Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location is great but the hotel needs to impro

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The wi fi only worked at the lobby The air conditioned not worked at all
2 out of 5
by Glen from Australia

Budget hotel close to beach, shopping, Vieux Nice

Posted May 22, 2014
Pros: Central location.
Cons: New beds, and toilet needs bleaching.
Location: Fantastic location midway between station and the beach. Short walk to shops and supermarket on Rue Jean Medecin, Vieux Nice and Nice Port.
My whole Nice experience was fantastic and my selection of this hotel was based on budget and location. Hotel staff were very helpful but just found the bed in this room very uncomfortable and the toilet, without ventilation, smells of stale urine.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Sad and depressing

Posted Jan 6, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff at reception was okay, and did his job to explain the area and hotel when asked. Room was old, bed and mattress very worn out. Bath and toilet were in separate rooms, very inconvenient. Toilet was old, stained, and no shower curtain, so floor gets wet easily. The carpet was dodgy, and I didn't feel comfortable walking without shoes. Balcony window could not lock, so that made me feel insecure as we were on 1st floor. But the restaurant and external facade look deceptively good from the main road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Carlton, 26 Boulevard Victor-Hugo, Nice

Posted Oct 22, 2011 on Hotels.com
We booked a double room with Garden View as offered. We got a twin room with street view & noise. There was no curtain surrounding the over-bath shower, and no evidence of there ever having been one, so all splashes went on the bathroon floor and door. Internet quailty was so bad it was unusable. Overall, very poor quality
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Not impressed

Posted Sep 12, 2011
Location in relation to beach, restaurants, shops was excellent but unfortunately the hotel is very run down - the 3 stars must all be for its location. If this was a superior double, I dread to think what a standard double was like. It is badly needing redecorated, refurbished nevermind more thoroughly cleaned. Shower room in particular didn't look fresh, shower was old and rusty, didn't look clean and leaked badly enough to warrant wrapping a towel round one of the connections to stop it from soaking the floor. Several requests to have it changed didn't make any difference. Breakfast room was unwelcoming and poorly decorated. Hotel didn't cope well serving breakfast when more rooms became occupied even though breakfast must have been very straightforward to provide - luckily the coffee was nice. 'Astro turf' effect grass at entrance and on balcony area made it look particularly tacky. Extractor fan or whatever it was on balcony looked dirty, took up a fair bit of room and sadly didn't add to the appearance. Staff very unsmiling and unwelcoming. Wasn't as if it was that cheap. Wouldn't go back unless it had a complete makeover.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Carlton

Posted Aug 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
Its no Ritz! Stayed for one night, guy on reception was lovely, really helpful. pros: near train station, quiet, good decent sized balcony. cons: room was a bit shabby, could do with a refurb, or new bedspreads at least! Booked a double but beds were made up as twins. No shower curtain, so bathroom was flooded after two showers. Towels provided were poor thin and old. Overall, ok for the one stopover night, but no longer than that!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kilkenny Ireland

Hotel Carton Nice France

Posted Aug 15, 2010 on Hotels.com
Hotel interior needed to freshen up and improve decor. One sheet on my bed was torn. The electric socket did not work hence I could not dry my hair in my room. There was debris on the balcony which had not been cleared and breakfast was meagre and without choice Reception could not direct me to Church on Sundayand made little effort in so doing. Poor Value for the price. Location was very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

hotel cartlon

Posted Aug 11, 2010 on Hotels.com
Location: the beach- promenades des anglais
sans the ritz, this hotel happened to be a short walk straight from the train station (6 blocks) and even a shorter walk to the beach (3 blocks). Beautiful city and great location. i would be happy to stay there again