. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. We have recently renovated all of our rooms and equipped them with Serta pillow top mattresses to provide for clean and comfortable accommodations. We know it is important for many of our guests to be back on the road as soon as possible and are glad that you found our express check out a breeze. We hope to see you again in the near future.