Ratings based on 595 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Disappointment of Time.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: As they say in the real estate business: location, location, location.
Cons: The architecture is historic/perfect. Keep the building exteriors as is but with some needed repair of surfaces. Focus on refurbishing rooms.
Location: This is the Monterey Peninsula!!!
Asilomar has a beautiful, wondrous, captivating past. Unfortunately, it is now a perfect example of what happens when you give a pristine property to the State that turns it into a State Park and places it in the hands of a for-profit concessionaire to operate. The only two things left from old is the architecture of the buildings and the sea, only one of which you have any control over. Still mindful that Asilomar is a conference center/retreat and not a mega resort, I had no problem with the lack of room amenities (no TV, no phone, no mini-bar). Another disappointing surprise was the noise carry through the rooms. I could hear a conversation in the room next door as clearly as if I were in that room. It nearly caused me to tip-toe around in my own room. But, as such and with its deteriorating physical condition, Asilomar book room rates are above market.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential, but run down.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The area is great and the hotel and grounds could be amazing if kept up. But the buildings are run down, with awful decor, dorm-room atmosphere, broken fixtures, etc. Not worth it for what they're charging.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from walnut creek ca.

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Asilamar is a wonderful place. The corporation that owns it is cut throat. They over burden their employees, charge for an extra every chance they get and don't care about individual guests. They came in and took it over and many long standing customers never have come back. It used to be family oriented and all that has stopped. They discourage the family reunion in favor of big corporate business. You won't find happy face employees here. As an old timer it breaks my heart.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern california

Horrible for the price!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Staff was not helpful. Rooms were tiny. No phones or tv in rooms. Just not worth it. Will never stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marysville CA

This place is great. Very nice.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Free pool table and piano in the lodge.
Cons: Warmer water in the pool.
Location: Kind of out of town, but not too far. very classy and peaceful.
I booked at the last minute and this was the only thing I could find. When we arrived we were blown away. This is a classy place close to the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Amazing! Right on the dunes next to the beach.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Great location, beautiful grounds and very quiet! Lovely architecture and homey feeling.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

a crowded private retreat

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: It is very quiet and very quaint
Cons: Would it kill them to include a mini fridge and a microwave? I guess so, as the dinning hall and cafe are big money makers.
Location: The location is right at the beach, nestled in the trees. Very very beautiful and nice if you like to walk or jog. Close to Pebble beach golf course
There are over 300 guest rooms spread out over several acres at Asilomar. If you are there for a conference it is great, lots of space for meetings, decent WiFi and no distractions like having a TV or food in the room. If you are staying just to visit Monterey and Carmel it is nice, but away from services and places to eat. Very dark at night, pool closes at sunset. We were on the second story and had ants in the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

great as conference center-hotel not so much

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The wonderful setting and the marvelous nature preserve boardwalk almost to the beach!
Cons: The condition of the facilities and enough parking so you don't have to worry about finding a place when you come back from a dinner out.
Location: I was there for 'car week' so I was busy enough to prevent much other activity exploration.
Spectacular, peaceful setting worth the price of admission but no sound insulation so every word and action from my downstairs neighbors intruded constantly even though they were only moderately loud. Parking was inadequate in number and proximity to my room. Facilities were clean but shabby and showing wear especially in the bathroom and it was hard not to get splinters if brushing against the stairways. I can imagine a lovely retreat for a group with many meetings away from the guest room itself and catered meals delivered to them. As a hotel, I missed nice, welcoming bathroom amenities to distract from the condition and 'bare-bones' nature of the bathroom. Inasmuch as food is not always available when you want it on site and you have to drive to get it, perhaps a refrigerator - especially with the fear of losing a parking space being a factor? Nevertheless, Asilomar is hard not to like despite it all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lafayette, Ca

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Very quiet and comfortable with fire place and balcony. Needs a remodel though
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Beautiful spot and great for families. Pretty basic, no frills accommodations.