Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom palo alto, ca

Terrible stay

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of the place and well appointed kitchen
Cons: Less rules about staying, less hostile valet, reduce prices and become more ecologically responsible.
Location: There is nothing to do near by except go to the hotel pool or play golf.
Confusing place to get to, very expensive amenities, and far away from all attractions. Your iphone will take you thru a route that is closed off. So, you will come to a stop sign where directions tell u to go straight but the road is blocked off. There are 2 Hilton's next to each other with very similar names, good luck finding the right one. When we got there the valet told us he would move our car w/o us checking in, when I refused because there were 2 kids sleeping in the car, he made me move the car before checking in (very very rude). Our place did face the golf course as promised but the interior was very dark to the point where we had to have the lights on all day. As for expensive amenities, lagoon pass was $150/day which is more then a Disney day pass and 2 liter bottle of soda was $7.00. I live in SF Bay Area in California, but even I have never seen such ridiculous prices. Unless you use expensive Hilton amenities, nearest reasonable price place (Waikoloa Village) is 20 min DRIVE away. All the other Big Island attractions like the Volcano National Park, the Black Sand Beach, the Mauna Kea observatory and the green sand beach are 2+ hr DRIVE away. Nearest white sand beach is an hour drive away, not my idea of Hawaii. If your idea of Hawaii vacation is to play golf, over pay for amenities, and drive long distances for unique adventures then Hilton is your place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Eileen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you experienced while trying to get to our location. Cheryl Amsbary, Resort Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

来年も!

Posted Sep 21, 2011
初めてのハワイ島。とても不安があったのですが、日本語のスタッフでのチェックイン、お部屋&ホテル施設の充実にとても感動しました。 来年も絶対にこちらにお世話になろう!と家族で団結して帰ってきました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Las vegas

Hilton Waikola Grand Vacation

Posted Aug 23, 2011
Great hotel for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax, Virginia

Chip Helme

Posted Aug 16, 2011
Great place with lots to do. Staff was alwasy available and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

I could live there!

Posted Jul 5, 2011 on Hotels
This hotel was fabuolous, way more than I expected. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was absolutely clean and comfortable, better than home! The hotel has a very pleasant little pool, that is usually full of children, but you get a complimentary shuttle to drive you around Waikoloa Village and complimentary passes to go to the Hilton Waikoloa pool and lagoon, which is a vacation plan in itself, you won't want to leave there! But that's not all, every evening you get free activities by the pool, we got free icecream that was delicious! and a fabulous hula show. My only regret is that we stayed only 2 nights!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Dublin, OH

Waikoloa Trip

Posted Jun 15, 2011
Excellent place on the island to stay, relax and see it all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, PA

Great Family Vacation

Posted Mar 13, 2011
We stayed for a week in a 2BR, 2bath suite. It was beautiful, large, with everything we needed: full kitchen, washer/dryer, every toiletry you could need. Housekeeping came in daily and cleaned thoroughly--scrubbing floors, vacuuming, cleaning the whole kitchen--they really did a good job. The suite itself was beautiful, with granite counters and tile/Pergo floors. The main bath had a glassed in shower and a huge soaker tub. We had two less than ideal experiences here. First, a bug that looked an awful lot like a cockroach was trapped in the display panel of our stove. After asking maintenance to come see a couple times, and the bug not coming out for them, I just skooshed it. But then it was skooshed in the display panel, so we asked them to clean it out. They never did get around to it. Secondly, on the last day we had arranged for a late check out. Somehow this info didn't get through, and we were locked out while down at the pool. Then housekeeping insisted on coming in and calling the front desk to verify that we could check out late, and was very difficult to get out so we could shower and move along. I nearly had to physically nudge her out. Otherwise, though, it was great. THe nearby Hilton resort had so many attractions we never got to them all. Do rent a car so you can get around. The grocery store in Waimea is good for families. Have fun!