Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I won't be staying here again

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: The location was good and they have an inside pool with water from The Dead Sea, which is nice if you don't won't to go outside to the water.
Cons: The rooms could really use some updating.
Location: Masada, En Gedi, and of course the Dead Sea
I booked a room here because I had stayed here twice before. This time the hotel seemed more run down and not as well cared for. Also, we were laying in our bed at 9:30 at night and someone just used a key and was going to walk into the room until they realized we were in there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan, USA

In between The Dead Sea and Masada

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Location, facility's, staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Minutes from points of interest in the area, and right across the street from the Sea.
We journeyed over to the Dead Sea area for 2 main reasons, to take a float in the Dead Sea, and to climb up to Masada. David Dead Sea Resort turned out to be a perfect location for both. The beach is right across the street for a float, and there's showers there to wash off the salt water after your float. A bonus was the hotel itself. We didn't realize how nice it would be just to hang out at the hotel. There's a nice fresh water pool, as well as a very cool salt water pool to float in. The spa facility looked very nice as well, unfortunately we didn't have time to take advantage of the many services there. We visited a couple other sites in the area, Ein Gedi being one of them. Is nice to see that fresh water flowing in the middle of the desert. But if you visit there, make sure to bring plenty of your own, it's hot out there. We chose to climb the Masada snake path before sunrise to catch the amazing site of the sun rising over the mountains beyond the Sea. I informed them at the desk of our plans, and they packed a very nice boxed breakfast for us to take on the climb. Everything in it was good, but the best thing was the bottle of ice cold water. Masada is only about 5 or 10 minutes from the David Resort, which was very nice leaving the hotel at 4 AM to make the climb. The less we had to drive at that hour the better. We really enjoyed the hotel, the staff was top notch and meet all our needs. If we're fortunate enough to come back, we'll stay 2 days next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Excellent staff and much closer to a five star hot

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The rooms are VERY nice and the hotel looks much more like a five star hotel. The pools are huge. It's very close to the Dead Sea beach so their shuttle really isn't necessary. The halls aren't air conditioned, but the rooms are very cool. The manager went out of his way to help us on our last day which was very special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from city of angels

nice. 2 min walk to dead sea.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
nice. staff a bit flustered. easy walk to dead sea. pool lovely but closed every eve at 18:30 for some bizzare reason. way too early. breakfast. wow. football (soccer) stadium sized room w everything maybe more. hugest selection if food ever great for vegans. tons of fruits and veggies and salads. plus fresh honey on the comb! (for honey eating vegans). room service not very accommodating. made a bunch of mistakes. had to come back 3 times. but then did comp two large bottles of water.
3 out of 5
by stan from california

Needs updating, may be under new ownership

Posted Jun 20, 2014
We were disappointed with the condition of the hotel - carpets were dirty, section of pool roped off, etc. we were told that there was new ownership and that remodeling was being done.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joyce from Canada

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Rooms and balcony were large and was confortable. Close to bus stop and easy trip to Masada by bus.
Cons: The staff coul smile and be nice.
Too bad the staff were so unhappy. Other than that the location was good but not on the sea as their website states. Food and the pools were really nice. The balcony and view were wonderful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

over charged and under served

Posted May 31, 2014
Cons: service
We made a mistake in the booking of our rooms and booked from 10 to 12 May when it should have been 11 to 13 May. On checking in 11 May the hotel advised that as we did not show up on 10 May this was a no show and so we had to pay again for 11 to 13 May, even though we had already paid for the night of 11 May. While I appreciate this was our mistake and agree we had to pay for the night of 12 May, I thought it very poor to charge us twice for the night of 11 May and for this reason will never recommend or use this hotel again. Stay away would be my advice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel lacking customer service

Posted May 22, 2014
This hotel is really beautiful and quite close to the Dead Sea, but there are two things that were not to my liking. 1. The entrance to the hotel is in the back of the building facing away from the Dead Sea. It is a little inconvenient to walk around the building to get to the Dead Sea, but the hotel does provide a shuttle to the Dead Sea. 2. The hotel staff seemed to completely lack common manners and courtesy. Greetings to the hotel staff were received with grunts in return and words of appreciation were received with nothing at all in return. The concierge members seemed more concerned with chatting amongst themselves, than helping their guests and answering questions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Annie from NYC

Sufficient but by no means great

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is sufficient for a trip to the Dead Sea, but not luxurious by any means. The rooms were clean but the hallways look like the hotel is starting to decay. The options don't seem to be great at the Dead Sea, so this is fine, but I still think it is over priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com