Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

celebration

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: everything:)
Cons: warming up the outside pool brrrr
Location: very central for walking and access to Nice,Cannes
i took my sister to Juan Les Pins to this hotel to celebrate her "special" birthday, she had worked there 42 years ago so it was a small trip down memory lane. hotel upgraded us to Suite room everything was lovely we couldn't fault the hotel at all. we had a wonderful time and will definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent Break

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Location, and comfort. Very amiable staff with excellent housekeeping. Use of Hotels private beach which had good facilities /restuarant.
Cons: Price of breakfast. Not worth 20 - 25 euros.
Location: Easily reached by bus from airport. Excellent shops and local restaurants/bars. Chilled out vibe.
Really comfortable hotel and only five minutes from the Hotels own Private beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not USA Marriott standards

Posted Sep 10, 2014
3 differerent rooms in 3 days. No A/C the first, No TV the second. The staff was just barely accdeptable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solihull, UK

Fairly average hotel overly priced

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: With the exception of the bed, Junior Suite we had was comfortable and had a nice partial sea view (apparently upgraded...although purchased as so?!)
Cons: Concierge was poor (when actually there!!); not being able to get a coffee until 12pm then finding no one serving was annoying; too conference focused
Location: This area is a great base to explore the Cote D'Azur. Central for Nice/Cannes/Monte Carlo/Grasse...all accessible by train. Affordable fine dining too
My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Juan Les Pins as a resort however both felt that the AC Ambassadeur failed to live up to the large fee it commands, primarily due to the often lacklustre service of the staff (concierge, chambermaids & bar staff) and the mediocre facilities (sauna which didn't work, very hard mattresses & bar unmanned so unable to get coffee at midday)...not what you would expect for a hotel of this rating/cost. If you are looking to holiday in the Cote D'Azur I would suggest you stay in an apartment or find a villa, as this is such a great area but the hotels appear overpriced on the evidence of our stay and that of those we spoke to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by alina glomot, Hotel Management
Dear Axel F, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to his review I felt very sorry to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay in our hotel and that we did not fulfil your expectations. Rest assured that we have taken good note of your remarks and that the problems you encountered were taken care of immediately. I sincerely regret any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your comments and suggestions have been transmitted to the relevant heads of department in order to continue improving our service. I hope that this inconvenience has not tarnished your image of our hotel, and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the AC Ambassadeur in the future. Sincerely yours, Alina Glomot Guest Relations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Close to all amenities

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Been to this hotel many times the staff are always helpful the hotel is clean and has everything you need. Lovely pool close to town and good beach restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Expensive but great experience

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Location, the pool area.
Location: Beach is two minutes walk away, the buzzing 'down town' area of bars and restaurants even closer.
The Ambassadeur is a large and modern business-class hotel, unusual for this resort. It also has an excellent outdoor pool with bar, as well as an indoor pool and small fitness room. Room was excellent. Food OK - NB with so many places to eat outside, the hotel does not expect guests to eat in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Good hotel close to shops & restaurants

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and relaxing ambiance.
Cons: Good pool but paddling pool needed for young children. Wifi should be free!
Location: Lots of restaurants, shops and park close by.
Nice hotel with pleasant staff. Clean and spacious with excellent location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rebecca from NYC

Great hotel in the beach town of Juan-Les-Pins

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
we stayed here for 1 night as part of a 10 day trip around France. The hotel itself was perfectly nice...a standard Marriott type hotel. Our room was very clean and modern and comfortable and a large-ish room. We did not choose the more expensive room overlooking the pool because we didnt think there was really any point. The hotel is a few blocks from the beach so nothing has an ocean view. There was free wifi in the lobby althought it didn't work great but no free wifi in the rooms. The marriott has chairs down on the beach but you have to pay to rent them for the days and its about 25 euro per chair for the day. Don't rent their chairs...walk furthing down the beach to La Douce and rent for 16-18 euro instead. Overall we loved our night in Juan-les-pins and thought this hotel was a great find for the money.
1 out of 5
by Charles from UK

Nowhere near the 5* hotel promised

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: If you want to attend a conference at the conference centre next door then I am sure this would be fine. Otherwise don't bother.
At the end of a fabulous holiday I decided to treat my family to the ultimate luxury - a 5* hotel experience in Antibes. It started badly. When we opened the mini bar there was an overpowering stench of brie that the previous guest had left from many days earlier - the staff came and removed it, but the smell lingered for several hours. It was then that all the things that clearly made this NOT a 5* hotel started to come into focus - there was cheap formica on the floor, the furniture was slightly shabby, there was no dressing gown / robe. It was hardly a 4* - maybe just a 3*. But it had it's own beach so it could't be so bad - we walked down there, but it was closed. The next day we decided to visit the luxury pool - but it was being cleaned (at 9am) so we decided to pop off to the beach - it must be open, we concluded. It was then that we were told that the 'private beach' actually cost €15 per person - we were expected to pay €60 for the four of us to have a quick swim. I was helpfully told that there was a public beach. I knew because I had visited it the evening before: being the only public beach in the area, it was a popular venue for the neighbourhood dogs who, quite reasonably, like to do their business when they encounter sand. The receptionist was a redeeming factor. When I pointed out the hotel's shortcomings, she was genuinely upset and offered free car parking and to extend our checkout. But it was too late. We just wanted to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2014 by Charles Richez, Hotel Management
Dear Charles, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry that you had a poor experience especially with the minibar item left from a previous guest and i've forwarded your comments to my team to prevent such a thing to happen again. Regarding the wood floor, All our guest enjoy this type of floor and they find it cleaner than carpet which is harder to maintain. Our pool is cleaned everyday and due to high occupancy we do some heavy cleaning from time to time. To prevent too much noise while our guest sleep, we cannnot do it too early unfortunately but we have an indoor pool also available if need be. Regarding our private beach club with restaurant and bar, we provide a full service sunbed with confortable mattress, ombrela and large towels and life guard service as well. This is why we charge for this service which is thenormal practice in all the private beachs around. Public beach are also available but they have no service available but are free to access. I would be very happy to welcome you back to show you better our nice facilities and I'm sure that you'll have a much better experience. Kind regards, Charles Richez General Manager
3 out of 5
by Christopher from Newmarket. UK

Below its rating

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: The staff from desk to car jockey are excellent. The concierge even gave me a lift to my French bank branch. He thought it might be shut otherwise !
Cons: The excessive charges
Location: Central and Juan is always lively at night, with a casino, restaurants and late shopping. It also has excellent and free,extensive, public beaches
This hotel is 5 star merely because it has the facilities required by the French official body. It bears no comparison with other 5 star hotels in Juan. It is scandalous that it has no free wifi in the rooms, in this day and age. It also charges for everything else it can, and not at good rates for guests. If you are looking for 5 star, go to the Belles Rives, the Hotel du Cap or the Juana instead. I have been going to Juan for over forty years, and would not pick this as my hotel of choice. The junior staff are keen and very helpful but the air is that Marriott have misjudged their market in this area and what they can get away with elsewhere is not suited to it.