Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sarasota, fl

I would not advise rhis hotel to anyone

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Who rated this hotel as 3*? It should be a 0.5* or even less. No AC, dirty, rooms are full of insects, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Good location, needs improvement

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location. Very convenient just 5-10 minute walk from the train station.
Cons: The wall in front of the beds needs repairs and it has to be cleaned around it. Same with under the beds. It would be nice to have noise isolation.
Location: The hotel is centrally located, so main attraction such as the Dome and shopping areas are close by, same thing with restaurants and train station.
It was nice to know that the hotel was so close to the train station. The hotel lobby is very nice and the breakfast quite complete, however, the rooms need improvement, especially in regards of cleanliness. The wall in front of the beds needs repairs and it has to be cleaned around it. Same with under the beds. The beds are not too bad, very comfortable and clean linings. The shower was very nice, a little small but understandable for European standards. Noisy guests at night are not hotel's responsibility but it would be nice to have more noise isolation in each room. Hotel staff very very friendly and attentive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to city centre

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Close to the city centre
Cons: Signs to the hotel. Details of map on website
If you walk to the hotel from the railway station or city centre, it is easy to miss. You have to go down some steps by the side of another hotel. Guests arriving by taxi will probably be taken straight to the front door.
1 out of 5
by George from Lebanon

Misleading

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Terrible hotel and beyond overpriced for what it offers. Expedia should have investigate this hotel better. I am not sure how they received their 3 stars rating, it is barely a 1 star...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Inna from Moscow, Russia

close to the city center

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: food to be improved
Location: evrything`s near hotel
Good location, friendly staff, but rooms are small, bathroom is very small.
2 out of 5
by Pomi from Wasjington, D.C.

Don't stay here!

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Demolish and build a new one.
Location: Locations is great, but not worth staying at this hotel ... go to Hotel Mondial or Dom Hotel.
Even though the hotel is close to the Dom, so the location is great in teh middle of the city, but the hotel itself is terrible ... no water was available to drink, no mini bar in the rooms, and one of the days my hotel room wasn't cleaned either. On inquiring I was told, we will get you a free drink at the bar as the cleaning staff has left for the day ... What a lame way to answer!!! The hotel has a smell to it, the rooms have paint chipping away and the carpet is old and stinks!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

nice enough and close to everything but smelly

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
We would recommend it but need to air out cigarette smell, even in a non smoking room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not trust the pictures or hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2013
Pros: It is near the Dom.
Cons: Honesty of hotel staff.
The room pictured and bed offered were not the room we received. We consulted the desk clerk and were told this is the deluxe room with a king bed. The bed was clearly not a king bed. On the third day we passed a room being cleaned and it was the room pictured in the reservation. They have a nice looking Bar Area. Only problem is no ice! Who has heard of a bar without ice. Breakfast area was okay but food was lacking in quality.
2 out of 5
by Ann from Sutton in Ashfield

Posted Dec 4, 2013
Pros: It was near the city centre and was very quiet.
Cons: The carpets could be replaced and drawers put into the rooms.
Location: Cologne is a wonderful city. There is plenty to do and see for all ages. The Christmas Markets were magical, even if prices were outrageous!
The reception, bar and dining areas were excellent. However the corridors and rooms were a disapointment. The carpet looked as if it could so with a good clean and was badly stained in parts. The duvet cover on one of our beds was torn, but I have to say the bedding and the bathroom were very clean. There was however no drawer space in the rooms. With regard to breakfast, we were told on arrival that this would cost 5 euros per person. However because we were Expedia customers we were charged 6.50 euros and no explanation for that was given.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simon from Blackburn

City Centre Hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Hotel Clean and very good buffet breakfast each morning.
Clean Hotel, based very close to city centre and the Dom / Train Station. Only drawbacks for me were:1) No Coffee / Tea making facilities in the room. 2) Room whilst clean and tidy was small in size and had very little natural light.