Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Eva from london, UK

Wonderful staff, appalling night sleep

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The people there were friendly, location central, room stylish, but with pipes that banged all night, thin walls, and a room right by reception, it was my worst night sleep in a hotel ever and I usually sleep like a log! Shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Bath, England

Very pleasant central hotel with helpful staff.

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Pleasant room, friendly staff, great location at a reasonable price.
Location: Much of the centre is walkable from the hotel and it was right next to a metro station so getting anywhere was pretty easy on the feet.
Good location with modernly decorated rooms and staff pleasant and helpful (maps, advice, kettle, hairdrier etc). They were refitting the adjacent room whilst we were there which meant 8 o'clock start which suited us anyway. As with probably any central hotel you would be advised to take earplugs although we managed mostly without them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Allison from NY, NY

Cute hostel in central location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall hostel gala is a good place to stay for a few days if you're on a budget. It's in an excellent location - very close to Sol, Plaza Mayor, Palacio Real, Opera, Latina, etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well decorated. There is an elevator. Cons: thin walls which are a pain when the maid staff is cleaning, and after 2+ nights the bed becomes uncomfortable. Also the showers are small (as are most European showers), so if you're a larger person, this may not be right for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Chicago, Il

You got me at "booked"

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Pros: Location; Hotel Staff (helpful and nice); Details like asking your arrival time and having bread available in the mornings (not breakfast, though).
Cons: TV Channels were not that good. We know it is not the main purpose when you're in Madrid but at night it would have been good to have options to watch
Location: Dehesa Santa Maria (next to the hotel) and Mercado de San Miguel were my favorites to eat/drink; Puerta del Sol; Palacio/Plaza Real; Paseo del Prado.
Seriously, no more than 5 minutes after I booked this hotel, I received an email from the Hotel Staff asking me if I had my flight details to have an estimated arrival time so they could have the room ready for me...I think that was a nice gesture from them. At the beginning when I got there I was a little bit confused because I didn't realize that the Hostal is located in the second floor of the building, but that was no big issue. I was very pleased with the room (3bed bedroom). Keep in mind that you are staying in an old-fashioned building and the space can be a little bit reduced for some standards (specially the bathroom), but I think it was more than enough for us. The decoration was hip, so it gave the hotel a cool ambience without compromising the fact that the hotel is good for all ages. I couldn't be happier with the location, I love to walk and you can go pretty much anywhere from here. However, we decided to make the most of our time and energy and we took the Madrid City Tour hop on/hop off bus, and being so centric, the Hotel was close to about 4 stops and from the two routes. BTW, I got the bus tickets and the Bernabeu Tour tickets at the Hotel and they have information about other attactions. I read reviews about the noise, so I brought my ear plugs but that only happened during the weekend because there are restaurants and bars opened until late, which is great if you like to go out; or if you are a light sleeper because the walls can be thin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

best value for dollar

Posted Nov 13, 2013
Overall a great experience! A bit hard to find but once inside really loved it! Great central location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Liverpool

Great value place to stay in Madrid

Posted Oct 24, 2013
If you need a simple no frills place to stay in the center of Madrid, Hostal Gala is perfect - The staff were great, the room clean, and the shower in the bathroom was fantastic. It's worth keeping in mind that this is a hostal, not a hotel - Which means if you don't need all the fancy flourishes of a hotel and want to keep your budget low then this is perfect, and while it doesn't have expensive extras what they do is done well and exactly as they describe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Love2Travel from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel, Very Nice Staff

Posted Sep 22, 2013
Pros: Design of the room and the staff
Cons: nothing
Location: Many restaurants and shops. Also great neighborhood for exploring and people watching. Very close to the Gran Via, a main street in Madrid.
The hotel is near Calliou plaza, so its a great location with lots of foot traffic. There are gobs of restaurants, shops and things to do near by. Also very close to a couple metro stops. It is located on the second floor of an office type of building, and they have a small elevator. The room was small but clean and cheerful. The bathroom was great with a fantastic shower. The staff at the front was always ready to help or make reservations if needed. They also had a common area with comfortable couches and cable TV.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by mamasitas from Australia

Spacious and great location

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We paid a little extra and got the suit and it was well worth it. Very spacious, clean and good view of the city. Don't be put off by the term Hostal, it has the amenities of a hotel and the staff were always helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Guy from New York City

Clean hotel in busy section of a 24 hour city

Posted Jul 5, 2013
The hotel is located near exciting sites: Puerto del Sol, Plaza Mayor .... The Staff is present around the clock. The rooms are spotlessly clean. The showers would be too tight for a full sized two ticket air traveller. At night, it is noisy because it is Spain. It's part of the fabric and experience of being in Spain. If you want a quiet night, go to Portugal. Comfort and Hospitality are plentiful here. The Price and Location, Location, Location are right. Recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Janel

Great brief stay

Posted Nov 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had no time to get around as it was just an overnight layover, but the hotel was clean and quiet and nearby an energetic part of town. The bed was a bit too firm but that's my only complaint.