Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great experience

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Loved the quietness, we had a jacuzzi suite it was awesome. So relaxing. Staff was very nice and knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul

Nice hotel; good location relative to Duluth

Posted Aug 17, 2016
This has been our hotel every time we go to the North Shore. The hotel is convenient, 2 hours from the Twin Cities, and just south of Duluth. All was well this time as well, except that the staff is not quite diligent about restocking the continental breakfast and making sure the tables are clean as soon as possible. It was Sunday morning and it was somewhat of a zoo at breakfast. Otherwise the room is nice, comfortable, and clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired dated hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Location. Attendant at front desk on arrival was very helpful.
Cons: See coments above..just about everything
Hotel is in serious need of an update . Carpets and furniture are worn and soiled, beds uncomfortable and a/c noisy and blows over bed all night. Breakfast bar room is locked until precisely start time and is set up by front desk staff making you wonder about how sanitary, safe the food is. Breakfast bar was by far worst of any hotel in our 2 week trip. Sorry to be negative but when paying good money one expects more for accommodation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Upper Michigan

return visit

Posted Aug 1, 2016
We have stayed at the hotel several times and we've never been disappointed. There is nothing I would change. We will be back...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Very nice, quiet hotel. Very clean and comfortable. Only bad part was the hot tub dis colored my swimsuit and my silver ring got very tarnished not sure yet if it will be fixable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Our room smelled musky and found a slug in the bathroom. Otherwise its a ok hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fargo

Great location with easy access

Posted Jul 23, 2016
It was a good stay. Breakfast was very good. The beds had two very different quality mattresses, which was weird.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to freeway

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Put out more food at breakfast. When they made a batch of oatmeal, it was only enough for 3 people and then someone had to ask for more again.
Location: In the winter there is skiing on Spirit Mountain. In the summer there are lighthouses, hiking trails, beaches, brewery tours and more.
GPS misidentified location and caused us to drive quite a way up Spirit Mountain, unnecessarily. Good thing it was still daylight. Room was ready and clean, plenty of pillows. It was nice to have a small refrigerator in the room, as well as a gas station with grocery section next door. Desk clerk messed up our room keys and they expired in the middle of the next day, and we had to go to the desk for new keys (carrying all luggage all the way around the hotel -it was very annoying). Beds were comfy and bathroom very clean, but they were perpetually out of everything at breakfast. People had to keep asking them to put out more stuff, and the line for the single wafflemaker was just too long.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Washington, WI

Perfect

Posted Jul 21, 2016
If there is such a thing as a perfect hotel stay, this was it. Chilled lemon water and chocolate chip cookies at the check-in desk and a 24hr coffee setup nearby. Our room had a sofa, easy chair, tv, end table, coffee table, two lamps and desk area. A regular comfortable living room. Next was the immaculate bathroom with the usual amenities. Across from the bathroom was a microwave, fridge, coffee maker and two closets. Then the bed area, king bed with five pillows! A padded bench seat and another tv completed this area. Sheer curtains with room darkening drapes. Very light and airy. Registration attendant very friendly and called as we were getting settled to see if all was to our satisfaction. It sure was! Breakfast was the usual fare with the added bonus of blueberry waffle batter and additional blueberries for the top. Sausages were hot and muffins fresh. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls

I've had better stay's here..

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Pros: Staff is helpful and friendly. Cost is good for the area.
Cons: Cleanliness, breakfast supply and variety.
Location: Near to Duluth without the price tag of staying in a downtown hotel.
I have stayed here before when in town for both business and pleasure, and it has always been ok in terms of cleanliness, breakfast, and staff. Not the cleanest hotel or newest hotel, but ok for the money. Usuallyit's pretty quiet. Staff has always been friendly and helpful on my stay's. This stay however was sub par, mostly due to breakfast. By 7:30 am they were out of forks, out of eggs, no oatmeal, and little to offer for breakfast. As I have stayed here before, I know they can do better. Could have been better cleaned in bathroom, I really hate seeing other peoples hair on the vanity or shower. I will maybe think twice about using this hotel when in town for business next.