Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Walter from Omaha

Don't Stay Here

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
Worst room I have ever stayed in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gary from Token Creek WI

OK for the price

Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
For the price we got a clean room, comfortable bed and convenient location for our purpose. However this hotel desperately needs updating/remodeling. No rod in the closet for hanging clothes, phone did not work, small tube TV with 4 channels, no hair dryer, minimal towels, and the water barely dribbled out of the shower. The Mexican restaurant on site was good as was the lounge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jimmie from PSL, Fl.

Enjoyable Stay

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at the Presidential, at first I was somewhat skeptical because of some of the negative reviews I read prior to arriving but after I arrived it was totally different. the motel was clean with good guest services. For the price and location I say its an excelent deal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rita from Chicago

Needs revamping or a facelift

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels
Understaffed but responsve in spite if this. Entrance is confusing and had no hotel information. Restaurant in same area was uninviting and it felt unsafe to have it asdociated or attached with no explanation of what it offered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good & Bad

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: lounge and restaurant
Cons: rooms.....dirty, outdated, unkept, etc.....
Location: University of Iowa
The good ......the Mexican restaurant attached to the hotel was good as was the lounge located on the lower level. Nice bartender and very nice patrons inside. Made us very welcome. I only wish the hotel was as good. Unfortunately, the room was beaten, killed two crickets and the towels were stained. Given the choice, I would stay elsewhere. This place definitely needs a facelift, which likely won't come. This place should be a last resort !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed at the hotel for a concert

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: Staff service
The staff was friendly but unprofessional. There was a weird smell when you first walked in, but the room was clean and nice. Good stay for a cheap rate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Decent place to stop & sleep

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
The room was clean, just needs a little updating. Not a bad place to stop and sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed!

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: The free ice machine.
Cons: See my comments above
Location: Location was ideal.
From the web site photos and description, first of all, I thought this was a "hotel". It was not! It was a "motel" - HUGE difference!! They should advertise it correctly. The building is very old, and I had to ask for a different room, since the one they reserved for me smelled terrible! The refrigerator did not work, and the bathroom was probably as clean as they could get it, but looked terrible, old tiling that needed grouting. A few of the lights didn't work. They gave me another room, which was a little better, but not much! It still had an odor to it. The king bed was old, squeaky and lumpy! I felt as though I had to stay or pay for the full amount of my two-night visit, which I think was overpriced for what I got! Their continental breakfast only consisted of bread, a toaster and coffee! Since my trip out to West Branch was only for beach-going purposes, staying there was okay. I will look for a better hotel (not motel) next time! The only thing good about this visit was that it made me appreciate just how good I have it at home, and I couldn't wait to check out of there! I think these hotels/motels need to be much more honest about their facilities!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very run down

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I didn't like the shower at all...little water pressure as most of the water went out the faucet not the showerhead, a dirty bathtub floor, and badly bubbled paint overhead. No place to hang clothes.