Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Virginia

Bait and Switch

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Closeness to college.
Cons: I had stayed here two years ago and vowed to never stay here again, but this hotel is listed under Holiday Inn and University Conference Center.
As soon as he saw that we booked with Expedia, the clerk said the hotel was completely booked and that he had to check for cleanliness of last room. We had paid for single king, NS--we got a smoke filled double. We called front desk and claimed there was nothing he could until 2:30 a.m.. When I stated that we had booked Non-smoking for health issues and that we couldn't breathe, magically a non-smoking room became available. We had to move rooms, but we could then breathe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

TLC

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location
The hotel is under construction, so the entire facility needs a little TLC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

better hotel even with the renovations in progress

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Space. Didn't hear any noise
Cons: Complete the renovations and keep prices at the same rate.
Location: I was there for business purposes.
One of the better experiences I had at a hotel in Winston Salem in a long while-So much better that the last hotel I stayed at only 2 weeks ago.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom VA

DISAPPOINTING

Posted Aug 16, 2014
MY HOTEL STAY WAS VERY DISAPPOINTING WHEN I BOOKED THE HOTEL IT WAS NOT STATED THAT THE HOTEL WAS BEING REMODEL IT WAS NOISEY, I REQUESTED A HANDICAPPED ROOM ' BECAUSE I HAD MY NINETY-SEVEN YEAR OLD FATHER , WHO NEEDED THAT TYPE OF ROOM, I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS A SEAT FOR HIM TO USE THE SHOWER , THERE WAS NOT. I WAS ON THE THIRD FLOOR HE HAD TO WALK DOWN A LONG HALL TO GET TO ELEVATOR, TO GET TO THE ROOM. I HAVE ALWAYS STAYED AT THIS HOTEL UNDER THE HOLIDAY INN BRAND AND WAS VERY SATISFIED.THIS PUT SOME STRESS ON OUR STAY. THE MITCHELLS
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old. In poor shape
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff (along with hotels.com) did an excellent job at helping us get another reservation at another hotel in the area. The entire hotel is undergoing a complete overhaul, along with the landscaping and pool area. Although it will be nice when complete, it did not serve our needs while we were there. We were going to "tough it out", but when we got to our room, it was very small and felt cramped and musky. I wished the general manager good luck, and stayed somewhere else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Visiting son at Wake Forest

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Have spent many nights at this Holiday Inn while visiting a son attending Wake Forest. Have always been very happy with it. Convenient to places like Target and Harris Teeter and a little less expensive than similar quality hotels downtown or closer to campus. Worth the savings and no inconvenience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Maintenance

Posted May 16, 2014
Three of the four pieces of equipment in the exercise room were not working. Unable to open closet door (stuck really bad) in the room. And the Information book, hotel info and menu, was missing. Had to ask twice to get both dinner menus and breakfast menu.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wake Mom

Quick stay

Posted May 12, 2014
Clean room, slowest shower of my life. Ok for one night