Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amarillo, TX

Great pools off the beach!

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Accommodating staff and variety of activities made it fun ( ping pong, water aerobics, volleyball, yoga, shows). Buffets had good variety; specialty restaurants were great! Only complaint is stinky blanket and lack of pillows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Coquitlam

Very good place

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Very good place, perfect location, great food. Beach is awesome. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Very safe place to stay No complaints
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Very nice hotel and amazing beach

Posted Mar 20, 2015
We have stayed here before, staff is cleaning non stop. Food is very good with lots of variety. The only exception is the Mexican restaurant Tabasco, service and food were awful. We ate mostly at Tres Islas which had themed days that changed, it is buffet style but very good every day for dinner. Beach is very good, ocean is fantastic but dangerous, need to be very careful. Life guards are very alert and were quick to rescue a few people that got caught in the rip tide. It's shallow, the waves are massive and people don't realize how fast they get caught and can't return. Room was always clean, drinks were very good. They could use better red wine and the pool drinks are way too sweet, but you need to find your favorites. They should cut off some of the people as they get way too drunk, but everyone is having fun so it's all good. Stay in a lower room, evaluators are terrible. The view is amazing up high but not worth the elevator hassle. Below the 5th floor is great and gives you some exercise. The shows are mostly very good when the main dancers come on, but on break days the entertainment is bad. Beach activities are great for the kids everyday and the activity staff is great. Starting March 15 they open Maz Agua water park about a block away, it's super cheap and the kids had a blast. It's rated on Expedia at 3 stars but it's an easy 5 star for Mexico.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio, Tx

Hotel All Inclusive con sus implicaciones

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: No lo recomendaría ni regresaría a hospedarme.
Cons: Una atención más personalizada
Location: Mazatlán es simplemente un Paraíso con actividades, restaurantes y entretenimiento para todas edades y gustos.
Se trata de un hotel para las masas. Si estás buscando un trato personalizado y un ambiente familiar este NO es el lugar que te conviene. Están acostumbrados a manejar volumen más que calidad. Muchos huéspedes bebiendo excesivamente. La comida es buena a secas. Los elevadores tardan mucho en llegar. La limpieza de los cuartos diaria la hacen muy tarde. En general no fue una experiencia agradable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Very nice place to stay but little too far from everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IA, USA

Very Relaxing

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: I like the relaxed feel of the hotel.
Cons: I did not have an alarm clock, remote control for the t.v. or an explanation on how to call other rooms etc. That would have helpful.
Location: We went site seeing, golfing, and to parties. The hotel seems like it is at the end of the line, but you get away from all the crowds, which is nice.
This vacation stay at Riu is just what I needed. Limited wifi in the lobby was enough to keep me connected yet stress free. The ease of getting to where you want to go and availability of whatever you think you need is close at hand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Nice get away

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Nice place for a quick away. The staff and hotel were great. Food was good, entertainment was so-so, but not a distraction from being in a great location for price and quiet. A little bit of a ride to get into town, but not an issue
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice hotel right on the beach great for walking

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Pros: Right on the beach. Excellent staff and very clean resort.
Cons: Different Food themes nightly at the buffet. Adults only no kids allowed at anytime pool area that is enforced. New shows for night entertainment
Location: We go for R and R so loved the beach location and a neat restaurant down the beach to eat at. Easy access to town and activities
The weather was awesome everyday! It is a large resort so elevators are slow sometimes, but you're on vacation why hurry. Very clean hotel staff is always cleaning; however, some guests could use a little more "clean up after yourself". Can't believe people make messes and walk away for someone else to pick up. There is a variety of food choices presentation is awesome but it seemed the same everyday for 2 weeks. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Did not really enjoy the weekends when the locals come to resort kids everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom México, D.F.

Buen servicio, el hotel limpio

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: La playa, la comida, bebidas y las albercas
Cons: El trato al cliente que sea igual o mejor para el Mexicano
Location: Nadara en las albercas, salir al malecón, museo de la concha, la quebrada y visitar el acuario
Esta bien el servicio, excepto en el restaurante Mexicano y que los meseros no tratan igual al cliente Mexicano que al extranjero hay preferencias y es por las propinas que les dan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

7days Feb 22 Mar 1

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Stayed 7 days, on the weekend they packed the place. The buffet places couldn't hold everyone so they were cooking everywhere. On the beach, in the lower pool area, It was packed. But during the week it was great, easy to get around and see everything. We were flying out on Sunday, there was a half hour wait for the elevator. It was crazy. But we had a great time, and we golfed at El Cids - the price was the same as if I was staying at El Cids. I would go back but we have to figure something out on checkout day, that half hour wait for the elevator was crazy. The food was good, it was hard to get reservations to the restaurants, but we got a couple. They never seemed busy. We used the spa, decent prices, and never too busy. We had a great time and would do it again.