Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathe from boston

Do NOT MISS THIS PLACE!

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: My cabin was beautiful - big room, beautifully laid out bathroom and very comfortable. Love going outside to my private porch before breakfast!
Cons: Honestly I would not change anything!
Location: On a hill overlooking the mountains... there are numerous fabulous beaches within 20 mins, but Playa Ventana was the prettiest.
This is a FANTASTIC little hotel - a handful of private cabins, sprinkled across impeccable grounds with a beautiful pool and outdoor pool table... but also a lovely little stream just behind the property great for exploring, and 5 minutes to some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Think gentle surf + jungle + cloud-topped mountains. The owners, Enzo and Jinet, are amazing hosts and take super good care of their guests. Enzo helped me set up a day trip to Corcovado, and another snorkeling trip, both of which were wonderful. Breakfast on the porch looking at mountains is great, and there is a wonderful energy about the placed (thanks to E and J). I am going to send everybody I know here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Medicine Hat AB Canada

Great place to relax

Posted Feb 19, 2014
The rooms are very clean up to day. The grounds are very well maintained. The owners are very nice and helpful. The food was awesome. Great place to get away from the fast pace
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fish Tacos from Los Angeles

Hidden Gem with Personalized Service from Owner

Posted Feb 7, 2014
What a great experience. I found it by my usual method of searching Expedia via guest reviews and price. There are only four units at the place, but it's smack in the middle of the jungle. There is a pool that is a perfect temp to jump in, and the restaurant up top has the most amazing view of the rainforest. There is a pool table and outdoor lounging area, and the food and service by Enzo, the owner, was top notch. All four about $100 a night. Perfecto!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Donald Campbell from Denver Co.

Very quite place to hang your hat.

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The place is very quite & serene. The hill is a good exercise every day & if you do it a couple times you have your workout in. I would like to send Enzo a special gift could you give me the address of the hotel? The food is very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kevin from seattle

great place to relax

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: we thoroughly enjoyed the owners and the conversations we had with them. enzo can talk to you in italian, spanish and english
Cons: a car is a definite need here, which says nothing of the hotel as i would not say anything bad about it.
Location: the hotel is located in a beautiful forest setting with nearby beaches and parks. with a car one can see anything from macaws to crocodiles!!
while i costa rica we needed a hotel, thank goodness we found this one. mamma e papa turned out to be just the place we were looking for. enzo and his wife janete were just great. their knowledge of the area and costa rica in general led us to some very beautiful sites and beaches. the restaurant they have there was nothing short of wonderful. we had a breakfast included and it was to our order not a cheap buffet; it even included fresh squeezed orange juice. the dinners were a good price and the food was very tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natalia from Costa Rica

Peaceful place to rest

Posted Jan 6, 2014
The hotel was great! We spent a beautiful time there. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful nature and the pool was always warm, perfect for hydro therapy! The restaurant is very nice and the pizza is incredible! I recommed It 100%!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Orazio from Santa Cruz, CA

A corner of paradise just out of tourists' land

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Location: If you drive for 30 minutes, you can hike to the Nauyaca Waterfall, which, in my opinion, you can't really miss.
This is a small, family-run hotel designed and built by the owner himself. Think of the typical Costa Rican rain forest, add a square of very well-maintained grass and a few independent units on a slope, and then walk into your own spacious and clean cabin. What I liked the most is the vibe: a friendly environment where the owner really wants you to feel at home. The common area, the "hotel hall" if you will, is again in this open square of land where you can enjoy some time in an intimate swimming pool, a game of pool, or a beer while watching TV under a roof, but otherwise surrounded by nature. To top it off, the restaurant alone is worth the drive: an authentic Italian restaurant with most of the food prepared from scratch in house. Be warned that it is a little far out: you need to drive for 15-20 minutes at least to get to the first small town, but that's exactly why you'll feel that you've left all your worries behind when you check in ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rempe from Florida

Friendly owners and excellent restaurant

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Ojochal location convenient to beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by DMR from Texas

Beautiful setting and awesome hosts!

Posted Apr 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We loved our two night stay here earlier this week. We arrived on a Monday night and even though the restaurant was closed, our gracious hosts, Jeanette and Enso, opened up their restaurant kitchen just for us and cooked us whatever we wanted! It was delicious food. The lemon pie was a splendid dessert too. For breakfast we were also treated to espresso or lattes, which we were all craving! They have a nice pool and also a TV and pool table area, which we enjoyed after dinner. Its a little bit of a hike down to the cabin but worth being on beautiful grounds. We saw parrots and toucans in the morning. They were very helpful, very hospitable. Highly recommend, especially if you are looking for a quiet place. Having a restaurant on site was icing since the roads are not great back there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by bigiaoui

paradise

Posted Mar 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
really nice to stay and to eat.foods is great and the owners,Enzo and Gineth are very king.great place..