Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Del from Chicago

Palapas on the Beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: To just look outside and view the ocean through your airy windows is always a treat.
Cons: A few more electrical outlets would help considering the amount of devices we always use.
Location: Talk a walk to the waterfall, visit Manguito's, or even take a mule ride down river and to waterfall. You can even rent a boat to Marietta Island.
We always enjoy staying at Hotel Lagunita. If your looking for a relaxing vacation, look no further. The palapas are somewhat rustic but very comfortable. The restaurant has excellent food. And to just plop yourself on a beach lounger is the best. The hotel owner and staff are as accommodating as they can be. Hotel Lagunita in Yelapa is my favorite place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Del from Chicago

Palapas on the Beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: To just look outside and view the ocean through your airy windows is always a treat.
Cons: A few more electrical outlets would help considering the amount of devices we always use.
Location: Talk a walk to the waterfall, visit Manguito's, or even take a mule ride down river and to waterfall. You can even rent a boat to Marietta Island.
We always enjoy staying at Hotel Lagunita. If your looking for a relaxing vacation, look no further. The palapas are somewhat rustic but very comfortable. The restaurant has excellent food. And to just plop yourself on a beach lounger is the best. The hotel owner and staff are as accommodating as they can be. Hotel Lagunita in Yelapa is my favorite place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Del from Chicago

Palapas on the Beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: To just look outside and view the ocean through your airy windows is always a treat.
Cons: A few more electrical outlets would help considering the amount of devices we always use.
Location: Talk a walk to the waterfall, visit Manguito's, or even take a mule ride down river and to waterfall. You can even rent a boat to Marietta Island.
We always enjoy staying at Hotel Lagunita. If your looking for a relaxing vacation, look no further. The palapas are somewhat rustic but very comfortable. The restaurant has excellent food. And to just plop yourself on a beach lounger is the best. The hotel owner and staff are as accommodating as they can be. Hotel Lagunita in Yelapa is my favorite place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views, rustic charm, food was great.

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Easy going staff, spectacular views, great food. remote and rustic. If you are looking for up scale features it's the wrong place.
I love the ocean views and rustic charm. Staff was good and very easy going. The food was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Reyna from Walnut Creek

Beautiful bungalows

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
This place is really pretty and very quiet. If you like the out door feel then this is the place for you. This place is surrounded with a lot natural beauty. A true diamond in the ruff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mallory from Albuquerque, New Mexico

Paradise, though rustic

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: The scenery, the round rock swimming pool, the food. Being able to sit on the beach with your toes in the sand and have a great breakfast of huevos.
Cons: The rooms could have better lighting for reading at night.
Location: There are a lot of things to do, hike, ride horses, kayak, just lie on the beach, eat some great ceviche and drink cold Mexican beer.
I stayed three nights, but had planned on staying seven. My roommate wanted to leave to go back to Puerto Vallarta where she could shop. I liked the rustic surroundings, beautiful scenery, ocean sounds and primitive setting. I liked our palapa and the roomy bathroom. It rained really hard one night and some rain soaked my roommate's bed, so that contributed to her wanting to leave early. I had been to Yelapa l5 years previously and thought it was a beautiful little paradise. The staff there was very nice and accommodating. The best meal of my trip was a dorado fish served at their little restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from Oceanside, CA

Beautiful Beach!

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Good location, great views!
Cons: Bigger room fans!
Rustic rooms with electric fan and nets over comfortable beds. Requires a 40 minute water taxi ride in small boat with other people. Might be hot and humid. Bring all your own stuff, no stores. Hotel restaurant has excellent food. Beach restaurants have excellent food, if they're open. Great beach for hanging out. Fishing, island trips, snorkeling, waterfall somewhere near, water activities, beach vendors mellow, friendly locals...
Comment from
Jan 1, 2014
Thanks for all your comments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Madison

Right on the beach

Posted Jul 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our stay was a unique experience. You truly will feel relaxed and will not want to leave. Make sure you buy your taxi ticket on the boat since it is a little cheaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda S from Portland OR

Absolutely beautiful

Posted Apr 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
The greatest thing about Yelapa is that it is really hard to get to so if you are a comfort traveller then this is NOT for you. But it's so great because it keeps out the riffraff... the kind that eat too much and leave their styrofoam food containers on the beach with their cigarette butts. Yelapa is still a paradise, but probably not for long as they are growing fast and not keeping up with the sewage problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet perfect getaway

Posted Apr 8, 2013
The reason for my 5 star rating is because I loved the "raw" state of the hotel - no windows, everything natural!! If you want plush - this is not for you. If you want shack on the beach - this is perfect!!! Loved it and will definitely be back!