Ratings based on 776 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

terrible room

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing!!
Cons: All the rooms should be the same with updated amenities. This place is in serious need for a complete renovation.
Location: The location was good thats why I picked this place, we went to Gloucester and Rockport both nearby.
The room had a stale smokey smell although it was listed non smoking, The TV was from the dark ages and had very poor reception with some channels rolling. Can't say anything good about the bed either felt like I was sleeping on springs. I requested another room but was told they were all booked and non available. My travelling companions had a fairly nice room much bigger and a flat screen TV, and a good firm mattress ,I was very upset knowing that we had both paid the same rate, booked the same time, but my room was so bad, I couldn't wait to get out of there. I couldn;t even get a discount!! I would not recommend this place as you do not know where you will be placed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western,MA

Very Nice if basic rooms

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: PRICE Rooms are CLEAN! no creepy, crawlies, grunge or bed bugs Grounds are nicer than you'd expect (look for the bunnies) Pool is well kept
Cons: TVs are a bit old beds are a bit on the industrial grade and pretty stiff
Location: Salem, Boston shopping
Been here twice, The rooms are VERY CLEAN and reasonably well appointed. staff is Friendly Can be hard to find. Many GPS apps think the entrance on I95 not route 1 (Newbury street) luckily in the cell phone age the staff can direct you to the proper route
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Watertown, NY

Avoid this motel!

Posted Jul 16, 2014
My wife and I have stayed in numerous hotels and motels, but this was the worst. First, its difficult to find. The motel is located off of a highway, but only accessible from one side. Its situated behind a restaurant and down a hill, and the only indication of its existence is a sign that's a good 100 yards from the restaurant parking lot entrance, which you have to go through to get to the motel. Second, we arrived an hour after check-in and our room wasn't ready. We were given another room (with a queen, not the king i reserved) that had a filthy and smelly carpet, and NO water pressure! Third, the manager got defensive when i complained about not having any water, blamed the city, said there was nothing they could do but that "it was on their website for 6 weeks". That doesn't fix the problem! It took another person to relocate us to another room in another building so we could shower. Fourth, the new room we were in, which had the king bed and a newer carpet, was directly over a room under construction!!! There is no sleeping in, or relaxing in your room, because at 8am the banging starts. Fifth, breakfast is only served until 9am. Every other hotel/motel I've ever stayed in that provided breakfast did so until at least 10am. Avoid this motel if you want to actually enjoy your trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from syracuse

doesn't look like the pic on the internet

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: the location and we found some really good food nearby.
Cons: upgrade, paint etc. and it would be a decent place. also, wash the bedspread as I was afraid to put it near my face. have the locks and doors secure
Location: just eat and had drinks at a very friendly bar. we didn't have much time there.
good location, paint peeling off doors, could have pushed the door in easily to break in the the rooms. also, the beds very uncomfortable and old - mattresses and bedspread need replacing. no chairs outside room to sit on to relax outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tooele, Utah

Peaceful, Quiet & Secluded In Spite of Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Insanely easy access from and to US1 and I95. Quiet. Clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Really good coffee... in the land of Dunkin Donuts.
Cons: Just a few minor maintenance issues - slow drains, abused air conditioners, over-enthusiastically used curtain rods. No in-room hair dryer.
Location: What constitutes nearby? Boston is only 20 miles away; Salem about 15 minutes, Gloucester an easy half hour drive. Close to grocery and pharmacy too.
This is a nice, somewhat outdated motel tucked into it's own little valley nestled between US1 and I95... and in spite of what you may think, traffic noise is negligible. It looks as if it's been remodeled more than a few times over the years - the room furniture doesn't match the decor so much, and (as far as our room indicated) the bathrooms could use a complete overhaul out of the 1970's and into the 21st century, but the carpet and padding seemed brand new, the bed was incredibly comfortable (my wife disagrees, but she slept as long and as deeply as I did!) - although a few more pillows would have been nice - and the standard under-the-window air conditioner kept the climate just fine after a bit of tweaking. The grounds are well kept and tidy - lots of trees - and it just looks like a nice place to stay, which is convenient as that is exactly what this motel is. I've seen complaints about WIFI problems and internet connectivity issues, but if you're a business traveler this isn't where you'd be staying anyway. I mean, are you vacationing AT this motel, or staying here while you vacation? The front desk staff was very friendly, informative and helpful, and, while we inevitably slept through the complimentary breakfast, the coffee they serve here is very good. TV is basic cable, no HD apparently, but again - are you here to watch TV in your motel room? I hope not. In summary, this motel is like some funky old Mom & Pop place you might find out on old Route 66. COOL
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glenville, NY

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Room and property was clean and non smoking
Cons: Room was a little dated and dark. More lighting. Bathrooms were updated with new tile and floor and toilet.
Location: Cape Ann towns, Wingaersheek Beach. Woodman's restaurant in Essex. Salem.
A little dated, but it was clean, and that's all that mattered to us! The property and pool were clean and kept nice but since it was raining we could not go swimming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

nice quiet setting with lots of trees and privacy.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The size of the room, the decor and the green grounds.
Cons: Peeling wallpaper needs to be glued down. Second floor balcony or walkway needs badly to be painted.
Location: miniature golf and movies and shopping is convenient including two large malls.
The size of the room was great. The rooms could use some maintenance and the floor of the second floor walkway/balcony was plywood in need of paint but otherwise a charming hotel with lovely grounds, pool and a decent staff with a reasonable complimentary breakfast. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Reasonable rates, questionable clientele

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Staff was friendly and helpfull. Pool was great. Rugs and drapes were stained, and toilet ran all night. Room next to us had either prostitutes or drug addicts. Multiple vehicles/ persons in and out of room all hours of the night. Would not stay there again with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Coffee maker and microvwave range missing

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Quite and clean
Cons: Abve facility is helpful, even if rate is a bit increased.
First entering to the hotel was very difficult. Only one guiding mark was on route 1 . Coffee maker and microvwave range were missing which are dispointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Cheap motel, it worked for a one night stay for a local wedding. Pretty run down, but staff was friendly.