Ratings based on 536 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leawood, KS

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Very pleasant overnight stay. Excellent staff and well maintained facility. Easy access from interstate and easy to get to local attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Dear Wayne, Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I hope you are able to visit us again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Green Bay WI

Too expensive for the quality of the hotel.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Expedia web site
Cons: The entire experience was employee attitude.
Location: The location was great. It was close to everything but far enough away for quiet time,
ceiling fan was loose and rattled when used, The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The staff was short tempered and unhelpful. The next couple received a real nice welcome, answered questions and gave coupons. We were lucky to get the time of day. I would not come back, worst hotel. The employees should understand they work with people and their attitude carries either a positive or negative message. The desk persons message was I am too busy for you go away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Deanna, GM, Hotel Management
Dear BDL, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, IL

Duluth Trip

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to Duluth area
Cons: Breakfast....most of the Best Westerns I've stayed at offer biscuits and gravy, this one did not. The eggs were rubbery, not very edible.
Location: City of Duluth and all it has to offer is nearby (probably 10 mins drive, if that)
Good, quiet area, with easy access to explore the Duluth area. Gas station, convenience store next door. They do have an indoor pool and hot tub, as well as an exercise room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Deanna, Hotel Management
Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I hope you will visit us again soon! Sincerely, Deanna Gregorich, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to gas and freeway

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Staff was friendly and informative. Room was nice and clean. Breakfast was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Deanna, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I hope you will visit us again soon! Sincerely, Deanna Gregorich, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, quiet, friendly and helpful staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
This was a nice basic hotel in a location that was good for us; convenient, but not downtown. The breakfast was good, although on a busy Sunday morning they couldn't keep up with dishes or food demand. Very friendly front desk staff. We were on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet, especially for a booked hotel. More than we would pay for this hotel normally, but comparable to other hotels in Duluth.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2017 by Deanna, Hotel Management
Dear Tracy, Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I hope you will visit us again soon! Sincerely, Deanna Gregorich, GM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenfield, WI

Nice Hotel, but Inept and Ineffective Management

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: It looks nice and is convenient to get to.
Cons: More parking places. A complete overhaul of management or detailed training so they stop lying and are aware of what's going on in their hotel.
When we checked in, we were placed in the wrong type of room. The front desk insisted that this was Expedia's fault and that no other rooms were available. After 15 minute, she finally got her manager, who found me a different room. Later on, I was talking to the manager and she said Expedia screwed up a bunch of reservations where people said they booked 2 rooms but Expedia only reserved 1 room at the hotel. She said "Thank God we had plenty of extra rooms available". Obviously they preferred lying to me initially rather than trying to fix the problem. In the fitness room, when I stepped on the treadmill, it was extremely unstable. A fitness ball was wedged under the treadmill. I know the employees of the hotel didn't place this ball under the treadmill, but it is very concerning because putting simply wiping down the treadmill would have revealed the issue. Since there was no cleaning solution in the fitness center to use once your workout is complete, it makes me wonder how often this room is cleaned or tended to. Then, at 1:30 in the morning, a wedding party decided to visit our floor. The were loud and unruly. I waited about 15 minutes for them to quiet down, but they kept getting louder. My wife tried calling the front desk for over 10 minutes with no answer. When she finally spoke with the front desk, they sad they would handle it. The noise continued past 2:30. How do you not notice a throng of loud, drunk people entering your hotel?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel! Great staff

Posted May 19, 2017
Good experience. The front desk staff was very friendly and willing to accommodate to every need. Anne was working when we checked in and she was super friendly and beyond helpful everyday we were there! She helped us with everything we needed and went out of our way to help us print tickets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and your kind words. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Nice location for easy access to interstate for vacation/sightseeing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Willmar, mn

Quick trip

Posted Apr 30, 2017
We were only in Duluth for a quick overnight. Nice hotel, beds a little uncomfortable but very clean and super friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Deanna Gregorich, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by Dale

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Deanna, Hotel Management
Dear Dale, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay at the Best Western Plus Spirit Mountain Duluth. I hope you are able to visit us again soon. Sincerely, Deanna Gregorich, GM