Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, but room for improvement

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Location and the beach
Cons: Service at the rhe restaurant was very slow, and for one dinner the meat was not of the best quality.
We had a nice stay at Mbweni Ruins Hotel, but the restaurant has room for improvement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashley from New York

Beautiful beach hotel near Stonetown

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff was friendly and helpful...the room was beautiful and the location could not be beat. It was the quintessential Zanzibar experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clare from UK

Nice small hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 23, 2013
Pros: The hotel was small with only 12-13 rooms which was great as when the other guests were out on day trips you pretty much had the place to yourself
Cons: Work was beginning on upgrading the rooms. I thought my room was fine, but apparantly guests wanted tv's and other creature comforts included
Location: The location was secluded and you felt miles from anywhere. I did a tour of nearby Stone Town which was well worth doing for a bit of culture!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JoeG from France

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was our third hotel stay on the island. The hotel is situated 10 minutes taxi from the town, and the rooms are fine. The small beach is tidal, but there is a pool to cool off in. Kayaks are provided free of charge for residents, and can be used at high tide. We noticed that there seems to be a problem with sand flys on the beach, as we were only there 3 hours, but were bitten many times. Unless you take a taxi or the shuttle to town, there is nothing to do in the area, and with no room TV, it’s a good time to catch up on the reading. WiFi was available, but I only found out about it on the second night, but it was quick. Our only comment was regarding the food. The breakfast was limited, but the fruit very tasty. There was limited other options, no cheese, olives, etc., and for this price, I expected a higher quality breakfast. The evening meal was priced the same as town, but a little bland, and limited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by JoeG from France

Out of Town Beach

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was our third hotel stay on the island. The hotel is situated 10 minutes taxi from the town, and the rooms are fine. The small beach is tidal, but there is a pool to cool off in. Kayaks are provided free of charge for residents, and can be used at high tide. We noticed that there seems to be a problem with sand flys on the beach, as we were only there 3 hours, but were bitten many times. Unless you take a taxi or the shuttle to town, there is nothing to do in the area, and with no room TV, it’s a good time to catch up on the reading. WiFi was available, but I only found out about it on the second night, but it was quick. Our only comment was regarding the food. The breakfast was limited, but the fruit very tasty. There was limited other options, no cheese, olives, etc., and for this price, I expected a higher quality breakfast. The evening meal was priced the same as town, but a little bland, and limited.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort hotel close to the beach

Posted Oct 19, 2013
Pros: On a positive note, the location was superb and the staff although in need of training were very willing to please.
Cons: There seemed to be a problem with the ordering and/or availability of basic food items particularly since we were resident over a holiday period.
Location: A tropical beach near to interesting and historical ruins with easy access to Stonetown by courtesy bus. Tours were available from the hotel.
It appears the hotel had recently changed hands and the resident chef had left. The hotel was tired and in need of updating which we believe that the new owners intend to do over a period of time. However at the present time the facilities and particularly the evening dining did not reflect the existing web site content. After polite discussion improvements were attempted but in our view an immediate and radical rescue programme is required by the new parent group. The location is first class and the hotel site has great potential particularly given its proximity to Stonetown but until it reaches 21st century resort standards we would be reluctant to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vikram from New York, NY

Decent respite from Stone Town

Posted Aug 6, 2013
We stayed for one night at Mbweni Ruins. The hotel is a short 10-minute drive away from both the ZNZ airport and Stone Town. The grounds are beautiful and the room nicely furnished. (The bathroom was a little worn and poorly designed, such that the shower got much of the bathroom wet, but that was a relatively small annoyance.) The restaurant is awesome, with good food and a wonderful outdoor environment! Lastly, everyone was very friendly; great service. The highlight of the place is a long dock that, on a clear night, lets one see an incredible array of stars!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely quiet spot

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Very helpful, courteous and friendly staff. Gardens and beach setting was much appreciated after a dusty safari, we really enjoyed our stay at Mbweni. he only drawback was that is was not safe to walk from the hotel to Stone Town which we had planned to do every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2013 on Hotels.com