Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Pretty Good

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros Fantastic food included. Very much like a cruise line. In addition to breakfast, lunch and dinner, there are other snack time included also. The quality of the food is between good+ to excellent. Staff were knowledgeable and very friendly. Rooms were clean and well maintained. Mini bar with soft drinks and beer included. Cons This hotel is one of the furtherest from the central business district. Summary If you plan on a lot of shopping trips and/or club hopping, you might want to consider another hotel. However if you're looking for a laid back relaxing experience, then this hotel would be hard to beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Todo
Cons: Otro jaccusi fuera de la barra, en habitaciones bañeras resvalosas
Muy recomendable, estancia y alimentación trato muy amable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom España

Todo Incluido muy recomendable

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: El servicio de comidas, La ubicación El servicio de personal
Cons: Un hotel de esta categoría debe incluir wifi gratis en las habitaciones
Un buen hotel. Aunque es enorme en su capacidad, la amplitud de los espacios comunes hace que se esté agusto, sin notar agobio de gente. Muy recomendable el buffet libre, con gran variedad de comida, bien cocinada y servida El personal, Muy Atento, profesional y eficiente.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BC. Canada

Nice view, great staff, very loud.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: The beds are not comfortable, bedding is cheap, and pillows are few and very flat.
If you want peace & quite, be sure to bring earplugs for the beach & for sleeping if the hotel is near full. This hotel is very nice, however, it can house many quests and the beach area is not big enough to get away from the noisy ones. Too many people playing their music too loud, using profanity and then trying to talk over top of each other and the music. The beach is great, the staff are amazing, and the food is good. The rooms are all facing the ocean, so enjoying the sunset every night was a highlight.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Nice vacation, but hotel is too big & busy.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: There were several bars to accommodate the many guests, so there was never any waiting to get a drink. Free use of boogie boards, drinks in room.
Cons: There needs to be some kind of order to the buffet; it's very busy & with so many people cutting in front of you by the time you sit your food is cold
Location: Didn't leave the resort, so I don't know. Too many ill-mannered kids at this resort. Too many vendors bothering you over the public beach line.
I had always wanted to stay at a RIU hotel because they looked so nice from the outside. While the hotel was ok & nothing awful happened, I was disappointed because I expected much more from such an expensive hotel. I think the problem is that the hotel is so big, it's hard to provide good service when there are so many people. Also, while this was my first time to Mazatlan, I have been to three other tourist cities/towns within Mexico, and one thing that seems much different is the amount of Mexican people staying at the resort. Let me first say that I am in no way trying to place judgement, but now some of the reviews I read before the trip are making sense. I don't know if they were local people that RIU allows to stay at the resort at a deep discount (as some of the other reviews have noted), or if they were tourists just like myself, but the manners of these people definitely are not what I expected to see at such an expensive resort. And again, this is not something that I have experienced during my stays in Cabo, Cancun or Puerto Morelos. When I pay as much money as I did for an all-inclusive high-end resort, I don't want to see people (kids AND adults) putting their hands into the buffet food. Gross. Yes, this is not the fault of the hotel, but they need to ask themselves if this is good for business in the long-term because I will probably not choose an RIU hotel again, most certainly not in Mazatlan (I'm inclined to think the Cancun RIU is much nicer). Poor English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kamloop, British Columbia

Beach front hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
We enjoyed our stay. Good food and welcoming staff. It's not close to downtown so be prepared to taxi if you want to explore. The evening entertainment was a bit disappointing. A great resort for young families. The beach stretches for a long distance so nice for walks. The vendors aren't relentless. It's not safe for swimming in the ocean, but the hotel has several swimming pools and no shortage of lounge chairs. We went over the Christmas holiday and there were mostly Mexican families at the resort. We booked a tour from the hotel to visit 3 villages, and it was interesting. It had the usual stops to get you to buy local stuff (booze, pottery, jewelry, etc.).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Staff is very kind and helpful. Food is really good. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2015
It was good, would have liked Mimosas at breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom oregon

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Special dinner reservation are made at 9:00 am but there are only 25 or less available, the special dinning rooms are always empty. They want you you to go to the buffet, where you have to fight to get a seat and serve your self. You must serve your self at the bar. wait in line on your vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Anchorage

Excellent place to stay.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
The hotel was GREAT. The hotel staff was fabulous and the Beach Bar staff (Eduardo, Marcos were the most friendliest happy people in the world. Thanks for the great service.