Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

EXCELENTE

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Todo excelente, lo unico es la poca variedad en los menus diarios
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, family friendly

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Nice, elevators terrible, only TWO handicapped parking spaces. I found an ipad returned it to the front desk and days later i found the owner but the staff would not give it back!! Five star hotel but terrible that they dont have honest employees.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mazatlan

Los elevadores son insuficientes

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Los elevadores son insuficientes estuve en el sexto piso y tuve que subir y bajar por las escaleras porque había mucha gente, el edificio tiene más de 20 pisos y creo que es un problema que debían considerar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HMO

Agradable estancia

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: La comida, limpieza del hotel
Cons: el servicio personalizado al cliente.
Nuestra estancia estuvo muy agradable pero hace falta mas atencion al cliente. No hay valet parking en un hotel de lujo?? No hay meseros en el area comun de las albercas?? Los elevadores son todo un problema para poder utilizarlos. Te tienes que meter a la fuerza para ganarle a las demas personas. Les falta diseñar un mejor sistema para atender esa parte de su hotel. Las areas de albercas estan muy padres y la comida estuvo muy buena.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

very nice hotel right on the beach staff was great

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: the staff were excellent and the pools were great as well
Cons: they should have chairs outside with tables for people to sit and enjoy the views with ashtrays for the smokers the beach recliners are just nasty
Location: there are great resturants and stores very close by and are diffently worth the time to explore and the security guard named david is fantastic
breakfast and suppers were great !!! lunch not so much the elevators are very very slow for a newer hotel and the air conditioning in the rooms was almost none made it very hard to sleep with such a high humidity and temp this time of year
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience!

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Everything with the exception of the bed being too firm.
The hotel was fabulous, service and hotel staff were super helpful and very friendly, especially the waiter Pedro and the entertainment manager Rico! The room was kept very clean and well stocked. The only downside to the room was the bed was too firm for our liking. We had a room on the 22nd floor and the view was gorgeous!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel, terrible clientele.

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Rooms and pool were nice. Lobby was also nice. Food was below average except for the restaurants that you need to make reservations.
Cons: Safety and hotel staff treatment
Location: Never left the hotel. The beach was ok but always had safety warnings for riptides and Jellyfish warnings.
This is a resort for locals, not for Americans. The resort was nice however we were looked at as outcasts. Other guests tried to intimidate us. One even asked for me to give him my watch while in the elevator. I exited on the next floor. My daughter and her friend were followed by men so I had to escort them everywhere. We ended up leaving 2 days early for safety reasons, which cost a bunch to change 6 airline reservations. It was well worth changing just to get out of there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

RIU EMERALD BAY WEEK LONG STAY

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Staff was nice, waiters and waitresses, food was very good and fresh, the pool seemed clean,
Cons: for all inclusive resort, it would have been nice to have waiters come around the pool area to get drink orders. We had to exit the pool to get orders
Location: location nice and secluded, not many things to do nearby but can get taxi for $10 or book fun excursions, which we did stone island-horseback riding
Hotel overall rating I am giving a 3. Lots of positive things to say, food was always good and fresh. Staff was very pleasant and easy to talk to in English and Spanish. The 3 things we didn't like were the elevators, the condition of the mattress, and no wait staff walking around pool. Considering this hotel is all inclusive and fairly new, the mattress was disgusting. The elevators took FOR EVER! We waited atleast 5-10 minutes each time for it to come to our floor, which was on the 8th floor. We ended up taking stairs most of the time, which isn't bad but when you are hauling 3 kids, it can be exhausting. On our last day, we headed down to the lobby with all our luggage and with about 20 minutes to spare BUT due to elevator delays we had to head down the stairs w/ luggage and kids and got there exactly when shuttle arrived. There was no TIMESHARE harassment either so that was a plus!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradable, personal amable.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Que es todo incluído, sus instalaciones son buenas en general.
Cons: Si, la limpieza.
En general los servicios son buenos, las sábanas de la cama no estaban limpias cuando ingresamos a la habitación. Me parece que pueden mejorar en ese sentido.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Great Stay

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Beautiful, staff was always working. View was amazing.Check in was fast and easy. Great staff.
Cons: Buffet was bad. Tastes like disappointment. Did not get a chance to get to any of the specialty places, just the buffet. Breakfast was great!
Location: Ziplining for sure. Go to Stone Island. Tour old Mazatlan. Walk down the beach about a 1/4 mile to find great place for inexpensive, fresh lobster
I travel with my 18 year old son. He doesn't like to travel with me and spends the majority of time in the room playing video games. I normally will hit the beach and the pool to make friends to do dinners with or just hang out. I did not meet a single person the whole trip, with the exception of the staff, that spoke English, so I spend most my time eating and drinking alone. I missed having people to talk with. Please know this is not the standard review I've seen on here complaining about the Mexican residents over taking the resort. I am a guest in their country and perhaps because I love Mexico so much I should learn their language. I was just a bit lonely. We had a great room overlooking the ocean. I had a room on the 16th floor which was lovely and quiet as I had requested. To the elevator complaints. Good Lord! They are tiny and take forever. Nearly missed an excursion because the elevator was so slow. The buffet was the pure taste of disappointment. Food was bland. The exception is the breakfast buffet. The booze was of poor quality and probably watered down. I'm not much of a drinker and one or two cocktails will usually do me in. Here I had 6 drinks and did not feel a thing. I could have easily passed a breathalyzer. You need to find the right bartender and tip well to get the good stuff. There is a great lobster place if you walk down the beach.