Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from Papua New Guinea

ideal location

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is ideally located and is a walking distance to almost all amenities.
2 out of 5
by Eric from Nairobi

Great change

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: Rooms are clean
Cons: Staff and personel
Location: Location is fine
The experience was not too pleasant, no wifi in the rooms, the sockets are outdated, most staff. Are not customer friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a relatively old hotel with reasonable cleanliness and maintenance. It is only a 15-20 min. walk to the Cape Town International Conference Center. Staff members were friendly and knowledgeable. We had a nice view of the Table Mountain from our room. There were many public safety personnel on the streets and in the Water Front area. There was a police car parked in front of this hotel most of the time when we were there. We felt quite safe during the day. Local guests were very vocal and noisy in the hall way before 10 pm on one night. It was quiet for the rest of the week. A good and reasonable breakfast is also included. There is a good and fancy local restaurant across the street from the hotel.
1 out of 5
by David from Birmingham, AL

VERY DIRTY HOTEL

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: The STAFF were friendly and accomodating.
Cons: VERY DIRTY AND RUN DOWN
Location: VERY NOISY LOCATION BUT CLOSE TO SOME WONDERFUL RESTAURANTS.
It was very dirty and smelly. We had to go out and buy cleaning supplies just so we could be comfortable. They do not provide wash cloths and they are very stingy with toilet paper and towels. The staff themselves were very friendly and accomodating though which made up for the physical condition of the hotel. The first room we got had duct tape holding the shower together. The heat did not work. The location is not the best given that it was very noisey on the street at all times of the day. Don't expect quality TV (4 or 5 channels at most).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by zanx from England

basic but acceptable

Posted May 16, 2012
Pros: breakfast had 4 cereals,tea, coffee & 3 juices. There was fruit, two types of yoghurt and usually 6 hot dishes plus a chef preparing omellettes
Cons: mixed clientele a lot of young africans who were quite rowdy
Location: good location for getting down to the waterfront or up to table mountain
Very Basic rooms but relatively clean. Although advertised as having tea and coffer making facilities this constituted a kettle and some cups but not actually tea or coffee. A good choice of hot and cold buffet breakfast included in the price made up for this though. Quite centrally located and only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the waterfront and five minutes from the livelier bars on long street. The safes on the ninth floor don't work but there are dual key control safety deposit boxes available from reception at no extra cost. Very reasonably priced hotel bar with a large television area for watching sports but the area can become very crowded with other hotel residents. Approximately 200 rand taxi transfer (rank straight outside the door) to the airport so not particularly pricy but ensure you agree taxi fares on any journeys as they tend to be non metred and if not careful you can get ripped off
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Bangalore, India

the Tulip Hotel is close to the is very central

Posted Mar 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very centrally located. it is close to water fronts, convention centre, rail way station and for air port transfers. The bed room is big with big beds. But the maintenance is very poor. Lift is not proper. The a/c is not properly working. The cold water is running in the tap of the basin and nobody repaired the same in spite of several requests. Even the refilling of the food stuff is not proper at the breakfast buffet. The breakfast tables are not rearranged if someone has used it. The staff at the reception is very cordial and friendly with helping hand.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rio de janeiro

Don´t go there!!

Posted Feb 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is not that close to the waterfront.. around 25 minutes walk, and not an easy walk. In the first day i was there, around 7pm (the sun was still out), there was a robbery in front of the hotel. Scary.. The room has a good size, but was not very clean: there was cockroaches in the room. The air conditioning was from 1950s, not working at all. I asked them to change the room (was too hot to stay there) but they said they didn´t have any room left but they would fix the air conditioning in the next day. I stayed 2 more days and it never happened.. The attendents from Angola were very kind and nice with us, but a white blonde manager that works of there was extremelly RUDE all the time, specially when i complained about the air conditioning. He made an ironical face and was not nice at all with us. I really thing that he should be fired. I don´t recommend the hotel at all!
2 out of 5
by Ludvig from Europe

2days stay in january

Posted Jan 30, 2012
Nice and helpfull staff. Hotel is though at the same time operated as a students housing and was quite noisy. There was a used towel in my room as I came and now toilett paper...
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not bad at all

Posted Dec 29, 2009
Decent 3 star hotel, good value for the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

Security concerns

Posted Nov 18, 2009
The positives about this hotel are the central location, (one block from the hop on hop off bus); the airconditioning worked, the included breakfast was reasonable and I was able to leave my suitcase in a locked room for the day. The negatives are a very creaky lift, dirty, stained sheets on the bed and the lack of security. Twice during my stay, maids let themselves into my room while I was there, without knocking. There is no interior lock or chain , so anyone with a key can walk right in. The second time I was in bed and although I had pushed my suitcase up against the door, it did not stop the maid from trying to push it out of the way to enter. Complaints to the front desk were brushed off. Very inflexible about late check out or early check in. Did not even check to see if the room was ready but bluntly told me at 1.00 p.m. that I was too early. I knew this, but most hotels will at least check to see if the room is ready.