Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lacking in customer service

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The elevators are really slow, waited as long as 20 minutes to get a elevator. On the other hand our wedding was fantastic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego Ca.

Family Vacation

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I was at the riu last week with my 4 yr old and my wife. The hotel and grounds are very impressive. The food hotel surprisingly good. There are so many options that you will find a few things you like. The resort itself is HUGE, this makes some of the servers not be so attentive, but the front desk workers were great. The resort being so big has a lot of people, so if you are not in to seeing hundreds of people walking around like ants, find some place else. My only issue is with the towels, someone stole one of our towels, so upon check out I had to pay $20. I heard of a few people who also had this issue, this was the only downside to the trip. The resort is in the middle of nowhere, so there aren't many things to do without having to take a taxi to town (15 min. ride).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Not such a great hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Only the beach.
Cons: The food, the elevators, staff could be a bit more helpful and friendly, they sure didn't go out of their way to help answer questions or anything.
Location: had to take a taxi if you wanted to see some sights , nothing nearby. so your stuck in the hotel.
We went to Cabo last year and stayed at a Riu all inclusive hotel, it was great, so we decided to try a Riu hotel in Mazatlan. The food was not very good so we didn't eat very much there. The pools shut down at 7:00 pm so there wasn't a lot to do after that, to dark to walk the beach and no entertainment. staff was not very helpful when we needed something , they had an attitude like we were bothering them. This time of year in July was all locals vacationing, we were pretty much the only Americans which was okay with us except for the fact that the locals were rude and very pushy. we just tried to stay out of their way. The beach was the only nice thing about it. The elevators were very , very, slow , and if your waiting for one, the locals who were visiting would just push their way ahead of you and grab it so you would have to wait for another one which took forever. This was one of the worst hotels and experiences we have ever had while on vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hermosillo, Son

BEAUTIFUL BEACH

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Very good hotel facilities, and the beach is simply great. The only opportunity are the elevators; you need to wait a lot of time to get one, and the a la carte restaurants, there are not a la carte restaurants, there are just and other buffet, but the food taste is good overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from texas

great time

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: the location was beautiful. we went on the city tour and it was very interesting. our tour guide was great.
Even tough it was very hot, the pools were our best buddies. the shows at night were great. food and drinks were unbelievalbe. recamend this hotel to everyone. the entire staff was amazing.
3 out of 5
by Globetrotter from Phoenix, AZ

Riu Mazatlan

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The beach
Cons: Entertainment is not existent beside a 2 -3 men ban right in front of the buffet. Couple years ago they have play, dancing, show/
Location: Shopping in zona dorado or downtown.
Compared to other Riu or Iberostar (not talking about Hard Rock Cafe or Sandals.... this one should only rated 3 stars. Will not come back, very disappointed! They listed Italian, Asian & Mexican restaurant but only Mexican you get a service, the 2 other actually are just buffet (even though you have to make reservation!). Better go to their buffet, more variety. For breakfast & lunch, Rafael is one the the nicest/helpful waiter, either you tip or not, he will give you a great service (we do tip him, trust me one dollar will get you a long way! and what is just a dollar to you?). Only complaint: their steak is too dry, ask them for rare and it really have a good flavor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natasha from Spokane, WA

Great hotel!

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Beautiful hotel, it's fairly new, all rooms are ocean view. About 45 minute drive from the airport, we paid $40 US dollars for the taxi. And about 30 minute drive to downtown Mazatlan. Food and drinks were really, really good, don't believe any of the reviews that would tell you otherwise, those people must be super picky. Ocean was warm but a little rough. Still swimmable but you have to enjoy jumping those waves. The beach and location are beautiful. And the most amazing sunsets I've ever seen! Great staff and great entertainment crew.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014
The only troubles is for the elevetors take much time to use them and not have air condition inside
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Benny from chih

Nice hotel and beach

Posted May 21, 2014
For me and my wife we don't look any further for a place to stay in mazatlan then Riu we love it and u can't find a place that's perfect and neither is this but it's a very nice place to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

Hotel close to beach, clean but staff is very non

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The room was nice loved hearing the waves...
Cons: Staff
Location: The bar down the beach is a most!
Being an American, the hotel was set up more for locals... Staff was not friendly as we didn't speak Spanish... The local guest would cut in line and not friendly at all..... I would never go back........