Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SS from UK

Goos hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good hotel with very good location enar the lake
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by SB from London, UK

Great location, nice rooms, poor service

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff service
Location: Located near a beautiful lake in Genval. Very calm and picturesque location.
The location for this hotel is unbeatable. The lake is really beautiful. While the room itself was nice and clean. we've experienced some mishaps during our stay. At one point the key cards stopped working, and on two occasions the reservations we made with the staff (for dinner and massage) were later not found in the system forcing us to search alternatives. The elevator was really slow and outdated, I found taking stairs to the 3rd floor faster. Granted none of these are a big deal- it is really not the quality of service one would expect from a 5 star hotel. We've stayed in a few 3 and 2 star hotels during the length of the vacation, and found service provided by them to be easily on par with this and sometimes better. It is a real shame as like I mentioned- location is great and the rooms themselves are very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by LittlePig2612 from Liverpool

very expensive breakfast

Posted May 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice hotel, good food. Breakfast was €52 per day. Watch out you don't get caught like I did!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Interests trump Guest experience

Posted May 17, 2013
Cons: Unreliable and slow taxi service make this a difficult location is you do not have a vehicle.
Location: Wonderful views of the 'Lac' make this a great setting IF you do not need local facilities.
As a 5 star hotel and I had expected a 5 star 'guest experience'. Unfortunately the room I was allocated was directly beneath a health club and at around 8am I was disturbed by loud music from a spinning class. The hotel was unable to resolve this and I found myself having to leave my room to work. The hotel manager listened to my complaint with a demeanour that suggested he was familiar with this issue. He apologised but did nothing beyond that. I believe that the hotel KNOW this is a problem and hope that guests will have left the rooms before it becomes an issue. Siting a health club amongst guest rooms is wrong. Starting a class that will inevitably disturb guests before 10am is wrong. Displaying a 'sorry but...' attitude is unacceptable. If you find yourself in a wing distant from the club, this would be a reasonable place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted Mar 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is beautiful old hotel on lake Genval, close to Brussels but still well outside the city. The rooms very clean and well outfitted, the common areas are warm and inviting. Very disappointing that one must pay extra to use the workout room. Service in the restaurant/cafe area was horrible, as we had to wait about 15 minutes before anyone even spoke to us when trying to buy a coffee. It wasn't especially busy and there were plenty of waiters, they just couldn't be bothered. Not 5 star level of service. The personnel at the front desk were top notch, however.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

5 star...I think not!

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
I expected quite a lot from this hotel and I was sorely disappointed! There were no lifts, so I had to haul my bags up and down the stars. The pillows were very lumpy and there is only one per bed. The breakfast was poor in choice and the pancakes were cold. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel and suggest that if you can avoid staying here...do so!
2 out of 5
by Adrian from London

Nice locale, so-so spa, very expensive

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Pros: Food
Cons: Price
Location: Lakeside, very pretty, a few km from autoroute.
We just had a single night stop on our way back from Germany to England and wanted somewhere with pool/spa so we could relax. The pool is tiny - you can't swim in it. The other pool features are just so-so, not much better than a typical gym, and at 30€ pp it's quite expensive. We arrived around 1pm, but their checkin time is 4pm, but they did at least rush our room so didn't have to wait too long. Not ideal for just an single night stop though. Our room's bath/shower fittings were faulty and needed attention. We needed robes for the spa area, but we weren't provided with any until a we asked. Restaurant food was excellent, however, and staff were nice enough, but not especially welcoming or friendly. Word of warning if arriving by road: Our satnav chosen route took us along a road that been dug up and was rocky/muddy and full of pot holes. It also tried to send us down the wrong way down a one-way street. Not a complaint of the hotel, of course, but it's probably wise to ignore satnav directions within 1km of the hotel. Parking was ok and free. Overal, I'd say it was too expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
overall nice hotel, bedroom was adequate, bathroom was very small. Nice location overlooking lake
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

16 years of visits bad service recently

Posted May 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very poor service asked for a double bed got two singles in a relatively quiet days with few guests. Was located furthest away from reception. My clients got ripped off by a taxi organised by the hotel. At check out I wanted to make by points but the manager was busy talking to her staff and asked me to wait for 10 mins. My taxi had to take me for my business meeting and had to leave. Organised my own taxi not to get ripped off. Switching to Dolce. For my future stays
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Chateau du Lac - Too Many Steps

Posted Oct 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Hotel's architect must have loved steps: steps from the front door up to the lobby (3), step from the lobby to the restaurant (two sets of 3), steps to the elevator to the rooms (5). With luggage, it is uncommon exercise to be lifting or rolling, or alternatively lifting and rolling up and down these steps - all without hotel staff help (the doorman stood by the reception desk, watched me navigate the steps from the rain-soaked cab outside and upon the desk clerk noticing me, "Asked if he could take my bags onward for a tip!) The Hotel has a beautiful view of its Lake, and the restaurants down the street are wonderful for dinner. The Hotel serves a great morning buffet, and a musician practicing throughout the night somewhere in the Hotel will make sure that you are up and ready to go to your business meeting in the crisp morning air.