Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from bakersfield, ca

beautiful older tudor style facility

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: its old world feel
Cons: need an all night attendant on duty for people arriving late. had to call them to be let in
Location: the city of Santa Paula is not that great but has a few things to see like the train depot. this hotel doesnt just the attention it deserves.
Very quite, it wasnt busy..i dont know why, reminded me of more like a bed and breakfast. lovely antiques...decorated nicely. the room was nice and comfortable bed. bathroom was spotless. definitely a different hotel experience and i would recommend anyone stay there. the price was reasonable as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Back to Small Town America

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: We loved the historic feel and distinctive decor. We were definitely NOT in a generic big box motel. We felt extremely comfortable. Pet friendly.
Cons: Wish there was a breakfast and more of a selection of drink and snack machines and a book shelf of books to borrow or leave. Pillows were a bit thin.
Location: The hotel is in the Heritage Valley, about 20 miles inland from Ventura. Several museums were within walking distance of the hotel.
Glen Tavern Inn is a historical hotel built in 1911. When you walk in the door you are surrounded by history. You immediately take a deep breath and relax. Staff was friendly but not intrusive. The lobby, complete with fireplace, is large enough for several visiting groups to converse. The front garden offers more lovely places to sit and visit with friends. Coffee and water were available in the lobby. Room decor is period with modern conveniences. Because there aren't many places to eat breakfast in town, I wish their small restaurant offered a bit of breakfast fare. Sadly while we were there, the air conditioner broke down in one section of the hotel causing some discomfort for patrons, however fans were provided as a temporary 'fix.'
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay for the weekend

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Centrally located - within walking distance of the downtown area - it was interesting to say the least - very picturesque. Grounds well cared for.
Cons: In my room - the shower tile could have been cleaned better than what it was.
The lobby was like a scene from movie - it was comfortable and peaceful.
3 out of 5
by Lea from Los Angeles, CA

Historic Hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Lovely old historic hotel in the heart of Santa Paula, with charm and warmth. The room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The only negative was the bathroom. The shower water was warm, not hot, and the toilet didn't flush very well. We only stayed 1 night so it was not too much of a problem, but on longer trips it would be tiresome. The location was great for a weekend wedding at Limoneira.
2 out of 5
by Tom from San Diego

Disappointing

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: history
Cons: staff professionalism, room comfort, mattress, noise
Location: quaint little town
Booked 3 nights, only stayed 2. Had business in Santa Paula and figured it would be nice be close to the conference. Family came with me, and my wife was excited for this hotel because she likes historical places and "haunted" places. When I told the locals at the conference where I was staying, they were surprised and suggested I look elsewhere, somewhere in Ventura. Booked a room with a jacuzzi tub. Just an FYI, this hotel has no elevator - just would have been nice to know with a baby and all. Anyway, upon check in, had to wait about 10 minutes for front desk clerk to return from chatting with his buddies in the lobby. Once he got there he checked us in ok - this was while family was still in car - would have been nice if he could have gotten us a room on a lower floor with the baby and all. You can forgive a 100-yr-old property for funky layout - king bed swallowed the room and you literally couldn't have anything at all on the floor in order to open the bathroom door, and with baby's portable crib squished in between the bed and wall on the other side (barely fit) it was literally like our room was just a bed. Having the fridge and microwave in the room was nice. Bathtub needed refinishing; seemed dirty and old. Remodeling done to the room had some nice portions and some very cheap looking portions. Room became very warm and the A/C had trouble the first night, but the next night seemed to do okay. First night's sleep wasn't bad although mattress wasn't real
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stan from TN

Glen Tavern

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Very old and has a feel of the past. A lot of history.
Cons: Could use night lights in the bathroom. Maybe have remotes for all tv's.
Location: Location was great. Could walk to town with many shop's and places to eat. Fifteen to twenty miles north beach's and nice mall area. Many orange farms
Folks were very friendly and helpful with any questions and issues we had. Stayed four nights and had to change room after first night do to my wife's illness and they were right on it with no problems.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jennifer from Bakersfield

Spooky

Posted Jan 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was great. It was a little spooky. Especially the third floor. Very charming and comfortable for being so old. Would definately stay there again. Special note: Otis the hotel mascot was adorable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Hotel, great ambiance, needs new mattresses.

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Character
Cons: The beds need updating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Karina from SC

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com