Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't like it

Posted May 26, 2015
Bad, no comfort, small bed, I will don't go again, the tv is no working. Again was bad experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for an AirPort hotel

Posted May 26, 2015
Great for an AirPort hotel. Nice, friendly staff and a bed. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy and homey but. ..

Posted Apr 30, 2015
The fitted sheets kept coming off the bed they didn't seem to fit very well and we're not wild sleepers. I wished there was recycling we had soda cans we had to throw away. Other than that the staff were always friendly and accommodating the room was cozy and the kitchen although small was actually easy to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Nice enough hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I needed a room to stay in with my new dog when driving her home from South Carolina, and the Extended Stay America in Elizabeth was one of the few hotels I found that would accept a dog. We only stayed for a short overnight, but the staff was friendly and efficient and the room was everything we needed. Nothing fancy but clean enough and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Great hotel, not so great location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
I chose this hotel because due to dietary requirements I needed a hotel with a kitchenette so I could prepare my own meals. Unfortunately there's no where close buy tobactuslly buy food. There's a IHOP and a ruby Tuesdays directly opposite the hotel and a plethora of fast foot outlets in the mall also opposite the hotel but no nearby grocery store or supermarket. If like me your not driving then you may find it challenging. Apart from that aspect I was very pleased with the hotel overall and would definetly use the chain again (though a different location). The staff were friendly and helpful. The free shuttle bus too and from the airport was also very useful. The room is cleaned once throughout your stay ( I stayed a week) and towels replaced etc. after reading other people's reviews I was apprehensive about booking but I would definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

SMOKEY...Hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Breakfast Smoke Free replace missing buttons on the elevator power wash the sidewalks to the entrance ( dirty) fix the parking lot card access
Location: Ihop-did not visit Ruby Tuesday - 45min wait for a burger to go, really!!
Friday, April 10th, 2015 after a long day and drive I arrived at Extended Stay in Newark,NJ. The hotel or should I say smokey-tel is just that! This hotel has probably seen better days. The hallways smell like smoke and stale food. 3.5 it is NOT! The staff was friendly enough. However you get the feeling your checking into NJ State prison when asked for your credit card just incase anything is STOLEN!! what a welcoming message. Dishes, pots, utensils,etc are upon request due to previous guest stealling them. The furniture is the room is suitable for a childs room. The bed was somewhat comfortable surprise! Breakfast - I would not say a small muffin in plastic wrap and cup of coffee is FREE breakfast, really! This hotel is a 2 at the most. NOT worth it. Disappointed traveler...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cary, NC

Not like the pictures

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I was upset that these wasn't a separate lounging area. There was a small privacy wall in the picture, but when we got to the room it wasn't. You have to request for the kitchen items.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nicholasfrom ronkonkoma

neeed good cleaning

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels.com
Room had bad smell and was dirty
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sungminfrom Palo Alto, CA

the shadiest one among the hotels near by

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
I really do not give bad reviews in general, but sadly this is going to be my first one. The hotel was fully booked (there was a NBA all star game of which I was not aware) and I had to wait for 30mins just to check in. I understand there could be a lot of guests but the hotel should really be prepared. There was only one person at the front desk, shuffling all the issues and complaints around all by her own... poor girl. The room was decent for the price but the fridge was super noisy and disturbing. Trust me. I'm really not that sensitive person. Wifi didn't work at all. Price was around $120 which was not much cheaper than any other hotels around, so if you want some good comfortable stay, please think twice before you go book this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lisafrom Brooklyn

Valentines Day

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great!!! Would stay again, loved that the restaurant and mall was in walking distance didn't have to drive.