Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ANTHONY from Melbourne

Fantastic hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
Great service. I would recommend to anyone. Close to Emirates mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Beds, England

Great location

Posted May 15, 2014
Only round the corner from Emerites mall, just off the main highway meant good location to see all of Dubai! Staff happy and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Axel from Bahrain

Good condition, poor service

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: It was clean.
I did not like the breakfast and the staff service was not great. I had an issue because they started painting the floor of the gym right when I was running in the treadmill. I just wanted to mentioned it to the manager and left a message at the reception. They never got back to me. I found several small incidents like this one during my stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Clean.. Good location.. Loud music all night

Posted May 4, 2014
Nice hotle but i couldn't sleep at night.. To much noise.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Khan from London UK

Nice hotel, close to emirates mall.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Grand Excelsior was a decent hotel. The 'housekeepers' were amazing.....really helpful and left the room spotless every morning. Don't help yourself to the snacks that are NOT complimentary in the room....for a small box of pringles, they will charge you 45 Diram which is equivalent to around £8 GBP when you checkout. Please tip the staff that are helpful.....it's nice to put a smile on their faces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from Doha

Very comfortable room

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable room, glitzy decor in public spaces
Cons: The lobby coffee shop was rather limited
Location: It was just a short and pleasant walk to Mall of the Emirates, local supermarkets and eating places
Short stay, but very comfortable. We opted for a simple room service continental breakfast -- very nice -- rather than the expensive "sumptuous buffet" that was the only alternative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

business trip

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Good value for the money
Good value for the money the staff are helpful. The hotel is convenient to reach the airport and other locations if you have a car. The food is ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CC from England

Position of hotel close to amenities

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, bedrooms are lovely however the quality of the bathrooms are of less quality to the bedrooms.
Cons: The pool size and area to sunbathe should be larger based on the number of guests that could potentially be in the hotel.
Location: Mall of the Emirates is a 5 minute walk away, easy access to the metro station.
The hotel is in the centre of Al Barsha close to the Mall of the Emirates, there is currently some building work being carried out close to the hotel however this did not really affect our time spent there. The pool area is disappointing considering the size of the hotel, we used the café in the main reception area and the food was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kareem from Dubai

Nice spacious hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
The hotel vale for money is quite good, the rooms are big and clean and the facilities are well maintained. There are a few eating options in the hotel itself. It's distance to the mall of the emirates is around 10-12 minutes walking but 20-25 minutes walking to the metro station. The only draw back is that it's a preferred hotel for the Saudi tourists who come into Dubai to have some fun and when they do it gets noisy and messy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Mar 25, 2014
I was in a hurry to reserve for my on night stay, i found this hotel on expedia which was affordable for the rating. I was welcomed in an unprofessional way by the front office. Then i was shocked that the room i got was not cleaned, exactly the bathroom and no towels. Not to mention the typical sultan brunai golden decoration all over. Some advantages are location and affordable.