Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom México, D.F.

Buen servicio, el hotel limpio

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: La playa, la comida, bebidas y las albercas
Cons: El trato al cliente que sea igual o mejor para el Mexicano
Location: Nadara en las albercas, salir al malecón, museo de la concha, la quebrada y visitar el acuario
Esta bien el servicio, excepto en el restaurante Mexicano y que los meseros no tratan igual al cliente Mexicano que al extranjero hay preferencias y es por las propinas que les dan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

7days Feb 22 Mar 1

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Stayed 7 days, on the weekend they packed the place. The buffet places couldn't hold everyone so they were cooking everywhere. On the beach, in the lower pool area, It was packed. But during the week it was great, easy to get around and see everything. We were flying out on Sunday, there was a half hour wait for the elevator. It was crazy. But we had a great time, and we golfed at El Cids - the price was the same as if I was staying at El Cids. I would go back but we have to figure something out on checkout day, that half hour wait for the elevator was crazy. The food was good, it was hard to get reservations to the restaurants, but we got a couple. They never seemed busy. We used the spa, decent prices, and never too busy. We had a great time and would do it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico DF

Fin de semana

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: La ubicación (lejos de otros hoteles), la comida y el bar al lado del auditorio (los bar tender muy agradables)
Cons: La limpieza, elevadores sucios e insuficientes
En general bien, hotel grande y bien ubicado, la playa está limpia, la comida abundante y variada. Los postres malos, la limpieza deja mucho que desear pues encontré vasos (dejados por los huéspedes) en cualquier lugar, deben cuidar más estos detalles, mismo tema en los elevadores. El check out de locos, en hora pico deben de tener más personal, mi avión salía a las 4pm y el check out es a las 11, preguntamos a una señorita si podíamos esperar en el hotel un par de horas y dijo que debíamos de pagar 250 pesos por persona (¿?) para hacer uso del comedor, instalaciones, etc. Cuando nos acercamos al front desk a pagar, otra señorita (Itzia) nos dijo que no era necesario, solo apuntó nuestra habitación, nos dió un nuevo brazalete y apuntó la hora en que dejaríamos el lugar en el pase de salida... hay que coordinar estos temas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to the beach, great food.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Cons: Limit drinking of people who over-indulge because it's free.
Location: Close taxis ride to downtown Maztalan, shopping and resturants.
2nd stay at hotel. Love the location, food, several pools and plenty of setting space on beach or by the pools.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

Beautiful hotel, nice pools & good food!

Posted Feb 27, 2015
The room was beautiful, we had a jacuzzi suit on the 21st floor (well worth the upgrade). However all rooms have an ocean view at this hotel. The grounds are nicely layed out. The food was good for buffet style. Only resturant missing was a steakhouse but not a big deal for me. I was always able to find healthy options at every resturant. Very easy to make reservations. We arrived early and were allowed to have wrist bands ealry & luggage held while waiting for the room. Also accomodated a late checkout with a small charge to keep the room until 5:00pm or they also have shower rooms so you can stay and enjoy your time at the resort if you have a later flight out. My only 'complaint' would be the gym, or lack of. Its a beatiful space but very sparce with weight machines and no free weights! Couple ellepiticals, treadmills and a bike. My facial at the spa was nice and relaxing. The hotel toiletries are also not very good- Bring Shampoo and Conditioner! We did not have any issues with the elevators. Maybe because we were on an upper level?? I'm sure it's busy, as expected, at pool close and breakfast times. Go to breakfast early and you will enjoy a peacful morning. I have stayed at 4 other 3.5 to 4 star all-inclusives and the Riu is by far the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Beautiful property

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Great experience with plenty of helpful staff No need to leave resort everything is there and included. Food was great
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Hotel Ammenities

Posted Feb 23, 2015
If you are looking a hotel with that personal touchy, then this isn't the place to stay. The food is at best average, kids club is pretty non existent and the entertainment was just okay- if you were desperate for something to do. There is a good restaurant on the north end of the beach- called Mr Lions (sp) which you can easily walk to in the dark. The best find for us was a great coffee shop called Loony Beans- also on the north end of the beach- a little further back and around the corner. It is run by ex pats and the coffee and ambiance is awesome.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Crowded with many kids

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Very ordinary all-inclusive hotel, not much praise for it.
Cons: Better food and RIU's website about upcoming Holioday's.
Location: Shopping near Malecon
Very crowded hotel, almost sold out, probably coinciding with Mexico's Holiday (just a guess) and just too many kids for a resort. Should have probably done more research before booking the hotel. Nice beach and ocean. Food is just alright, giving it a 3 star, especially after being at RIU Resorts for the sixth time, including this visit, 3 at PVR and 2 at Cabo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Iowa

Great food and helpful staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The service was great. Beautiful atmosphere
Cons: The elevators are slow. Had a hard time catching one.
Location: Stayed at the resort except for the day we went on the city tour. That was great
We had a great stay at the Riu. Everyone was very helpful. The staff was friendly. We enjoyed the great variety in the buffets. The evening shows were outstanding. The ocean was amazing. Never got tired of walking on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mn

nice clean

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Cons: more elevators , put something to break water strength
Location: ok shopping close enough
excellent time ! little screw up on airport rides to resort . waves and ocean current very strong we couldn't use ocean .