Ratings based on 333 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU EMERALD BAY WEEK LONG STAY

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice, waiters and waitresses, food was very good and fresh, the pool seemed clean,
Cons: for all inclusive resort, it would have been nice to have waiters come around the pool area to get drink orders. We had to exit the pool to get orders
Location: location nice and secluded, not many things to do nearby but can get taxi for $10 or book fun excursions, which we did stone island-horseback riding
Hotel overall rating I am giving a 3. Lots of positive things to say, food was always good and fresh. Staff was very pleasant and easy to talk to in English and Spanish. The 3 things we didn't like were the elevators, the condition of the mattress, and no wait staff walking around pool. Considering this hotel is all inclusive and fairly new, the mattress was disgusting. The elevators took FOR EVER! We waited atleast 5-10 minutes each time for it to come to our floor, which was on the 8th floor. We ended up taking stairs most of the time, which isn't bad but when you are hauling 3 kids, it can be exhausting. On our last day, we headed down to the lobby with all our luggage and with about 20 minutes to spare BUT due to elevator delays we had to head down the stairs w/ luggage and kids and got there exactly when shuttle arrived. There was no TIMESHARE harassment either so that was a plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradable, personal amable.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Que es todo incluído, sus instalaciones son buenas en general.
Cons: Si, la limpieza.
En general los servicios son buenos, las sábanas de la cama no estaban limpias cuando ingresamos a la habitación. Me parece que pueden mejorar en ese sentido.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great Stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful, staff was always working. View was amazing.Check in was fast and easy. Great staff.
Cons: Buffet was bad. Tastes like disappointment. Did not get a chance to get to any of the specialty places, just the buffet. Breakfast was great!
Location: Ziplining for sure. Go to Stone Island. Tour old Mazatlan. Walk down the beach about a 1/4 mile to find great place for inexpensive, fresh lobster
I travel with my 18 year old son. He doesn't like to travel with me and spends the majority of time in the room playing video games. I normally will hit the beach and the pool to make friends to do dinners with or just hang out. I did not meet a single person the whole trip, with the exception of the staff, that spoke English, so I spend most my time eating and drinking alone. I missed having people to talk with. Please know this is not the standard review I've seen on here complaining about the Mexican residents over taking the resort. I am a guest in their country and perhaps because I love Mexico so much I should learn their language. I was just a bit lonely. We had a great room overlooking the ocean. I had a room on the 16th floor which was lovely and quiet as I had requested. To the elevator complaints. Good Lord! They are tiny and take forever. Nearly missed an excursion because the elevator was so slow. The buffet was the pure taste of disappointment. Food was bland. The exception is the breakfast buffet. The booze was of poor quality and probably watered down. I'm not much of a drinker and one or two cocktails will usually do me in. Here I had 6 drinks and did not feel a thing. I could have easily passed a breathalyzer. You need to find the right bartender and tip well to get the good stuff. There is a great lobster place if you walk down the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

very clean hotel

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: immaculate clean they have staff constantly cleaning the floors and gardens
Cons: definitely, the elevators wait is excessive at least 10-15 min luckily for us we were at the 4th floor so we had a workout everyday through the stairs
Location: it's far away from the downtown and zona dorada, but the taxi it's only 10 dlls..
we went to celebrate our daughter's birthday it's family oriented atmosphere, the hotel is beautiful and all room have ocean front view. The downfall is that the beds seems to small more like full size instead of queen size .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Good costumer service and the rooms are nice with a beached view. Food is okay and the bad thing is that they only have one kind of beer. Overall is a good place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

My first and last time staying at Riu

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The location is good, and food servers are so friendly, and helpful. Very nice guys.
Cons: Front desk staff starting with the managers' attitude. They NEED an urgent training course to develop customer service skills.
Location: Not sure since I spend most of the time at the hotel. But I know they offer aquatic activities at the beach like parachuting.
I use to travel a lot because I love the beach. I usually have good experiences, but this particular one is the worst. When you get offered a sea view room for the same price, don't feel that special. Most of their rooms have sea view which is beautiful by the way. The hotel was probably 85 - 90 % full, and it was practically impossible to get into any of the 6 elevators. The lobby was a madhouse at check-out time. Trust me, you don't want to spend your money there. There are much better places to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
It was a nice hotel. The food was ok, I mean it's buffet food much amazing can it be. The beds weren't very comfortable and there were many kids in the pool and in the dining halls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chihuahua

Hotel muy agradable!

Posted May 13, 2015
Todo estuvo muy bien. Desde la limpieza hasta la comida y las bebidas. Aunque hubo dos cosas: • esperar hasta que un elevador estuviera disponible. • en el Check-out se demoran mucho y nos querían cobrar algo que fue su error.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego,CA

Good option for what you pay

Posted May 4, 2015
I spent a couple nights at this hotel with the family and opted for an all inclusive because I did not want to leave the hotel. The food is good but you have to look for those gems at the buffet. We tried the Asian restaurant available only with a reservation and that was really good. The drinks are not the best quality but ok. Service was ok as well....I consider this overall an economy all inclusive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel I've ever stayed at!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The staff was the best I've ever experienced and the food was amazing. Overall best al inclusive I've been to and I've been to a lot.