Ratings based on 887 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice place, but unprofessional front desk people

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Cons: Front desk service
This resort is pricey, but overall very clean and neat. Enjoyed lovely beach and all the pleasant beach staff. Beach is minutes away with beautiful marina walk. Sand is light and soft, the shore is the best seashell surround ever, captivating seabirds all around, that's lovely. Late February schedule did not provide much of entertainment at the resort though, so if you are up for the show or concert, you might need to leave the resort to go elsewhere... The most disappointing was the front desk. We were welcomed in a rushed and hectic manner, clerks chitchatting among themselves, and the woman who was attending to us spoke like an automated doll, paying little attention whether her words register with us. When checking out, we had an inquiry regarding an inaccurate charges from one of the resorts breakfast restaurants, and that same woman was addressing us rudely asking if we left a tip to a waitress there. Yes, we did tip. Then she just asked, how much did we leave. We were appalled of such bluntness. Needless to say, the resort should provide some hospitality 101 course to this employee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ann arbor mi

Great location

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Beautiful location. Great staff and friendly guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Resort hotel, room overlooking the bay.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location: at the end of Captiva Island. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.
Cons: Only one restaurant omen for dinner in the resort. Food was excellent though the menu was limited.
Location: Water activities were limited by the weather.
Hotel stay was fine. Weather was colder than hoped. Lots of families for February vacation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, MA

The hotel is in a beautiful area

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The upkeep in the scvomdatiomhotel was lacking. Some lights and outlets didn't work. The bed linens had holes in it. The in room wifi was unreliable and the showers were luke warm. However the location is beautiful and the staff were accommdating. They comped our resort fee after we told them about the issues in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

South sea resort

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: No need to carry cash. Everything on grounds can be purchased with room key.
Cons: Free breakfast for hotel guests. More info about shuttles that are available.
Location: Lots of water activities in the area. Parking is a problem at most restaurants and activity sites. Most public beach parking is very limited and $3
Weather was good the first day. Record setting cold set in for the rest of our stay. We did not pack enough clothes for the unexpected weather. In the evening there is a shuttle on the property that brings you to the front gate. There is a free private shuttle to the nearby restaurants. Great place for kids but I would bring some food with me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Isle of Wight

Great hotel for watching wildlife

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Pros: The location is great, surrounded by ocean on all sides. Beautiful beach and great for wildlife lovers.
Cons: The swimming pool area is too busy and noisy, not a relaxing experience. The resort cries out for an adult only pool area.
Location: Cruises run nerby to other islands. Restaurants within 10 minutes walk of entrance.
We had a bright airy room with a balcony overlooking the water where we could sit watching the dolphins playing about 40 feet offshore every day and there were ospreys nesting nearby as well as pelicans and egrets on the pier. The hotel staff bend over backwards to sort out any problems you have and we found them friendly and helpful.The beach at the resort is beautiful and good for shell hunting.The only drwaback as far as we were concerned was that not one of the 3 pools was for adults only and they are designed more for small children rather than as swimming pools, so there are lots of very shallow areas. The pool area was very busy and noisy, difficult find any sunbeds, and it was impossible to swim at all with all the ball games going on. The resort needs an adults only pool and a more restful space for relaxing, but we would definately go there again despite this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bluewater Bay Florida

Nice Old Hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Pleasant view, separate living and sleeping areas, friendly staff.
Cons: There is a $17/day activity fee per person per day. Don't count on a newspaper. Expensive room and yet this fee. Slow turnaround for rooms.
Location: Beaches, golf, tennis, and marina all at the resort. Restaurants are outside--some a little far to walk and parking is a problem.
We had stayed at Casa Ybel last year and wanted to experience Captiva. We were in a Beach Villa and had a pleasant overlook to the beach. This is a North/South beach and does not get the shells like Sanibel. There were plenty of towels and chairs on the beach. We ate at Captiva restaurants and were pleased with most. Captiva House was clearly the best. Went to the Mucky Duck for lunch--it was packed and there were a dozen cars waiting for a spot when we left. It was fine but not worth that much trouble in our opinion. Didn't eat at the hotel's Harborview restaurant due to very low reviews by past guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York City

Quiet rest.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Quiet & private. Lots of activities available if you so choose. Long walks on the beach, heated pools (for winter stays) & a VERY accommodating staff
Cons: Interior decor of rooms. Our rooms had broken windows, loose toilet accessories, peeling wall covering. Nothing terrible but should not be unattended
Location: Location is remote & driving to activities outside of the resort can be time consuming because of the single lane roads & 25-30 MPH speed limits.
The property is well maintained. Services are very good. Front desk staff very willing to accommodate. We were upgraded because we did not realize that not all rooms have elevator access & my wife had difficulty climbing 2 flights plus an additional flight to reach the master bedroom in our duplex villa. We were moved to an equal accommodation in a building that had an elevator & a one floor layout. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms look dated & a little worse for wear & tare. Definitely ready for a do-over! Furnishings, lighting, appliances etc. need to come into the 21st century. Sunsets were great. Gulf of Mexico has no commercial ship traffic & air traffic was non-exisitant. It made for a peaceful stay & lovely to watch dolphins & various bird varieties. The horizon was occasionally interrupted by a beautiful white sail boat. Dining on resort, in Captiva & in Sanibel was very mediocre, if you're looking for fine dining. Best dining experience was on Sanibel at Sweet Mellissa & Il Cielo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Housekeeping Dept. Needs Attention

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Cons: See above comment
We enjoyed our stay at South Seas very much but found the Housekeeping Dept. needs some attention. First we were asked what time we preferred to have our room cleaned and asked for anything after 11am. Nearly every morning we had a member of the housekeeping staff at our door at 9am. Second, we were not left a full compliment of towels in the bathroom every day. So some days we were missing hand towels some days we were missing a bath mat. Thirdly, the day before we left we found there was not backup supply of toilet tissue which is a huge oversight for such a fine resort. I do also want to mention that the housekeeping staff were always polite and friendly and we did enjoy meeting many of them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Louis,MO

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Cons: Room neatness and maintenance.
Couple of issues - 1. somebody knocked the door midnight 12 saying "House keeping" which terribly frightened us and we haven't opened the door. When I called up the guest services asking about that they weren't sure and called back us saying it was a mistake list. 2. we found a live cockroach above the kitchen sink which was disgusting and when I informed the same , the answer I got is "It's common in florida". 3. I asked the room on bayside and got the a corner bayside where barely i can see the ocean.