Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, Calif

Victorian Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: not much
Location: Small quaint town with some good resturants and lodging
Office and breakfast were in a dirty garage separate from the inn. The room was small with ants crawling on bed and dresser. The bathroom floor was eight inches lower than rest of bed room. Bathroom was not clean, even the entry was sticky too the touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from S. F. Bay Area

A convenient place in beautiful Mendocino

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: The best things about this B&B are it's proximity to the heart of Mendocino, and the fact that they allow children.
Cons: The breakfast was a bit skimpy, more like what you would find at a 2 star hotel chain. Bath towels had a sour smell. Maybe left in the washer too long
Location: Great shopping in boutique stores and galleries, great bakeries and restaurants, fabulous sunsets and easy hiking along the headlands. Charming town.
We were passing through Mendocino on our way from Eureka to the Bay Area and we love this charming little town, so we had to stop for at least a night. The shopping is wonderful, the ocean and hiking trails are fabulous and there are some great restaurants. The rooms were nicely furnished, clean, and the price was reasonable. The location was great, and check-in and check-out were very easy. The only down sides which cause me to give a 3.5 - 4 rating was that the breakfast was a bit skimpy for a B&B. Nothing hot except some warm scones. The owner watched us eat (presumably to be friendly), but it was a bit strange, particularly after he mentioned that an earlier guest had consumed 4 of his scones. I wondered if he might be counting my portion? The suite my son and his family occupied was quite large and had a full kitchen. It would be nice for a multi-day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cute place

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed. Quiet. Good continental breakfast. Good location
Cons: Would like to have coffee available before the 8:30 breakfast. Would be easy to have a self serve coffee in the hospitality room. Also ice.
Location: Stunningly beautiful scenery. Beaches, shopping, restaurants. Not far from many wineries
We had a very nice stay for one night. Comfortable room. Very small but it suited our needs. Very good continental breakfast. Enjoyed talking to the owner about life as an innkeeper and life in Mendocino.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vacaville, CA

Quaint B&B in Mendocino

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful and friendly.
We stayed in Mendocino one night and thoroughly enjoyed the Nicholson House Inn. It was very cute and cozy and we were thrilled to have our room upgraded. I wish we could have stayed longer to really enjoy the ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arroyo Grande, CA

Nice clean B&B with a nice breakfast.

Posted May 21, 2015
Location: Location is good - within walking distance to shopping and restaurants.
We were pleased with our room and enjoyed our stay there. Breakfast was very good; especially the scones!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange, ca

Lovely room; good breakfast with homemade scones.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Nice conversation and visit with Brent, the proprietor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by tyler from SF

mendo retreat

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
we went to mendo for a quiet weekend. the b&b was just great. nothing too fancy, but very clean and friendly. we would reco this to friends who are looking for a nice little weekend away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wine Country

Nice to be close to town

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, deck and view.
Cons: Greeted nicely, reduce price, update, thoroughly clean, maintain rooms, towels and bedding, rearrange breakfast room/area, offer fresh food assortment
Location: Great location for walking to shops, restaurants and oceanside. Short drive north to the lighthouse awesome!
Chose Nicholson house and because it's location for easy walking to downtown Mendocino. We chose the largest room, which has a spacious deck with an awesome view through the trees to the ocean. Interacted with only one staff person (owner?), who was rather gruff, but accommodating for our room needs. Unfortunately the towels were not fresh at all (in fact, had a foul smell and were rather musty), The foldout couch blanket was very worn with a hole in it, but the bed and the bedding in the bedroom were wonderful. The breakfast room was extremely cramped even with only a few people there at the time we ate, and the food selections or not too good. The bagels and cereal selections were fine, but the fruit appeared to be day old, cold cuts were unimpressive, and the packaged yogurt had mold.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paradise, CA

Comfortable cozy inn, good service,close to beach.

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Everything was as it was advertised. Comfortably furnished rooms, with homey atmosphere--colored thick towels instead of plain white. Breakfast was very tasty with fresh scones baked every morning, and served at a nice dining area. Good service and personal attention by the staff. We would like to go back some time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by BeejEh from True North

Gloomy Guss and Must

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
If this was your first stay at a B&B, you might never try one again. We had a small upstairs room with no ventilation and the smell of perfume-covered must. There were pile carpet mats in the bathroom that I suspect don't get changed. And no ventilation for the shower. I opened the bedroom window (no screen) for some air and left it open all night but was continually worried about having to get up in the night and get around the end of the crowded bed for fear of falling out the window and landing in a heap outside the dining room door below. And Gloomy Gus at the reception desk kept complaining about the fog and was pretty perfunctory in his duties. He watched two old ladies struggle with their suitcases up the stairs while he just sat there. Not his job I guess. He clearly wanted to be somewhere else and told us so. There have to be better rooms elsewhere in town.