Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Australia

budget accommodation

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: The staff were awesome! cheers guys! Deserve a pay rise!
Cons: a decent quality re-paint of the entire inside would help, and re curtain etc. The place is very tired.....
Location: centrally located, convenient to shops, restaurants . No parking available. be prepared to pay, and inconvenienced if with car. town is run down.
hotel covered in scaffolding when we got there, however in need of more than just paint! The staff incredibly welcoming, pleasant and helpful, going above and beyond to make our stay pleasant. They even did a load of (desperately needed) washing for us! The hotel however is nothing flash, but clean, and centrally located. It is more like backpacker quality. The hotel blends in well with the rest of the town, being all very run down, and well past it's hey-day... Would not go back to this old run down and generally overpriced town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jennie from Kingswinford, West Mids

"Does what it says on the tin"

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Big spacious family room with plenty of tea/coffee, a nice flat screen tv, exceptionally clean and lovely linen/towels.
Cons: When I phoned to check where to park the person sounded a bit grumpy. However when got there they all couldn't do enough for us - even carried bags.
Location: Right in the centre so access to shops, beach, tram, cable cars, pier and plenty of parking. Great spot/view without prices of those on seafront.
It's not a 5* hotel so I didn't expect that. Perfectly good base. Spacious rooms. Helpful staff. Fabulous breakfast. Situated very conveniently. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by Jhonson from london

Ok

Posted Apr 5, 2014
It's a very old place. Room and the bathroom condition was very poor. The peeled off wall painting, leaking toilet. It's was gross!! One person was serving , preparing and taking orders. Had to wait longer for a breakfast!! Was it too difficult to hire one more staff!! Didn't have pleasant sleep, as some people staying ground floor were having some kind of party and could hear their loud noises. I couldn't sleep the whole night . The room cleaning was not in my satisfaction either. Think, they don't put much effort to raise their standard of hotel. Or they should take some kind of training. Overall, that place need a good maintenance and more trained staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Nice hotel for rating, good location,nice breakfast, nice rooms.
2 out of 5
by Jhonson from london

;(

Posted Apr 4, 2014
If you want to save money you can go there. Rooms need proper renovation- heater not working properly , peeled off paint wall, & leaking bathroom. Staff were trying there best to help guest. But the place need help too.
2 out of 5
by jo jo from kidderminster

disgusted

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: nothing.
Cons: itjust read the experience
Location: this is ok
the reception was up a flight of stairs, straight off the road. rooms were up more flights of stairs and this with NO LIFT AT all. room was not attended on 2nd day. the hotel was cold . we were given no warning of works going on,and the hotel surrounded with scaffold, preventing views from the window. the television in the room was an insult. it was at max a 17inch. , but you ould not watch it as the reception was very poor. the cooked breakfast was served much less than hot and even on COLD plates. a hand vacuum cleaner was in constant use when ever a table was cleared. it was advertised as free parking, which we found out was a challenge for any space on the public roads, which were mainly limited parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shez from Stockport

one night stay for a party

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: We liked the staffs attitude to customer service very much.
Cons: The overall décor could be brightened and tidied.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby, the hotel is one street away the prom and the pier. There are also pubs/ bars close by with plenty of seaside colour.
upon arrival we were greeted by Bashir who couldn't do enough to be helpful; although his accent was a little confusing at first. The whole staff were dedicated to our enjoying the stay. The bar downstairs at street level was small but quaint and catered for meals as well as relaxing with a drink. The linens were clean and bright white which was a huge plus, but the overall impressin of the décor was that it was dated and a little shabby. We would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from orrell lancashire

value for money

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The professional way the staff went about their work, the breakfast, and no noisy residents.
Cons: I can't think of anything
Location: Location was central, on a bus route, train station around the corner, near to all shops, restaurants and cafes
First impression was a hotel that has seen better days, but was led to my room on an upper floor by polite helpful staff, room was adequate size, and warm, en suite was small but ok for a weekend The staff at breakfast where very polite, hard working and efficient, the breakfast itself was a buffet plus a full English if wanted , hot and freshly served , portions was generous, everything to set you up for the day, The front door is locked after 11pm, and has a pager system for a member of staff to open the door for you, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, came away feeling very satisfied overall with the quality and service for the money charged . well done.----john
2 out of 5
by JP from Manchester

Tired.....refurbishment long overdue

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, mostly
Cons: Completely refurbished
Location: Great location. Its main feature.
Hotel reminds me of youth hostel mixed with inner city high rise flats (think circa 1970). Pretty much tired in every sense; wallpaper ripped and falling off, door handles loose, windows that don't close due to decades of paint and embarrassingly poor shower. Also, current statement of hotel facilities online is grossly inaccurate. Hotel restaurant is closed (there's a bed in it along with various construction tools). Hotel Bar closed at 8pm. Towels not changed daily. Communal toilet for non en-suite rooms has no door handle, nevermind a lock, leading to overpowering stink of pine cleaner on top floor. There is better value in Llandudno. Most of the staff are very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from coventry

excellent place to stay, excellent staff

Posted Dec 18, 2013
we were greeted by staff who couldn't do enough for us, the room was clean and tidy,the beds were really comfortable, breakfast was very tasty...we will definitely stay here again