Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice people friendly and good breakfast

Posted Aug 25, 2014
very nice people friendly and good breakfast, clean rooms and nice location
3 out of 5
by Rosa from Chicago

Ok for short stays

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Beds where very comfortable, rooms very quite a nice size for a family, rates where great
Cons: The rest rooms where way too small, very dissapointing. The pool was a bit small and could have been a lot cleaner.
Just ok, not sure if we will be using the same hotel for longer stays
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast staff were extremely attentive

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: breakfast, proximity to campus, very nice staff
Cons: hallways were quite dirty with debris, just need a quick vacuum
Location: first time visit to U of I.... quite a bit within walking distance (a good 20 min walk)
Room was standard, but clean and comfortable. Two double beds with pull out sofa. Hot breakfast and made-to-order omelets....wow!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traveling back home.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Staff!
We needed a hotel as we were traveling back from Kentucky. Our family stayed in Champagne last year at this time in another hotel. We decided to try this hotel based on other reviews. We were pleasantly surprised with the staff, the room, and the location. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family! The breakfast was outstanding, the staff was fabulous during the breakfast as well. There was a great variety for myself and our children to choose from, GREAT JOB!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Samantha from Chicago

Last Minute Stay

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We came to watch a friend complete the Illinois marathon on Saturday and decided last minute to stay Saturday night. Aside from finding two ants in our bed the next morning as we were packing up, the room and breakfast selection were great! I would recommend checking your bed before going to sleep, however.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cesar from ny

Nice hotel, close to the airport

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Very friendly hotel staff, close to the airport and the university, phenomenal breakfast buffet, quality food and variety, beds and sheets are comfortable, pillows should be for sale! Top notch! Only downside is parking, there is no shortage but if you are late you have to park in the lot in front.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Gregory from Minneapolis

Hawthorn Suites - Champaign

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff were friendly and helpful...hotel needs updating. Public areas not well maintained. Will probably stay elsewhere on next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Andrew from Wisconsin

Convenient, but wouldn't go back

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We picked this hotel for it's location, which was convenient for our university visit. It was comfortable enough and clean, but the decor was outdated and the service was adequate, but not overly friendly. The bathroom was extremely small and the door didn't shut properly. Good amenities, with a fridge and microwave and the room was spacious.
2 out of 5
by Nathan

Hotel near University of Illinois Campus

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Proximity to campus
Cons: Decor, amenities, fitness center
Location: Not much nearby. Must drive to food and entertainment. There are train tracks near and can be heard on a regular basis.
I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in March, 2014. We arrived later in the evening and were promptly checked in. While seemingly clean, the hotel is rather worn looking as was the room and is clearly need of an update. There was no remote for the TV. We were given one and that didn't work either. A third one was fine, although the TVs were outdated. The in-room heating/AC was noisy and seemed to come on constantly during the night. The "fitness center" was a small room filled with either broken or older equipment. Parking was limited next to the hotel, so we had to park across the street. The staff was very pleasant and always helpful, especially the staff attending to the breakfast. I would rate this a 2 1/2 star hotel at best.
1 out of 5
by Alex

Bad managment

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Overall the quality of hotel is good. The problem with our visit was dealing with the hotel management. The management was rude and did not seem to care what issues we had. They were also extremely condescending when it came to working out an issue we had with the room and did not seem the least sympathetic when trying to resolve the issue.