Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Excellent location.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: We love the location for walking and restaurants.
Cons: Overall upkeep.
Location: Restaurants, church, castle and location of parking worked well.
The front desk personal were very friendly and accommodating The hotel itself was a bit disappointing. The hotel is very beaten up, desperately in need of new carpeting and door frames replaced. As we were settling into our room and putting our clothing away we discovered socks in the closet from the previous occupant as well as a tie in the sofa. This was a bit unsettling however the rest of the room looked clean so we didn't ask to be moved. The curtains in our room were falling down as well as the bar that the curtains hung from. The room was nice, it just needs a lot of maintenance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

A little too modern

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was very good. There was juice, coffee, fruit, wonderful croissants and pastries, eggs, meat & cheese and pancakes.
Cons: Make the rooms more comfortable.
Location: Very close to the boat harbor and within easy walking distance to the art museum, men's abbey, women's abbey, shopping district and restaurants.
We had a very nice two-day stay here, right in the heart of Caen. The staff was very helpful in helping us book a tour to the Normandy beaches where the Allies landed on D-Day. However the design of the room was a little uncomfortable. There was no shower door, so the water ran onto the floor. The shower fixtures took some study in order to use them. The décor of the room was rather sparse...no drawers to put your clothes, only space for one person to sit at the desk and work on the computer. The safe was not big enough to store a laptop.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

NOT VERY SUITE!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Sloped entrance to hotel instead of schlepping to the Ibis next door and back again with a trolley to get back INTO the Mercure! What a nonsense!
The problem (according to the front desk at this hotel) is with Expedia. Not with Mercure (Accor).When we booked this hotel, we believed that we were getting a "Junior Suite". The hotel say that they do not HAVE a junior suite. THAT is what EXPEDIA describe a "privilege room". So, what IS a privilege room? It is over and above whatever a "standard" room is.That is, it has 5 free soft drinks and a room safe. Now, MY idea of a suite - junior, senior, is a separated section where I can meet people in my room divided from the bedroom. In fairness, when I expressed my discontent to the girl on the front desk showing her the Expedia reservation stating "Junior Suite" and that I would remark about this on traveller's websites, she must have thought about that and rang my room a few minutes later offering to show me a "family room". I explained that we'd already unpacked everything and we'd reluctantly stick with the room. I have no idea if their "family room" IS a suite! The hotel is well situated in the Port Plaisance, close to the town and several nice restaurants (including the great LE CARLOTTA). Because of the high steps to this hotel, you walk along about 50 metres to their adjoining IBIS hotel, get a trolley, then walk it back to your car, walk back again to the Ibis (where there is a sloped entrance) and then to your room through the connecting passageway. Buffet breakfast. Make your own coffee machine. Four stars. Why? Score? Expedia 0, Mercure 0.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from kent

Perfect position

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: as above
Cons: A mirror needs to be placed where the hair dryer is situated as at the moment it is too far away from the main mirror.
Location: Situated in town centre where there are many restaurants nearby also short distances to travel to many WW2 war memorials/museums.
Perfect position in town centre for restaurants and for visiting war memorials in the area.
1 out of 5
by Simon from London

Very rude staff

Posted Mar 18, 2014
We booked a Junior Suite. We were given a normal room and when we asked for the suit the desk manager said we hadn't paid enough, despite having the expedia confirmation stating a suite. We had to really argue the point, for nearly 30 Mins, which was very embarrasing; we eventually got the room we booked but the situation was ridiculous. The rudness and argumentative attitude of the staff really spoilt our one night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel to stay in Caen

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: Extremely clean and comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast excellent, think it was around 12 euro, definitely worth it.
Location: Short walk to castle, restaurants and shops. Good place to stay if hiring a car to explore the Brittany D day beaches.
Had a large room, king bed, luxury pillows, more than comfortable. Staff were excellent, most had good English. would definitely stay at this hotel again if were in Caen. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Short taxi ride from the train station or about a 15 minute walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a great location

Posted Jan 7, 2014
The hotel is centrally located providing easy access to everything in the town. We were immediately across the street from the Sunday morning market too. The under hotel parking was great since it rained every day we were there. The breakfast was very good although we got the same breakfast for 5 Euros less in Marseille just a few days before.The woman at the front desk was very friendly and extremely helpful. I was very happy to have the ability to make coffee in the room which is something we didn't experience in Marseille.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by agtq5 from NJ, USA

Great value

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very large rooms especially for European standards. Very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. Hotel is within walking distance of many restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin from Ontario, Canada

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Good hotel - friendly, English speaking staff. Great location for sightseeing - right in middle of scenic downtown harbor. Many restaurant choices within walking distance. 5 min walk to Caen castle and its two museums. Easy parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
In general very good service, front desk team are excellent. But let down by the fact that on many occasions the bar is left unattended, I walked away a few times as there was just no one there and saw several others do the same. This happened in the morning, afternoon and early evening, which is a shame because he bar tenders were very pleasant when they were there. On one occasion the Front Desk team member had to leave the front desk to go and look for the bar tender, but he never appeared, leaving two areas unmanned.