Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Posted Oct 31, 2014
No air conditioning , when I booked the room with this service. Needed to sleep with the window open facing the street with a lot noise from young kids all night long till 6:00 AM The hotel charge me 10 Euros per night additional for use of their parking facility , it should be included on nightly rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, dumpy hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: good location
Cons: The lobby, a/c, need to provide washcloths in bathroom, wake up call came 45 min. early
I thought the hotel pictures on Expedia were extremely flattering compared to reality. The lobby was depressing and is the first impression you get. When we got off the elevator to go to our room the hall was full of laundry carts and dirty trays.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Excellent location.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: We love the location for walking and restaurants.
Cons: Overall upkeep.
Location: Restaurants, church, castle and location of parking worked well.
The front desk personal were very friendly and accommodating The hotel itself was a bit disappointing. The hotel is very beaten up, desperately in need of new carpeting and door frames replaced. As we were settling into our room and putting our clothing away we discovered socks in the closet from the previous occupant as well as a tie in the sofa. This was a bit unsettling however the rest of the room looked clean so we didn't ask to be moved. The curtains in our room were falling down as well as the bar that the curtains hung from. The room was nice, it just needs a lot of maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

A little too modern

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was very good. There was juice, coffee, fruit, wonderful croissants and pastries, eggs, meat & cheese and pancakes.
Cons: Make the rooms more comfortable.
Location: Very close to the boat harbor and within easy walking distance to the art museum, men's abbey, women's abbey, shopping district and restaurants.
We had a very nice two-day stay here, right in the heart of Caen. The staff was very helpful in helping us book a tour to the Normandy beaches where the Allies landed on D-Day. However the design of the room was a little uncomfortable. There was no shower door, so the water ran onto the floor. The shower fixtures took some study in order to use them. The d├ęcor of the room was rather sparse...no drawers to put your clothes, only space for one person to sit at the desk and work on the computer. The safe was not big enough to store a laptop.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

NOT VERY SUITE!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Sloped entrance to hotel instead of schlepping to the Ibis next door and back again with a trolley to get back INTO the Mercure! What a nonsense!
The problem (according to the front desk at this hotel) is with Expedia. Not with Mercure (Accor).When we booked this hotel, we believed that we were getting a "Junior Suite". The hotel say that they do not HAVE a junior suite. THAT is what EXPEDIA describe a "privilege room". So, what IS a privilege room? It is over and above whatever a "standard" room is.That is, it has 5 free soft drinks and a room safe. Now, MY idea of a suite - junior, senior, is a separated section where I can meet people in my room divided from the bedroom. In fairness, when I expressed my discontent to the girl on the front desk showing her the Expedia reservation stating "Junior Suite" and that I would remark about this on traveller's websites, she must have thought about that and rang my room a few minutes later offering to show me a "family room". I explained that we'd already unpacked everything and we'd reluctantly stick with the room. I have no idea if their "family room" IS a suite! The hotel is well situated in the Port Plaisance, close to the town and several nice restaurants (including the great LE CARLOTTA). Because of the high steps to this hotel, you walk along about 50 metres to their adjoining IBIS hotel, get a trolley, then walk it back to your car, walk back again to the Ibis (where there is a sloped entrance) and then to your room through the connecting passageway. Buffet breakfast. Make your own coffee machine. Four stars. Why? Score? Expedia 0, Mercure 0.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Perfect position

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: as above
Cons: A mirror needs to be placed where the hair dryer is situated as at the moment it is too far away from the main mirror.
Location: Situated in town centre where there are many restaurants nearby also short distances to travel to many WW2 war memorials/museums.
Perfect position in town centre for restaurants and for visiting war memorials in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Gfrom Miami

Great location

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We just had a quick stopover in Caen and the hotel location is perfect. It is situated in a neighborhood with tons of restaurants and bars which made grabbing a bite after we arrived starving perfect. Very lively area and we wish we had more time to explore. Hotel was clean and they were ready for our check-in before we arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Christinefrom Southern California

Posted May 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location to visit to visit Normandy. Walking distance to good restaurants. Staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Alysefrom USA

Festival season...

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent, however, our room was on the ground floor and there was a great deal of activity and noise due to the ongoing Fair. Wonderful buffet breakfast and the staff was most accommodating .