Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Our trip was terrible owing to thoughtless/insensitive parents, incompetent/commercialized hotel management team/staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and worth every penny!!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Went on the snorkeling about 10 minutes away. Also paddle boarding. Worth the fee.
Went for Spring break. Food was excellent staff was friendly. Accommodations were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jake from Webster City, Iowa

A little slice of heaven

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Our second trip there and this time we took the kids. Any trip the trades white snow for white sand is wonderful!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karla from Washington State

Nice Hotel but the beach is not a swimming beach

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Pros: Very clean and the staff was very friendly. The drinks were very good and the tequila bar in the room was excellent.
Cons: Making sure the elevators worked when they had a full house
Location: We went during Carnival, so the parade on the Malacon was amazing and I would highly recommend that experience
All in all we really enjoyed our stay the only downfall would be the wait time for the elevators and most of the time one of the elevator banks were not working, so you had to wait up to 5 minutes sometimes. The food was good, but after a few days became boring as they did not change it up much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Craig from OKC, OK

Great hotel and Reasonable Price

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Everything but elevators
Cons: Elevators
Location: Beach was wonderful! Weather was beautiful! I would go to here again in a heartbeat.
Everything was wonderful. My one complaint was the elevator situation which would have been really bad if we had not been on 2nd floor. The elevator wait was terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from California/ Iowa

Nice excellent beach access

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Housekeeper Sylvia was a delight beds are hard . Wait staff& bartenders over the top. Large selection of food should never leave hungry.
3 out of 5
by antonio from laredo

All inclusive

Posted Feb 6, 2014
No room service,three dollars minute of phone calls,even if you receive the call. No free internet. I took only one meal because I went all days to the city
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with a few issues

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Location on the beach, facilities, activities.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi and No-Smoking on balconies.
Location: Quiet part of North Mazatlan. Beautiful beach.
The hotel is in a great location on the clean northern part of Cerritos Beach. The beach is wide and clean. The hotel has plenty of pools and lots of activities. We especially liked the kids club and it's friendly staff. Our room had a great ocean view. All rooms, including the garden view are quiet. The rooms also have a nice balcony. They are a bit on the small side however and the beds are a bit hard. We had a king bed and ordered a roll away bed which was rather uncomfortable. Our little one slept with us for much of the first two nights. We even considered requesting a room with two queens until we discovered that the roll away mattress was upside down. It had only one soft side. We flipped it and our little one use the bed without issues. Our only other problem with the rooms was that smoking was allowed on the balconies. We enjoy keeping our balcony door open and when a guest nearby lit up the smoked drifted into our room. I suggest to the hotel management to either prohibit smoking on the balconies or group the smoking balconies onto the predominant downwind side of the hotel. The food was fairly good with lots of choices but there were a few shortcomings. For a fishing town there wasn't enough fresh seafood. There were 3 a la carte restaurants requiring reservations but only one was truly a la carte; the Tabasco. It however had very slow service and we didn't return. The other two were buffet style with similar food quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kim from Kkc

New Year vacation

Posted Jan 9, 2014
My husband and I are so pleased with the staffs, starting from check in Pablo , the bell man George, Mr Carlos&David (security), Fernando/entertainment, and so many other people they reached beyong to help me out. My husband got so sick when the plane landed people @the airport helped me out & the staff @ Riu called the docrtor in rightaway.You made our stay so fun , comfortable , and safe .Thank you I love it food , entertainment, pool and beach, drink perfect we enjoyed so much what you offered. Definitely Riu is the gem in Mazatlan.★★★★★
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Service

Posted Nov 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We are from Canada and we loved the RIU! Clean, great service and we enjoyed the food. You must be OK with kids, especially on weekends. The local kids stay here and it changes the atmosphere a bit.