Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel "costoso" Vs Servicio recibido

Posted Apr 13, 2015 on Hotels
Un Hotel atendido por su dueño. Es dificil de llegar a este y solo lo haces si tienes un GPS. El dueño te hace esperar para atender el Check In porque primero esta la atención de su restaurante. Para ir a las habitaciones es complicado porque hay que bajar muchas escaleras a través de una montaña y si esta de noche se hace difícil. La habitación no tiene TV y el dueño no te deja prender el ventilador y aire acondicionado al mismo tiempo lo cual a mi punto de ver es ilógico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by robert from Phoenix

Comfortable accommodations – beautiful setting –

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable accommodations – beautiful setting – outstanding hospitality Tucked away in a very beautiful setting amongst the toucans, blue morpho butterflies, soaring trees and Verde green everywhere you will find quaint and impeccably clean cabins. We immediately felt at home not only because of the comfortable setting, but equally because of our very gracious host, Enzo and his wife. The entire property is spotless and Enzo will ensure that you are well taken care of from start to finish. Only a short drive to the beaches and restaurants, we found this a wonderful place to stay as it offered comfortable accommodation in a serene and tranquil setting just minutes from the beaches and other activities. We will most certainly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Perfect Costa Rican Experience

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: It has a real Costa Rican charm. You feel like you are living in the village rather than stuck at some big concrete walled off resort.
Cons: The cabins are located on a hillside, so they may be a challenged to those with mobility issues.
Location: It is a perfect location to relax, emerse yourself in nature, and visit the natural sites of Costa Rica. Not a party location.
The owner, Enzo, is one of the most accomidating and gracious owner I have ever met. He answered ALL my questions and made sure every need was met. The hotel is made up of nice cabins on a pretty hillside. Enzo's can do attitude and charm made me feel special. I definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Lake Tahoe, California, USA

Wonderful, friendly place in the forest near beach

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: Location. Very nice food and friendly, helpful owners. Comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Our own little porch and walking around to spy birds.
Cons: Can't think of anything. Perhaps a better sign for the turnoff from the main road.
Location: Just off the main highway on the southern pacific coast. Road is in good shape. Great beaches and birdwatching. Several great restaurants nearby.
We had a wonderful stay at Mamma e Papa! Enzo and his wife are friendly and helpful. Their food was fresh and tasty. The views from the open air restaurant were lovely. This place is a little off the beaten path in Ojochal and that made it perfect for us. We had our own little 'cabin' that was modern, clean and comfortable and enjoyed lounging in the hammock on our porch after a day exploring the beaches of Ballena, Uvita, etc. Ventana was our favorite. Go at low tide when they are broad and virtually empty. The pool at Mamma e Papa was the perfect temperature and we used it frequently. After dinner we played pool. Morning and evening were great times for birdwatching and I spied several new species right on the grounds. We would love to return some day and have already recommended Mamma e Papa to others traveling in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Wolfgang from Stuttgart

Nice hotel with good service

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
Enzo, the chef and owner of the hotel ensured a very nice stay. The hotel is clean and has agiid sevice, the cabanitas are quite and give you the opportunity to feel like staying in the middle if the rain forest when you hear all the birds and animals at night, and nothing else. Tje rooms are clean, beds are good abd comfortable, some people migjt miss the TV or refrigerator in the room. But I can clearöy recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
A perfect place just to relax and enjoy the silent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jens from Denmark

super service!

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
And great location. ☺
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victor

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sebastien, gwenaelle from France

Accueil chaleureux

Posted May 4, 2014 on Hotels
Un logement agréable dans un jardin magnifique. Le top, après une journée de marche, se baigner dans la piscine en écoutant et en observant les oiseaux. Et pour finir, les hôtes sont toujours prêts à vous indiquer les bons plans du coin.... Le meilleur lodge de nos vacances.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathe from boston

Do NOT MISS THIS PLACE!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: My cabin was beautiful - big room, beautifully laid out bathroom and very comfortable. Love going outside to my private porch before breakfast!
Cons: Honestly I would not change anything!
Location: On a hill overlooking the mountains... there are numerous fabulous beaches within 20 mins, but Playa Ventana was the prettiest.
This is a FANTASTIC little hotel - a handful of private cabins, sprinkled across impeccable grounds with a beautiful pool and outdoor pool table... but also a lovely little stream just behind the property great for exploring, and 5 minutes to some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Think gentle surf + jungle + cloud-topped mountains. The owners, Enzo and Jinet, are amazing hosts and take super good care of their guests. Enzo helped me set up a day trip to Corcovado, and another snorkeling trip, both of which were wonderful. Breakfast on the porch looking at mountains is great, and there is a wonderful energy about the placed (thanks to E and J). I am going to send everybody I know here!