Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Very handy location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
This hotel is within walking distance of almost anything you will want, the rooms are very large and kept very clean. The staff are fantastic, they are very friendly and willing to help with anything. The breakfast menu is very good with quite a bit of variety. I'm sure that anyone who stays here will be more than happy with the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom J

Home away from home can't help but hug the staff

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Excellent location no need to rent car or bike No need for expensive hotels we stayed 3 nights they help you 360 They help us get to Cat Ba islands the best n fastest way Highly recommended
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jupiter, FL

amazing hotel!!

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: accomodations, location and mostly the staff
Cons: the hotel is great, however it would have been helpful to know ahead of time that the doors are closed at night.
Location: walking distance to "all" attractions in the city. Just need a good map and good sense of direction.
First let me start with a funny story: we got to Hanoi at 1 am. The taxi driver started by taking a huge, main avenue the wrong way, drove to Old Quarter and had no idea where he was going, and refused to call the hotel for directions. Eventually parked and told us to get out, and pointed to the hotel, that was closed! metal curtain down. Very encouraging. Rang bell, and this young girl, all smile, took us through a dark lobby up the elevator. By then our chances of making it alive were slim. Took us to 5th floor and opened the door to the most gorgeous room we have ever put foot in. I expected Catherine Deneuve to show up every second!. Really, amazing accomodations, all "Indochine". Clean, huge, comfortable. Wi-Fi 100% of the time. Breakfast simple and delicious. The staff could not have been nicer: hospitality from the heart. I not only will we recommend it to all our friends, we will come back in a heartbeat. Great and safe location also. Staff arranged tours and taxis for us ( not only they did not ask us to check in but did not charge any tours until the day we left!). Hanoi is beautiful, and the staff at the hotel made it more magic. Please, just don't forget that they draw the curtain down at night, however, ring the bell and a huge smile will let you in. It is like staying with old, dear friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

2 nights stay in Old Ouarter Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Our first impression of the hotel was the smiling faces of staff greeting & welcoming us to their hotel. They were very hospitable & very helpful to answer our queries of places of interest. The room that we had was a huge suite for 3 of us. Facilities were very good. The location is very convenient for eateries & shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mel,from Australia

Exceptional staff

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
In a busy place like hanoi, it is wonderful to have a little sanctuary where you can recover from the hustle, with exceptionally helpful staff. Viet, the manager is was so helpful in so many ways, she ensured we were comfortable, made arrangements for us and was always so hospitable, no matter what time of day even 5.30 am when we returned tired and smelly from Sapa.would recommend to anyone visiting Hanoi, affordable and friendly, well placed and clean great for our family of 5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Berhaartfrom Singapore

Budget hotel. But you can enjoy more than you paid

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Staff and cleaness with resonable price
Cons: Hotel entrance and overall organization and interior.
Location: Easy to approach to several attraction point by walking.(10mins)
Hotel is quite old and and you don't see any luxurious things from the main entrance. If you are looking for luxurious hotel, this is not the hotel that you are looking for. Room also quite old but kept clean as much they can do. Means reasonable and don't have uncomportable feeling on facilities. Staffs are all very kind and friendly. They charge reaonable price for all services. Recommend for pratical family groups who is not kin to luxury trip but seeking nice and safe place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is clean and location is great.
3 out of 5
by Joods

Great location, great staff, damp bed

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Location and staff were excellent
Cons: The damp needs treating.
Location: Location is just outside the flyover, but thats not a problem. So central to the Old Quarter and busy bars and restaurants.
The hotel is in a fantastic location central to the Old Quarter, just minutes from the action. The staff were so lovely and any query was actioned immediately without complaint. The room was spacious and had everything we needed although musty and damp: damp patches were obvious to many areas on the walls. It would appear that the room is not often used and maybe the bed had been made-up after the last guest, it was certainly damp and although comfortable, was not a pleasant experience to sleep in. Its such a shame because the hotel has everything going for it, and being a budget option in a great location, should be busy. An amount of money could do with being spent just to get rid of the damp. Apart from that, great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Just lovely!

Posted Feb 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a lovely stay in hanoi old quarter hotel. Stayed there for 4 nights. The staff were so friendly and would go out of there way to help. Great price! I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, large rooms, friendly staff.

Posted Jan 26, 2014
Pros: Large and comfortable rooms. Reasonable price for our family. Very friendly and helpful staff. In the edge of the old quarter.
Cons: Only small thing is maybe a little more breakfast choices, but not a big issue.
Location: Its on the edge of the old quarter so you are close to everything. Short walk to wherever you want to go, without being totally swallowed up.
Easy to get to, very comfortable and staff who were always on hand for anything you might need. We went away and came back a few days later leaving our bags and having our laundry done, perfect. Not a modern hotel but loved the quirky old style and would visit again.