Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Dog friendly hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The staff were helpful
Cons: I only stayed over night, as with everything in life there is always room for improvement.
Staff was friendly and accommodating. Gave me a main floor room with sliding doors to make walking the dogs easier.the bed was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good. I had traveled 7 hrs from a dog show in Minniapolis and the dogs & I were hungry and tired.the staff was very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from warsaw ind

terrible

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
we canceled after we went into room it stunk and the toilet would not flush the pillows had stains on them and they wont refund our money and i think you should do whatever to get our money back i know none of you would stay there we went there for our anniversary and it ruined our night
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel, convenient location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Pool area. Low price.
Cons: The building needs major renovation.
Location: St Joseph is just a short drive away, really beautiful. We also liked Warren Dunes state park, and one day we drove to Kalamazoo to see the Air Zoo.
Before staying at this hotel, I read all the reviews and was a little worried since I was going there with three young kids. It is true that the building is old and needs updating, but the room was clean; we asked for extra towels and that was not a problem. The kids really liked the pool. The location is very convenient, just off the expressway. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel room, then this is a perfect (and cheap) solution. I would not recommend the breakfast there; it's cheap but not very good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Last resort

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The hotel was dirty and had an unpleasant odor. Needed major attention. We looked for ice to no avail. Asked for ice at the desk they said there wasn't any. A short while later a guy went to the desk and requested ice and was given two cups of ice. The pool was nice but there were no towels available after our swim. Will not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Not a good experience.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: This hotel is run down and the pictures are misleading.
Cons: This hotel is not what it appeared in Expedia. The facilities were not well kept. This hotel looked more like a cheap motel and lacked cust. service.
Location: Silver beach
We had a terrible experience from the moment we pulled into parking lot. I took my family for a weekend at Saint Joseph's Silver Beach in Michigan. All the near by hotels in the $150 range were booked except for this one. When we arrived, there was food and chicken bones on the floor by the hotel entrance. We checked in and hotel's carpeting was dirty and the facilities not well kept. When we arrived in our room, the bed was extremely hard, and the room was very run down. Not a $113 room for sure. We proceeded to drive into town to see if we may find another hotel, we found one at almost $200 per night which I was willing to pay so that my family would not have to stay at the American Suites booked hotel. I returned to the hotel roughly an hour later and told the front desk we were not staying. They refused to refund the two nights and only refunded my card for one night--even though we had not even spent any time in the room nor touched or moved anything in the room. The room could have certainly been re-sold as we left it as we found it. I will call American Express next to dispute the charges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Nice, comfortable, clean hotel near silver beach. Great rates and great friendly service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, Ontario

Desperately to be renovated

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Availability for weekend
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing decent close by
The only place with rooms left close to the beach for the Ironman Steelhead weekend. Pricing is equivalent what you get.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN

Not much available and I was luck to find a room

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The pool area.
Cons: Better bath towels. Better job of cleaning the sheets.
The room was generally clean. It had two queen bed. One of the two appeared to bed used. There was sand on the sheets. I do not think they had been changed. I slept in the other bed which seemed fine. The only other comment I would make is that the bath towels are more the size on hand towels. Not sure what they are thinking. Would I stay there again? Well, this was the only place available in 45 miles. So yes, under those conditions I would stay there again. If other options existed, probably not. The hotel does have a nice pool area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Weekend stay at Best Value Inn

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: Everything especially providing training for managers. Mangers should always listen to his or her customers then try to resolve without confrontation
Location: Not much to do but it was convenient to 94 interstate
The air conditioner face was busted, phone not working, all ice machines down, and no stopper in the tub. The hotel cleaning man was seen through out the hotel in the day time continuously disinfecting. I believe this was so because the carpeting was so nasty and the hotel had this order to it. After making various complaints about room first desk attendant advised us that he will have issues fixed and if not he would rout my family to another room. When I came into town, we did not check in until 4 oclock and immediately left for a funeral and in the evening my moms 50th class reunion; therefore, we did not make it back to the hotel until 11:00 pm. After noon desk person was horrible. He told us that we would not receive a refund for first night rather we stayed or not. Very rude to my family and my debit card customer service area. As of today, we still have not receive a refund from the hotel and did not stay one night. The man said that he was the midnight manager and he could not accommodate us at all regardless of what condition the room was in. When turning on the air conditioner we smelt burning wires. Hotel manager told us it smell like we were using hot irons. I told manager that we are a family who wear wigs and weaves; therefore his statement was not true. I would not let a dog stay at this hotel. Desk managers should be required to take some time of customer service training. I rate this rat hole a 0
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

None

Posted Aug 11, 2014
They said that it was free breakfast and a family room and a refrigirator. And there was nothing in the room and on the balcony beer cans all around.